It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Moffitt Library, Main Stacks open for 24-hour access during RRR, finals weeks. Learn more.
Reference managers (also called citation managers or bibliographic management software) offer a way to save, organize and manage references. Many work with word processing software to format in-text citations and bibliographies for papers and theses, allow you to share references, and enable you to attach or link PDFs to a citation record.
Sync your account (Preferences > Sync with username/password - see Step 1)
Pro-tip: Use Zotero Standalone which means you have to download the software to your computer.
Zotero (Managing your bibliography)
Doing your research using Zotero
automatically attach PDFs (Preferences > General)
automatically retrieve metadata for PDFs (Preferences > General)
Create folders (called "Collections")
Add items from a database
Upload PDFs to your Zotero account
Write your research paper (using Word)
Add footnotes, endnotes or in-text citations
Create a bibliography
Pro-tip: If you're writing in a Google doc, drag and drop citation from Zotero into the document.
Using APA Style
The once familiar APA 6th style has been replaced, as of 2020, with a 7th edition [Emergency temporary access available for this title]. The new style manual includes some significant changes to formatting papers and has attempted to make language more inclusive and bias free. Among some of the new changes:
DOIs are now formatted as URLs
Authors no longer need to include the phrase "Retrieved from" before a URL
The singular "they" is now endorsed by APA as a gender-neutral pronoun
The running head on the title page no longer includes the phrase "RUNNING HEAD" and is no longer needed in student papers at all
Use only one space after a period at the end of a sentence
Print copies of the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association: The Official Guide to APA Style are available in the Doe Reference and the Social Research Library under BF76.7 P83 2020
Also helpful may be the following manuals which are available as ebooks: