Sometimes you just need to know what a word or concept means, or get an overview of a research area or a research method. These sources are designed to get you started.
Oxford Bibliographies Online: Social Work -- leading scholars identify the most important and significant sources in the area of social work they know best. The guides feature a selective list of bibliographic citations supported by direct recommendations about which sources to consult, and UC-elinks links to the cited articles and books!
Social work dictionary (5th ed.) / Barker, Robert L. Washington, DC : NASW Press, c2003.
HV12 .B37 2003
Dictionary of Psychology from Oxford Reference Online
Concise Oxford English Spanish Dictionary (also links to Spanish/English Dictionary)
Key words in multicultural interventions : a dictionary / Westport, Conn. : Greenwood Press, 1999.
BF637.C6 K493 1999
Blackwell dictionary of modern social thought / Malden, MA : Blackwell Pub., c2003.
H41 .B53 2003
Encyclopedia of Mental Health
Encyclopedia of Mental Health, Second Edition, tackles the subject of mental health, arguably one of the biggest issues facing modern society. The book presents a comprehensive overview of the many genetic, neurological, social, and psychological factors that affect mental health, also describing the impact of mental health on the individual and society, and illustrating the factors that aid positive mental health. The book contains 245 peer-reviewed articles written by more than 250 expert authors and provides essential material on assessment, theories of personality, specific disorders, therapies, forensic issues, ethics, and cross-cultural and sociological aspects. Both professionals and libraries will find this timely work indispensable. Provides fully up-to-date descriptions of the neurological, social, genetic, and psychological factors that affect the individual and society Contains more than 240 articles written by domain experts in the field Written in an accessible style using terms that an educated layperson can understand Of interest to public as well as research libraries with coverage of many important topics, including marital health, divorce, couples therapy, fathers, child custody, day care and day care providers, extended families, and family therapy
The Encyclopedia of Social Work
A new, completely updated, revised and expanded 20th edition of this essential work .
Handbook of Family Policies Across the Globe
Family Policies Across the Globe provides comprehensive coverage of explicit and implicit family policies from an international perspective. The coverage includes issues such as family-friendly work practices, work-life balance, childcare, poverty, domestic violence, social exclusion/inclusion, immigration, and disability. The chapters explore what types of family policies exist in different countries or geographical areas, what are some of challenges encountered in developing, implementing, and evaluating them, and provides recommendations for an a evidence-based policyamaking process.
Handbook of the Social Psychology of Inequality
This volume provides the first comprehensive overview of social psychological research on inequality for a graduate student and professional audience. Drawing on all of the major theoretical traditions in sociological social psychology, its chapters demonstrate the relevance of social psychological processes to this central sociological concern.
Oxford Handbook of Multimethod and Mixed Methods Research Inquiry
Offering a variety of innovative methods and tools, The Oxford Handbook of Multimethod and Mixed Methods Research Inquiry provides the most comprehensive and up-to-date presentation on multi- and mixed-methods research available. Written in clear and concise language by leading scholars in the field, it enhances and disrupts traditional ways of asking and addressing complex research questions. Topics include an overview of theory, paradigms, and scientific inquiry; a guide to conducting a multi- and mixed-methods research study from start to finish; current uses of multi- and mixed-methods research across academic disciplines and research fields; the latest technologies and how they can be incorporated into study design; and a presentation of multiple perspectives on the key remaining debates. Each chapter in the volume is structured to include state-of-the-art research examples that cross a range of disciplines and interdisciplinary research settings. In addition, the Handbook offers multiple quantitative and qualitative theoretical and interdisciplinary visions and praxis. Researchers, faculty, graduate students, and policy makers will appreciate the exceptional, timely, and critical coverage in this Handbook, which deftly addresses the interdisciplinary and complex questions that a diverse set of research communities are facing today.
Comprehensive Handbook of Social Work and Social Welfare, the Profession of Social Work
Comprehensive Handbook of Social Work and Social Welfare, Volume 1: The Profession of Social Work features contributions from leading international researchers and practitioners and presents the most comprehensive, in-depth source of information on the field of social work and social welfare.
UC Library Search is the University of California's unified discovery and borrowing system.
Access it directly or from the Library homepage to find most UC books, articles, media, archival collections, and more.
See the UC Library Search User Guide and ask for research help 24/7 for more information.