Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

You can still access the UC Berkeley Library’s services and resources during the closure. Here’s how.

Global Peace and Conflict: Data

Peace and Conflict Data and Statistics

Andreas Wimmer's Datasets. Professor Wimmer's (Columbia University) datasets on armed conflicts and wars.

Armed Conflict Location & Event Data Project (ACLED). Freely-available comprehensive public collection of political violence data for developing states, focused primarily in Africa.

Center for Systemic Peace (Polity IV). Sponsor of the Integrated Network for Societal Conflict Research (INSCR) which has data on armed conflict and interventions, political regime characteristics, armed conflict, state fragility,  and much more. 

Comparative Constitutions Data. Investigates the sources and consequences of constitutional choices by collecting and analyzing data on the formal characteristics of constitutions for most independent states since 1789.

Correlates of War. Data on wars, non-state wars, and interstate disputes dating back to the 19th century. Associated or correlated measures include membership in international organizations, religion, alliances, colonial dependencies, diplomatic exchanges, and more

Cross National Time Series.  A single longitudinal nation-level data series spanning 200 years and over 200 countries covering a variety of demographic, social, political, and economic topics. This is a licensed resource that may only be used at UC Berkeley.

Database of Political Institutions. Data includes measures checks and balances, tenure, type, and stability of the government, party affiliation and ideology, fragmentation of opposition, and parties in the legislature.

Data on Armed Conflict List. Peace Research Institute Oslo (PRIO) has collected a list of different datasets on armed conflicts.

Data Planet. Access to data points from local, state and international governments and organizations. Allows for customization of the data by selecting subjects, variable of interest, and the ability to view your data in side-by-side tables, charts and maps. 

Democracy Times Series Data.  Contains data on the social, economic and political characteristics of 191 nations with over 600 variables from 1971.

Global Terrorism Databases.  Open-source databases with information on terrorist events around the world from 1970. Includes data on domestic as well as international terrorist incidents with more than 140,000 cases.

International Military Interventions. Records events involving “the movement of regular troops or forces (airborne, seaborne, shelling, etc) of one country inside another, in the context of some political issue or dispute.”

The Macro Data Guide.  Comprehensive guide to macro data broken down by country and topic.  Includes the following subcategories.

Minorities at Risk Project. University-based research project that monitors and analyzes the status and conflicts of politically-active communal groups in all countries with a current population of at least 500,000

Political Terror Scale. Codes countries on human-rights and the rule of law, based on reports from Amnesty International and the U.S. State Department.

PRS Group Country Data. Political risk data for 140 countries from 1980, as well as macroeconomic data and Political Risk Services (PRS) forecasting on bureaucracy, corruption, civil disorders, ethnic tensions, poverty, inflation, terrorism, etc.

RAND Database of Worldwide Terrorism Incidents. Records terrorist incidents that occurred from 1968-2009.

SIPRI's (Stockholm International Peace Research Institute). Data on security, peace operations, military expenditures, arms transfers, arms embargoes, and arms exports.

State Fragility Index and Matrix, 1995-2014. Provides annual state fragility, effectiveness, and legitimacy indices and the 8 component indicators for the world's 167 countries with populations greater than 500,000 in 2014.

United Nations Peacekeeping Statistics. Troop and Police contributors by country, gender breakdowns, and fact sheets.

United States Political Violence Database.  From Peter Turchin's article Dynamics of Political Instability in the United States, 1780–2009. Journal of Peace Research 4: 577-591. Describes the dynamics of sociopolitical instability in the United States between 1780 and 2010.

Uppsala University Department of Peace and Conflict Research Data. Web-based system for visualizing, handling and downloading data, including ready-made datasets on organized violence and peacemaking.