Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

You can still access the UC Berkeley Library’s services and resources during the closure. Here’s how.

Global Peace and Conflict: United Nations

United Nations

The UN Charter authorizes the UN Security Council to adopt resolutions for peacekeeping operations. The Secretary General issues Reports to the Security Council on peacekeeping missions. The General Assembly finances peacekeeping and authorizes budgets for individual missions.

United Nations Courts and Tribunals

The International Criminal Court (ICC). Independent, permanent court that tries persons accused genocide, crimes against humanity and war crimes. Prior to its creation, the UN established ad hoc tribunals to prosecute these types of crimes.

International Court of Justice. Principal judicial organ of the United Nations. The Court's role is to settle legal disputes submitted by States and to give advisory opinions on legal questions referred to it by United Nations organs and specialized agencies.

International Criminal Tribunals and Special Courts

Hein Online United Nations Law Library. UN legal publications, including the UN Treaty Series, League of Nations Treaty Series, International Court of Justice publications, UN Yearbooks, UN Serials, UNIDIR publications, and more.

International Criminal Courts for the Former Yugoslavia, Rwanda and Sierra Leone. From GlobLex, an international law research network at NYU.

Legal Tools Database. Project of the International Criminal Court seeking to provide easy and complete access to legal sources in international criminal law. 

Permanent Court of Arbitration. Intergovernmental organization dedicated to serving the international community in the field of dispute resolution.

United Nations Office of the Special Advisor on the Prevention of Genocide.Oversees the international community's efforts to enforce to new international rights norms, responsibility to protect (R2P) the rights of civilian populations.

United Nations and Disarmament

Eighteen Nation Committee on Disarmament.  Sponsored by the United Nations in 1962, this attempted to establish a dialogue between the United States and the Soviet Union at the height of the Cold War.  This collection includes the verbatim transcripts of its meetings.

First Committee of the General Assembly. Deals with disarmament, global challenges and threats to peace that affect the international community.

Global Reported Arms Trade.  Register of declared trade in heavy arms, conventional weapons, small arms amd light weapons, national military holdings, and various national submitted to the UN by member states.

Statements by the High Representative for Disarmament Affairs. Statements by the High Representative of Disarmament Affairs and its predecessors.

United Nations Conference on Disarmament. Multilateral disarmament forum of the international community.  The CD and its predecessors have negotiated the world's major multilateral arms limitation and disarmament treaties.

United Nations Disarmament Treaties. Listing of disarmament treaties and country signatories.

United Nations Institute for Disarmament Research. Institute bringing together states, international organizations, civil society, the private sector and academia to study disarmament.

United Nations Military Expenditures Database.  Database of country military spending reported to the UN in the previous year

UN Mine Action Gateway.  Gateway of information to the various UN agencies working on mine-action programs.  UNMAS sets up and manages mine-action coordination centres in countries and territories.

United Nations Office for Disarmament Affairs. UN office established to promote nuclear disarmament and non-proliferation, disarmament for weapons of mass destruction, and chemical and biological weapons.

UN Research Guide - Disarmament.  Research guide from the UN Dag Hammarskjöld Library on Disarmament.

UN Research Guide - Landmines. Research guide from the UN Dag Hammarskjöld Library on Landmines.

IGO Custom Search

IGO Custom Search Engine
Use this custom search engine to search the web sites of hundreds of international organizations worldwide.

 

 

United Nations Peace Operations

United Nations Peacemaker. Online mediation support tool developed by the UN Department of Political Affairs. Includes a database of peace agreements on UN mediation.

Language of Peace. Database developed by a partnership between the University of Cambridge and the UN Mediation Unit, provides instant search capability across around 1000 post-World War II peace agreements.

Security Council. UN agency with responsibility for maintenance of international peace and security. The Council has 15 members-- five permanent and 10 elected by the General Assembly for two-year terms.

UN Research Guide - Peacekeeping.Excellent research guide from the UN DagHammarskjöld Library on the UN Peacemaking Process.

United Nations Department of Political Affairs. UN agency that monitors global political developments in order to detect and deflect potential crises before they escalate.  The Security Council Repertoire of Practice has a section on the history of conflict prevention and that lists a history of political missions and offices.

UN Peacekeeping Resources. Key resources produced by the Department of Peacekeeping Operations: reports, statistics, policies and other publications. See also the listing of current and historical Peacekeeping Operations;

UN Department of Peacekeeping Operations: Peacekeeping Resource Hub. Department of Peacekeeping Operations, policy, best practices, lessons learned and training material.

Books on UN Peacemaking & Peacekeeping