Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

UC Berkeley’s library buildings are open! Learn more.

Psychology: Find Books

UC Library Search

 

UC Library Search is the University of California’s unified discovery and borrowing system. 

Access it directly or from the Library's homepage to find most UC books, articles, media, archival collections, and more. 

You can also:

  • Narrow your search results using filters (ex: peer review status, date, and language).
  • Save and export records to email or citation management software.
  • Save searches and create/enable alerts or RSS feeds for update notifications.
  • Log in to view and manage your:
  • Saved records, saved searches, and search history.
  • Requested, borrowed, and Interlibrary Loan items.
  • Messages, blocks, fines, and fees.

See the UC Library Search user guide and ask for research help 24/7 for more information.

Find Dissertations

Dissertations and Theses (Dissertation Abstracts) Full Text: indexes dissertations from over 1,000 North American, and selected European, graduate schools and universities from 1861 to the present. Full text for most of the dissertations added since 1997.

UC Berkeley dissertations: Look up the author in UC Library Search. Also helpful to see dissertations written in your department which you can do by doing a subject search:

  • subject: university of california berkeley dept of psychology dissertations
  • subject: dissertations academic ucb psychology

Recent UC Berkeley dissertations are freely available online to anyone, anywhere with access to the internet.

Also see Find Dissertations and Theses for other specialized sources.

eBook collections

For more, consult the Finding eBooks at Berkeley guide.

 

The Library offers over 100 e-book and e-text collections in specific subject areas. 

Writing and Research Methods

APA Handbook of Research Methods in Psychology

  • Vol. 1: Foundations, planning, measures and psychometrics
  • Vol. 2: Research designs: quantitative, qualitative, neuropsychological and biological
  • Vol. 3: Data analysis and research publication

Encyclopedias, Handbooks, etc.

Annual Review of Neuroscience, Annual Review of Psychology and Annual Review of Clinical Psychology are also good starting places -- they provide literature reviews of important and emerging areas of research.

APA Handbooks in Psychology: among the titles in this series are: the Handbook of Contemporary Family Psychology, Handbook of Trauma Psychology, Handbook of Community Psychology and more.

Oxford Handbooks Online: Psychology: including peer reviewed, in-depth, and timely scholarly articles that provide an overview of many academic topics in psychology and related fields.

DSM-V

DSM-5 (Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders) is available online via Psychiatry Online. Includes DSM-5 Update (October 2017)

Print editions are available of DSM-V is on reserve at the Social Research Library (RC455.2.C4 D54 2013)

For other resources related to the DSM, do the following searches in OskiCat

  • title: DSM-V
  • subject: Diagnostic and statistical manual of mental disorders

Videos and transcripts