Library Guides: Psychology: Articles+

Article Databases

The Library subscribes to hundreds of databases. Consult the A-Z Databases list to see them. Search for or browse online resources by subject (broad academic disciplines) or by database type (article databases, book and film reviews, statistics and numeric data, etc.)

PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
Citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books, dissertations, and technical reports. (Psychological Abstracts, Psychinfo) [1806 - current]
Indexes journals, conference proceedings, books, reports, and dissertations in psychology and enriched with literature from psychiatry, education, business, medicine, nursing, pharmacology, law, linguistics, and social work.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
Citations and abstracts in the fields of biomedicine and health, as well as portions of the life sciences, behavioral sciences, chemical sciences, and bioengineering.

PubMed includes MEDLINE, PubMed Central (PMC), other biomedical and life science journals, and the NCBI Bookshelf. PubMed also provides links to other NCBI molecular biology resources, including nucleotide sequences, protein sequences, 3-D protein structure data, population study data sets, and assemblies of complete genomes in an integrated system.
Note: The link above goes to a specially configured version of PubMed for UC Berkeley users that will display the Get It at UC button for full text article access. To use the free public version, please click here.
PsychiatryOnline (including DSM-5) This link opens in a new window
Features The Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders (DSM-5) and The American Journal of Psychiatry as the cornerstones of this collection of psychiatric reference books and journals from American Psychiatric Publishing.
Contains the American Psychiatric Association's DSM-5 Online (Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders), the most widely used psychiatric reference in the world, as well as several full-text psychiatry journals, textbooks, and practice guidelines.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
A multi-disciplinary database of scholarly and general interest journals, books, and reports. [1865 - present]
Articles from broad array of peer-reviewed journals, popular and trade magazines and news sources for nearly all areas of study; available in English, Spanish, German, French, Italian and Portuguese.
ProQuest Social Sciences This link opens in a new window
Search social sciences indexes on the ProQuest platform.
An interdisciplinary metasearch through 22 of the the social sciences indexes on the ProQuest platform. Includes EconLit, International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (IBSS), Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts, PAIS, PsycInfo, Sociological Abstracts, Worldwide Political Science Abstracts and more.

Find Dissertations

Dissertations and Theses (Dissertation Abstracts) Full Text: indexes dissertations from over 1,000 North American, and selected European, graduate schools and universities from 1861 to the present. Full text for most of the dissertations added since 1997.

UC Berkeley dissertations: Go to UC Library Search and look up authors. Also helpful to see dissertations written in your department which you can do by doing a subject or keyword search:

subject: university of california berkeley psychology dissertations
keyword: berkeley dissertations psychology

Recent UC Berkeley dissertations are freely available online to anyone, anywhere with access to the internet.

Also see Find Dissertations and Theses for other specialized sources.

Videos and transcripts

Counseling and Psychotherapy Transcripts, Client Narratives, and Reference Works This link opens in a new window
Full text and audio transcripts of therapy sessions and related first-person accounts. (Primary Sources in Counseling and Psychology - Counseling and psychotherapy transcripts, client narratives, and reference works)
Includes diaries, oral histories, memoirs, letters, a selection of handbooks, and reference works.
Counseling and Therapy in Video This link opens in a new window
Video footage useful for the study of social work, psychotherapy, psychology, and psychiatric counseling.
Online collection of video available for the study of social work, psychotherapy, psychology, and psychiatric counseling. Upon completion will include 400 hours and more than 330 videos. Currently includes 276 videos totaling roughly 300 hours.
Ethnographic Video Online This link opens in a new window
A wide range of streaming video, written ethnographies, field notes, seminal texts, memoirs, and contemporary studies, covering human behavior the world over.
A growing collection (currently more than 400 titles) of classic and contemporary ethnographic films, with wide-ranging coverage of the world's regions and cultures, and by some of the most influential filmmakers of the genre. The films explore key themes in anthropology and the broader social sciences, including language and culture, family and kinship, sex and gender, social stratification and status, music and the arts, and religion.
JoVE: Journal of Visualized Experiments This link opens in a new window
JoVE publishes scientific research in a visual format to help researchers learn new experimental techniques and help make research more transparent and reproducible.
Psychotherapy.net This link opens in a new window
60+ streaming videos featuring leading practitioners demonstrating a range of techniques.
This is a subset of all available titles, selected by Social Welfare faculty and clinical instructors. Titles are individually listed in the library catalog.

Cited by search

If an article is relevant to your topic, it can be very helpful to see who has cited it. There are several different ways to do this, and the results will overlap -- no single method is comprehensive.

Google Scholar: click on the Cited by link

PsycINFO: click on Cited by link.

Web of Science: click on Citations link

Secondary menu

Psychology: Articles+

https://guides.lib.berkeley.edu/psychology

Article Databases

Find Dissertations

Videos and transcripts

Cited by search