Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

You can still access the UC Berkeley Library’s services and resources during the closure. Here’s how.

Global Peace and Conflict: News

Libary News Sources

Access World News. News from over 600 U.S. and over 700 international sources. Offers strong regional coverage for California.

Alt-Press Watch (APW). Alternative, radical, and independent magazines, newspapers, and journals in North America. 

CQ Weekly.  Nonpartisan information about US government and congressional affairs. Part of the CQ Electronic Library collection.

The Economist. General interest news about current trends in business, politics and economics worldwide. Locations for print magazine can be found via Oskicat.  For historical issues see the Economist Historical Archive which provides access from 1843.

Economist Intelligence Unit (EIU) Country Profiles & Reports.  In-depth reports on macroeconomic, financial, and political conditions in over 200 countries. 

Ethnic News Watch (ENWH). Interdisciplinary, bilingual (English and Spanish) database of newspapers, magazines and journals from ethnic, minority and native presses.

Factiva. General and business news from sources in 22 languages, including local, national and international news. Includes The Wall Street Journal, the Financial Times, and Dow Jones.

Financial Times.  Access to the Financial Times from January 1998 to present. For historical access see the Financial Times Historical Archive which has the complete run of the daily Financial Times from 1888 to recent years.

Foreign Broadcast Information Service. Includes radio and television broadcasts, newspapers and periodicals, government statements, books, and other sources of unrestricted information from non-English sources around the world, from 1941-1996. 

International Newsstream. Articles from hundreds of newspapers worldwide, plus reports from media monitoring organizations which include wire services.  Content is displayed in ASCII format.

Meet the Press.  Includes the full surviving run of this institution of American broadcast journalism from the premiere in 1947 to 2013, with thousands of interviews, panels, and debates

New York Times.  Full-text coverage of the New York Times. For Historical issues see Historical Newspapers (ProQuest).

Nexis Uni. Full-text source for urrent affairs, legal information and news appearing in newspapers, journals, newsletters, broadcast transcripts, reference works and other documents.

Project Syndicate. Excellent collection of op-ed commentaries from some of the world's leading political scientists and opinions makers.

Blogs, Opinion, and Open Access News

Center for Security Studies Blog. Swiss Center associated with ETH Zurich.  The center also has a digital library and an exhaustive list of organizational links.

The Guardian (UK): Defence and Security Blog.

London School of Economics: Women Peace and Security Blog. Draws primarily on the expertise of members of the Centre for Women, Peace and Security.

Homeland Security Digital Library Blog. Librarians at the Homeland Security Digital Library created this custom search engine to help blog readers find postings on topics of interest in the growing community of Homeland Security bloggers.

Minds of the Movement. From the International Center for Nonviolent Conflict.

The Olive Branch. From the United States Institute of Peace.

Peace Direct. International NGO dedicated to supporting local people to stop war and build lasting peace in some of the world’s most fragile countries. They also publish Peace Insight.

Political Violence @ a Glance. Addresses questions on the causes and consequences of violence and protest in the world’s conflict zones.

SIPRI: Conflict and Peace. From the Stockholm International Peace Research Institute.

Small Wars Journal. Multi-author blog publishing news and commentary on the various goings on across the broad community of this practice.  

United Nations News Sources