Scientific and publishing project "Complete electronic collection of the Chronicles of the Russian Book Chamber's (Letopisi) for 1917 - 2017" recreates a complete set in electronic format. The database-index allows for searching in a targeted way.
The collection contains texts by such artists as Wassily Kandinsky, Pavel Filonov, Kazimir Malevich and Anatolii Petrytskyi; publications of art groups such as the Jack of Diamonds (Bubnovyi valet) and Màkovets; theoretical tracts by Nikolai Tarabukin and Boris Kushner; and books by well-known critics such as IAkov Tugendkhol'd, Erikh Gollerbakh, and Nikolai Punin.
Krokodil Digital ArchiveThis link opens in a new windowKrokodil (Russian for "Crocodile") was a satirical magazine published in the Soviet Union. [1922 - 2008]
Founded in 1922, it was first published as a supplement for Rabochaia gazeta. Although political satire was dangerous during much of the Soviet period, Krokodil was given considerable license to lampoon political figures and events. Other safe topics for mockery included the mid-level bureaucrat's lack of imagination and workers drinking on the job. The journal also ridiculed capitalist countries and attacked various political, ethnic and religious groups that allegedly opposed the Soviet system.
LEFThis link opens in a new windowComplete Digital Archive of the renowned Russian journal LEF (Left Front of the Arts) published in the early 20th Century contains rare works of avant-garde writers, photographers, critics and designers in the turbulent era of the first Soviet art. [1923-1925]
"History of LEF
In the wake of the Russian Revolution, the group “Left Front of the Arts” (“Левый фронт искусств”, “Levyi Front Iskusstv”) was formed in Moscow, bringing together creative people of the era -- avant-garde poets, writers, photographers, and filmmakers, including
Vladimir Mayakovsky, Osip Brik, and others. The group’s philosophy was to re-examine the ideology of so-called leftist art, abandon individualism, and increase art’s role in building communism. The group considered itself as the only representative of revolutionary art."
Gudok Digital ArchiveGudok is a Russian daily newspaper in continuous publication since 1917 and is one of the oldest and leading trade newspapers in Russia. Since its inception it has covered a wide range of topics dealing with the railway industry. It has also provided important commentary on Soviet and post-Soviet Russian culture, politics, and social life
British Intelligence on Russia in Central Asia, c. 1865–1949This link opens in a new windowBritish India Office's intelligence on Central Asia (1865-1949), including secret reports, maps, and memoranda. It covers political, economic, strategic, and social history, offering key insights into the region's complex geopolitics and history. This online database includes secret reports, maps, and memoranda. It covers political, economic, strategic, and social history, shedding light on the region's complex past. The collection focuses on the five Central Asian republics (Kazakhstan, Uzbekistan, Kyrgyzstan, Tajikistan, and Turkmenistan) and their international significance. The archives provide detailed insights into local and regional political administration, social trends, economic infrastructure, and international relations.
Leningradskaia Pravda Digital Archive (1918-1991)This link opens in a new windowLeningradskaia Pravda was a prominent Soviet newspaper published in Leningrad (now St. Petersburg) from 1924 to 1991.
It was established in 1918 as Petrogradskaia Pravda, the official organ of the local Communist Party committees and soviets in Petrograd (former name of Leningrad).
It is best known for continuously publishing throughout the Siege of Leningrad (1941-1944) during World War II, with only a single issue not appearing during that period. This demonstrated its resilience and commitment to informing the besieged city. Following the failed Soviet coup attempt in August 1991, the newspaper ceased publication.
"
Moscow News Digital ArchiveThis link opens in a new windowMoscow News (pub. 1930-2014) was the oldest English-language newspaper in Russia and, arguably, the newspaper with the longest democratic history. This resource also contains access to the sister publication Moscow Daily News, which ran from 1932-1938.
"From a mouthpiece of the Communist party to an influential advocate for social and political change, the pages of Moscow News reflect the shifting ideological, political, social and economic currents that have swept through the Soviet Union and Russia in the last century. "
Za vozvrashchenie na Rodinu (Return to Motherland)This link opens in a new windowThe newspaper Za vozvrashchenie na Rodinu (Return to Motherland) was established in East Berlin. The newspaper was aimed at Russian emigrants and was an important anti-western propaganda tool for the USSR. [1955-1960]
The main objective of the newspaper was the creation of a favorable image of the Soviet Union and the criticism of émigré organizations in the post-war period and during the Cold War. The newspaper was published under the watchful eye of the KGB, and only the most loyal Soviet officials were allowed to work on this project.
Bibliography of International Congresses of Slavists (BibSlavKon) (1929-2013)The database contains bibliographical records of all known published papers presented on international congresses of Slavists which has been organized since 1929 when the First Congress of Slavonic Philologists took place in Prague.
The book bibliography of all congresses published by the Prague Slavonic Library (Slovanská knihovna) is the essence of the bibliography. The included records focus prevailingly on Slavonic linguistics and literary science, history, ethnology and other sciences. The total number of records is about 7760.
Leningradskaia Pravda Digital Archive (1918-1991)The Leningradskai︠a︡ Pravda Digital Archive is a valuable resource for scholars of history, politics, sociology, and Slavic studies. It also represents a valuable historical preservation project and may be of interest to institutions that study war, genocide, and the Holocaust. Database includes both Leningradskai︠a︡ pravda and the earlier Petrogradskai︠a︡ pravda
Memory of repressionThe pilot version of the search engine for databases and other sources related to Soviet repression now contains data from eight databases run by International Memorial in Moscow, Memorial in St. Petersburg and the project Gulag.online.
Nezavisimost' Digital ArchiveThis link opens in a new windowEstablished in 1991 on the eve of the Ukrainian declaration of independence, Nezavisimost’ (Независимость, Independence) was an independent, high-profile Russian-language daily and a successor publication to Komsomolskoe znamya (Komsomol Banner, initially called Stalinskoe plemya [Stalin’s Tribe]), with a long history as a Soviet publication. 1991 - 2002
Currently, there are over fourteen hundred e-books that one can access using the link.
OA--Russian primary sources - Digital Library of Historical DocumentsA new pilot online collection of Russian primary sources - Digital Library of Historical Documents (http://docs.historyrussia.org). The online library currently provides public access to 27,000 important historical documents covering the Russian revolution and early Soviet period. New documents are digitized and added to the collection monthly.
The project has a long term goal to identify, digitize, describe and provide public access to the tens of thousands of documents found by historians in archives and published since 1991 during the archival revolution. Until recently, these important publications of documentary collections existed mainly “on paper” - they were published in small print (less than 1,000 copies) and distributed to a limited number of libraries, research and educational institutions.
The Digital Library of Historical Documents project digitizes these rare paper documentary collections, separates historical documents from the publications, describes and publishes them individually in the public online collection. The documents are minimally indexed to provide access by Subject, Author, Names, Geographic location, Date, Organization, Forum, Occupation, Social group. The documents are also OCRed for the full text searching.
The online collection is developed by the Russian Historical Society in partnership with the ROSSPEN publishers, State Public Historical Library of Russia and the Russian Book Chamber
Russian Perspectives on IslamRussian Perspectives on Islam documents the encounter and evolving relationship between the secular/Orthodox state and the Islamic regions, groups, individuals, and ideologies on the territory of the former Soviet Union and neighboring countries. This set of unique materials illuminates the strategies implemented by the Soviet and Russian state to establish authority and legitimacy among predominantly Muslim populations in Central Asia, the Northern Caucasus and Siberia and to enhance Moscow’s influence internationally with nearby Muslim countries, including Iran, Iraq, Pakistan and Turkey. The digital archive is designed to disseminate these documents to the widest possible scholarly community and general readership
Russkaia literaturaRusskaia literatura (ISSN 0131-6095) is a well-known journal of literary criticism, one of the most comprehensive, reliable and authoritative resources featuring biographical information and criticism of Russian and Soviet authors in various genres.
USC Shoah Foundations-Free limited testimonies.The Visual History Archive® is USC Shoah Foundation’s online portal that allows users to search through and view more than 55,000 video testimonies of survivors and witnesses of genocide. Initially a repository of Holocaust testimony, the Archive has expanded significantly to include survivor and witness testimony from four other genocidal events: the Armenian Genocide (1915-1923), the Nanjing Massacre (1937), the Genocide Against the Tutsi in Rwanda (1994) and the Guatemalan Genocide (1978-1996).
Databases and Indexes
This is a recommended list of databases, indexes, and searchable full-text collections. Some are discipline specific, while others cover multiple subject areas. Not all disciplines are represented here. For additional databases consult Electronic Resources on the Library Main Web Page
Contains over 80 full-text academic journals published by the Russian Academy of Sciences, focusing on the social sciences and humanities. [dates vary]
Journals can be read individually or searched as a group using the embedded Cyrillic keyboard or Library of Congress transliteration.
Citations to research on Eastern Europe, Central Europe, and the former Soviet Union published in the US and Canada. [1990 - present]
Indexes journal articles, books, dissertations, selected government publications, and online resources published in the US and Canada on East and Central Europe, Russia, and the former Soviet Union. Covers the more recent years of the print equivalent, American Bibliography of Slavic and East European Studies.
Full-text access to over 1000 scholarly journals, including more than 2 million articles, from a wide range of disciplines. Current issues from journals (the most recent 3-5 years) are generally not available in JSTOR. [dates vary].
Indexes journal articles and other literature supporting critical scholarship on literature, language, linguistics, and folklore. (Modern Languages Association Bibliography) [1926 - present]
Sponsored by the Modern Language Association.
Historical Abstracts
Access to this resource will be discontinued effective 06/30/23 due to library budget cuts. Please use Google Scholar or BASE as alternatives. Indexes over 2,000 journals, as well as historical book reviews and dissertations, published worldwide about all aspects of world history.
Excludes US and Canada. Covers from 1450 to the present.
Full text PDF articles from 442 humanities and social science journals and re-digitized documents pertaining to Central, Eastern and South-Eastern European topics. [dates vary]
Online archive which provides access to full text PDF articles from 442 humanities and social science journals and re-digitized documents pertaining to Central, Eastern and South-Eastern European topics.
Text mining of this database is prohibited. Access limited to 49 simultaneous users Provides general and business news and information from more than 9,000 sources in 22 languages, including influential local, national and international newspapers, leading business magazines, trade publications, and news wires.
Includes the exclusive combination of The Wall Street Journal (1979-present), the Financial Times, Dow Jones and Reuters newswires and the Associated Press, as well as Reuters Fundamentals, and Bureau van Dijk company profiles.
The Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) Daily Report includes radio and television broadcasts, newspapers and periodicals, government statements, books, and other sources of unrestricted information such as databases and gray literature from non-English sources around the world. The original mission of the FBIS was to monitor, record, transcribe and translate intercepted radio broadcasts from foreign governments, official news services, and clandestine broadcasts from occupied territories. [1941 - 1996]
Information from thousands of foreign media sources, including political speeches, television and radio broadcasts, newspapers, periodicals, and more, offering an extensive collection of military, political, scientific and technical reports from countries around the world, translated into English. The original mission of the FBIS was to monitor, record, transcribe and translate intercepted radio broadcasts from foreign governments, official news services, and clandestine broadcasts from occupied territories. Coverage is global with the exception of the FBIS Annexes (a supplementary publication created by the U.S. intelligence community to benefit analysts and policy makers from April 1974 through September 1996) and Western European regional broadcasts.
Izvestiia is one of the longest-running Russian newspapers. [1917 - 2011]
Completely digitized archive of Izvestiia, one of the longest-running Russian newspapers founded in March 1917; during the Soviet period Izvestiia was the official organ of the Presidium of the Supreme Soviet of the USSR.
Also includes reports and data sets from State Committee of the Russian Federation on Statistics and the Interstate Statistical Committee of the Commonwealth of Independed States. Coverage includes national and regional level socioeconomic indicators, statistical yearbooks and monthly analytical reports, annual statistical abstracts on national accounts, population, labor, public health, transportation, industrial output, and related socioeconomic measures. Also included is an on-line version of the 2002 All-Russia Census. (UNDB-STAT)
Full-text access to international, national, local newspapers, and wire services, as well as radio and television transcripts. Database also includes business, medical, industry, and legislative magazines, journals, and newsletters. Also includes laws from the U.S., all 50 states, and law reviews. Wide geographic coverage and translations from foreign-language sources, as well as news services like the Associated Press, Agence France Press, El Pai.
Nexis Uni allows users to set up personal accounts to personalize your research experience. Nexis Uni has replaced LexiNexis Academic. [dates vary]
