Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

UC Berkeley’s library buildings are open. Here’s what you need to know.

NES 24, Egyptology: Find Books

UC Library Search

Enter keyword(s) into the search bar.

UC Library Search search bar

 

Search scopes will appear, allowing you to focus on specific collections.  

UC Library Search search profiles

 

Articles, books, and more (most comprehensive) includes library collections from all 10 UC campuses.

UC Berkeley catalog includes almost all UC Berkeley library collections (see what is excluded).

UC Berkeley special collection and archives includes manuscripts, rare books, photographs, etc.

Select "Advanced Search".

UC Library Search Advanced Search button

 

Search scopes will appear, allowing you to focus on specific collections.  

UC Library Search Advanced Search filter menu search scopes

Articles, books, and more (most comprehensive) includes library collections from all 10 UC campuses.

UC Berkeley catalog includes almost all UC Berkeley library collections (see what is excluded).

WorldCat is a global catalog of library collections.

UC Berkeley special collection and archives includes manuscripts, rare books, photographs, etc.

 

Open the "any field" menu to search by keyword, author, title, subject, call number, or ISBN/ISSN.

UC Library Search Advanced Search filter menu search fields

Open the "contains" menu and select:

  • Contains for results including all of your search words in any order.
  • Is (exact) for results including all of your search words in your specified order.
  • Starts with (title searches only) for results including titles beginning with all search words in your specified order. 

Scan your search results. For each item, note its:

  • Format (ex: book, article, video, etc.): Indicated by the Image on the left and the text above the title.
  • Location: Either online or in a physical library.
  • Peer-review status (for articles only).

UC Library Search item results

 

Click on a title for more information about the item and how to access it. See Access Items to learn more.

 

See Manage Results if you want to save searches and/or items.   

Sort results by relevance (default), newest, oldest, title, or author. Refine results by using filters. UC Library Search Refine Your Results left side navigation menu

 

Using filters  

Manage a single filter by hovering over it. You can: 

  • Include it  include facet icon.
  • Exclude it  exclude facet icon.
  • Make it persistent lock icon.

Manage multiple filters in the Use the Active Filter area (top left column). You can:

  • Remove a persistent filter lock icon.
  • Make all current filters persistent (click "Remember all Filters").
  • Reset all filters (click "Reset Filters").

 

Adding filters

Adding:

  • Multiple filters at the same time will retrieve items for either filter.  (Ex: Adding Agriculture and Botany will find items about either Agriculture or Botany.)
  • Filter(s) after retrieving search results will retrieve items matching all filters. (Ex:  Doing a search and adding the filter for Botany, looking at search results, and then adding another filter for Agriculture, will only retrieve items matching both Agriculture and Botany.)

 

Click on a title for more information about the item and how to access it. See Access Items to learn more.

 

See Manage Results if you want to save searches and/or items.   

Using call numbers to find books

Books and journals are arranged on our shelves according to the Library of Congress (LC) classification system. Each is assigned a unique call number based on its subject matter and other characteristics. Items on the same subject will often be grouped together.

In using a call number to locate a book on the shelf, consider each element in turn before moving on to the next segment.

These call numbers are arranged as they should appear on the shelves. In each case, the element shown in boldface distinguishes the number from the preceding one:

Q
76
K26
QA
17
F75
QA
17.1
C98
TK
3
Z37
TK
29
M49
TK
29
M5
1997
TK
29
M5
2007

Each call number consists of several elements. For example::

TK
7881.6
M29
1993

The FIRST line, TK, is based on the broad subject of the book. Within Class T for technology, TK represents electrical engineering.

The SECOND line, 7881.6, defines the subject matter more finely. When looking for the book, read this as a whole number with a decimal component. In this example, TK7881.6 represents magnetic recording (a subdivision of TK— electrical engineering).

The THIRD line, M29, usually indicates author, but may also represent a further subject subdivision, geographic area, etc. There may also be a fourth line, formatted the same way. When looking for the book, read the numeric component as if it were preceded by a decimal point. In the example above, the numeric part of M29 should be read as ".29" (and the call number TK7881.6 M29 comes before TK7881.6 M4).

The YEAR of publication, such as 1993, may also be present. These file in chronological order and often indicate successive editions of a book. The call number may also have additional elements, such as volume numbers.