Library Guides: Social Welfare Research Toolkit: Articles and Books

UC Library Search

UC Library Search is the University of California's unified discovery and borrowing system.

Access it directly or from the Library homepage to find most UC books, articles, media, archival collections, and more.

See the UC Library Search User Guide and ask for research help 24/7 for more information.

Find E-Books

Oxford Clinical Psychology Over 200 titles in a broad range of specialty areas, disorders, and treatment modalities, including theTreatments That Work series.

Springer Electronic Book Package E-books in many fields including Social Work, Social Policy and Psychology.

APA e-book collection Current e-books published by the American Psychological Association from 2009 to date.

P roQuest E-Book Central Berkeley's largest e-book collection, with thousands of titles on a wide range of subjects, including social work, education and psychology.

Wiley Online Library Ebook Collection Fulltext books in social welfare and psychology from 2011.

Oxford Scholarship Online: Psychology

MIT CogNet E-books in cognitive and brain sciences published by MIT.

Find Articles

The Berkeley Libraries subscribes to hundreds of databases organized by subject and format (news, data, dissertations, etc.) Below are some of the core resources in this field.

Social Services Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Current research focused on social work, human services, and related areas, including social welfare, social policy, and community development.
Related to the fields of social work, social welfare, human services, community development, and social policy.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
Core database for psychology, also social work.
Indexes journals, conference proceedings, books, reports, and dissertations in psychology and enriched with literature from psychiatry, education, business, medicine, nursing, pharmacology, law, linguistics, and social work.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Interdisciplinary index to thousands of journals, many articles are fulltext.
Articles from broad array of peer-reviewed journals, popular and trade magazines and news sources for nearly all areas of study; available in English, Spanish, German, French, Italian and Portuguese.
PTSDpubs This link opens in a new window
Indexes all literature on post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD) and other mental-health sequelae of traumatic events.
Includes citations to all literature on post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD) and other mental-health sequelae of traumatic events, without disciplinary, linguistic, or geographical limitations, and to offer both current and retrospective coverage. The Published International Literature On Traumatic Stress, is produced at the headquarters of the National Center for Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder. The database is sponsored by the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
MEDLINE and other journals in the field of medicine -- includes psychiatry, geriatrics, public health,etc.
PubMed includes MEDLINE, PubMed Central (PMC), other biomedical and life science journals, and the NCBI Bookshelf. PubMed also provides links to other NCBI molecular biology resources, including nucleotide sequences, protein sequences, 3-D protein structure data, population study data sets, and assemblies of complete genomes in an integrated system.
Note: The link above goes to a specially configured version of PubMed for UC Berkeley users that will display the Get It at UC button for full text article access. To use the free public version, please click here.
ERIC This link opens in a new window
Topics covered include all levels of education and all educational specialties, such as multilingual education, health education, and testing. [1966 - present]
Indexes books, journals, reports, proceedings, statistical data, tests, dissertations, audiovisual materials, and ERIC documents on education research and practice.

Secondary menu

Social Welfare Research Toolkit: Articles and Books

UC Library Search

Find E-Books

Find Articles