Slavic & East European Studies: Reference

Completely digitized archive of Izvestiia, one of the longest-running Russian newspapers founded in March 1917; during the Soviet period Izvestiia was the official organ of the Presidium of the Supreme Soviet of the USSR.

Sources on the history of Soviet culture and theater, Jewish avant-garde art, and the Kremlin's policy toward Jewish society and culture from 1919 until 1949.

Founded in 1922, it was first published as a supplement for Rabochaia gazeta. Although political satire was dangerous during much of the Soviet period, Krokodil was given considerable license to lampoon political figures and events. Other safe topics for mockery included the mid-level bureaucrat's lack of imagination and workers drinking on the job. The journal also ridiculed capitalist countries and attacked various political, ethnic and religious groups that allegedly opposed the Soviet system.

"From a mouthpiece of the Communist party to an influential advocate for social and political change, the pages of Moscow News reflect the shifting ideological, political, social and economic currents that have swept through the Soviet Union and Russia in the last century. "

Niva became a very popular journal of quality literature read by the middle class in the Russian provinces. The journal contained large colored prints by well-known Russian artists, works of famous Russian authors, as well as articles on science, politics and culture. East View has collected the complete set of Niva and digitized its massive content. Users are able to browse all 49 years, more than 2,500 issues, 26,318 articles in total, as well as search using a special keyboard to accommodate the old Russian orthography.

Full text and full image coverage of Pravda beginning in 1912 to the present. Searchable in Russian Cyrillic or transliteration.

Digitized documents and images from the recently declassified Stalin archive in the holdings of Russian State Archive of Social and Political History (RGASPI). Contains documents which cover Stalin's personal biography, his work in government and his conduct of foreign affairs. Also includes 300 books from Stalin's personal library with marginal notes as well as his correspondence and documents. Also includes volumes from Yale University Press's Annals of Communism series.