Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

You can still access the UC Berkeley Library’s services and resources during the closure. Here’s how.

Global Peace and Conflict: NGOs

Nongovernmental Organizations (NGOs)

Use the following search engine and directories to find information on Non-Governmental Organizations (NGO) in a range of areas.

NGO Custom Search Engine



Idealist.Org. Includes a directory organizations by name, mission, focus country and more. Includes job openings in the nonprofit sector.

WANGO. Worldwide directory of Nongovernmental organizations searchable by country and area of interest.

Databases and Research Tools

Harvard Law School Program on International Law and Armed Conflict (PILAC).

Beyond Intractability. Contains 1000's of pages of material on the nature of and ways of constructively addressing both "regular," negotiable conflicts, and highly challenging intractable conflicts.

​CrisisWatch Global Conflict Tracker. Tool to help decision-makers prevent deadly violence by keeping them up-to-date with developments in over 70 conflicts and crises.

Eldis: Conflict and Security. Section of the Open Access Eldis database, devoted to conflict and security.

ETH Zurich Center for Security Studies (CSS) Resources. Analyses of CSS experts on international relations and security-​related issues

Global Peace Index. Ranks 163 independent states and territories according to their level of peacefulness

Global Terrorism Database. Open-source database including information on terrorist events around the world from 1970.

Peacemakers Trust. Bibliographies on topics related to conflict resolution and peace-building.

Virtual Library on International Affairs: Peace, Conflict and International Security.

Think Tanks and Institutes

There are many institutions dedicated to the study of peace and security.  For additional listings see the Swiss Center for Security Studies or the WWW Virtual Library of International Affairs.

Albert Einstein Institute: Nonviolent Action. Dedicating to advancing the worldwide study and strategic use of nonviolent action in conflict

Carnegie Endowment for International Peace. At the forefront of of international peace and conflict resolution research.

Carter Center. Pioneer in the field of election observation and monitoring. Seeks to deepen democracy by nurturing full citizen participation in public policy-making.

Center for Peace and Security Studies (CPASS). From Georgetown University in the Edmund A. Walsh School of Foreign Service.

Center for Security Studies. Offers security policy expertise in research, teaching, and consulting.

Center for Systemic Peace. Focuses on the possibilities of complex systemic management of all manner of societal and systemic conflicts.

Centre for Women Peace and Security. Academic space used to develop strategies to promote justice, human rights and participation of women in conflict-affected situations worldwide.

Kroc Institute for International Peace Studies. At the University of Notre Dame.

International Crisis Group. Independent, non-profit, non-governmental organization committed to preventing and resolving deadly conflict.

Oxford Research Group. Independent organization pioneering strategic approaches to security and peacebuilding.

Peace and Justice Studies Association.  Non-profit organization formed from the merger of the Consortium on Peace research, Education and Development (COPRED) and the Peace Studies Association (PSA).

PRIO International Peace Research Institute. One of the first centres of peace research in the world, instrumental in the founding of peace research. Parent institution of the Centre for the Study of Civil War.

Resources on Peace Research and History. From the Swarthmore College Peace Library Collection.

Stanley Foundation. Advances multilateral action to create fair, just, and lasting solutions to critical issues of peace and security.

Stockholm International Peace Research Institute (SIPRI). Provides data, analysis and recommendations to policymakers, researchers, media and the public.

Tampere Peace Research Institute. Multidisciplinary research centre, whose mission is to conduct high quality research on war and conflicts.

United States Institute of Peace (USIP). Independent, nonpartisan conflict management center created by Congress to prevent and mitigate international conflict.