Resources listed on this page are sorted by the countries that house or produced them. They may include information relevant to countries other than their own. The following resources include information from archives in multiple countries or are international in scope.
Digitized archives documenting the political life in Occupied Western Europe available to the British Government during World War II. From the original intelligence reports received by the British Foreign Office.
Indexed by year and section, from the occupied states of Belgium, Denmark, France, Italy, Luxembourg, the Netherlands, Norway and the Vatican, and the neutral countries -- Portugal, Spain, Sweden and Switzerland. Includes a day-by-day chronology of the war, photographs and posters from The National Archives and film footage of Special Operations Executive (SOE) agents in France from the Imperial War Museum.
The records of the IGCR, which was organized in 1938 to facilitate Jewish emigration from Germany, but which largely failed. [1938-1947]
Includes the full records of State Department Lot File 52D408 from Record Group 59, Records of the Department of State, Records of the Intergovernmental Committee on Refugees.
This collection contains two newsletters published by the Internationale Transportarbeiter-Föderation/International Transport Workers' Federation (ITF), a pan-European trade union, between 1933 and 1945. Published in several languages, Germany Under the Swastika (Hakenkreuz über Deutschland) and Fascism (Faschismus) were originally intended to document the deeds and misdeeds of the Nazi regime in Germany. However, their scope expanded during the Second World War to include reports about occupied Europe. The Spanish Civil War also features heavily, with contributors warning that a victory for Franco would embolden other dictators.
This publication collection consists of over 1,000 air dropped and shelled leaflets and periodicals created and disseminated during the Second World War.
An online archive of the Canadian war experience, from any war, home front and battlefront, as told through the letters and images of Canadians themselves.
This collection of more than 140,000 clippings, arranged by subject and date, includes news stories and editorials from newspapers, mostly Canadian, documenting every aspect of the war.
The Needham Research Institute (UK) has collected about 1,000 photos that were taken by Joseph Needham during this trip to China from 1942-1946, when he was preparing his project on the history of Chinese science and technology.
This collection consists of newspapers and periodicals; broadsides; leaflets; and books and pamphlets and other documents produced by or relating to the underground resistance in France during World War II. [1939-1945]
Also included are related materials: ephemera from the pre-War and "Phony War" periods; Free French and other foreign publications; items related to the liberation of Paris and to the period immediately after the liberation; autograph letters and manuscripts; and books inscribed by their authors. Most of the documents are in French, while some are in German or Yiddish.
This fully digitized series consists of copies of captured German documents. Included are 900 pages of selected World War II-era German military records that were captured by the U.S. Army forces.
Documents concerning World War II which were found in the German Naval Archives captured at Tambach and translated by the Office of Naval Intelligence. Print copies are located at NRLF.
German air force target dossiers that were part of the German records seized by the Allies after World War II. Each dossier consists of a map, overprinted aerial photograph, and a site description. The documents are in German.
This collection presents the complete files of the Political Warfare Executive (PWE) kept at the U.K. National Archives as FO 898 from its instigation to closure in 1946, along with the secret minutes of the special 1944 War Cabinet Committee "Breaking the German Will to Resist."
Presents approximately twelve hours of opinions recorded in the days and months following the bombing of Pearl Harbor, Hawaii, from more than two hundred individuals in cities and towns across the United States.
During World War II, the US Army administered more than 200 surveys to over half a million American troops to discover what they thought and how they felt about the conflict and their military service. This site makes the collection accessible to the public for the first time.
Scans of over 300 printed U.S. government pamphlets, reports, and propaganda materials. Covers women's issues, home-front race relations, conservation and rationing, soldiers' guides to other countries, and more.
This NARA series primarily consists of transcripts of recorded interviews, lectures and speeches of U.S. Navy, Marine Corps and some Army Air Force personnel, mostly officers, who participated in significant actions of the Second World War. A small number of British, Australian and New Zealander officers and a few civilians are also included.
Collections of records on World War II, including Franklin D. Roosevelt's Map Room Files, Records of the Joint Chiefs of Staff, Records of the War Department Operations Division, U.S. Navy Action and Operational Reports, Records of the Office of War Information, Papers of the War Refugee Board, and Top Secret Studies on U.S. Communications Intelligence During World War II.
This collection contains manuscript materials compiled by the Office of War Information. For the World War II Rumor Project, field representatives collected information from community-based correspondents and sent duplicate or triplicate copies of reports of the correspondents to Dr. Eugene Horowitz at the Bureau of Public Inquiries of the OWI. The reports listed rumors and anecdotes that were compiled and arranged in alphabetical order by states and by subjects.
