Library Guides: Historical Primary Sources: Military History: War Crimes

Additional Resource Guides

World War II

Correspondence from German Concentration Camps and Prisons
A collection of items originating from prisoners held in German concentration camps, internment and transit camps, Gestapo prisons, and POW camps, during and just prior to World War II. Most of the collection consists of letters written or received by prisoners, but also includes receipts for parcels, money orders and personal effects; paper currency; and realia, including Star of David badges that Jews were forced to wear.

Die Verfolgung und Ermordung der europäischen Juden durch das nationalsozialistische Deutschland, 1933-1945 (The Persecution and Murder of European Jews by Nazi Germany 1933-1945)
Call Number: Main (Gardner) Stacks ; D804.3 .V47 2008 (16 vol)
The aim of this German-language work is to scientifically document the persecution of German Jews, and from 1938/39 onwards of European Jews, and the mass murder of them. Not only documents of the perpetrators are reproduced, but also contemporary testimonies of victims and important documents from third parties, such as underground movements and governments of allied and neutral states.

Testaments to the Holocaust, Documents and Rare Printed Materials from the Weiner Library, London
The first archive to collect evidence from the Holocaust and the anti-semitic activities of the German Nazi party. It includes eyewitness accounts collected before, during and after the Second World War, a large collection of photographs of pre-war Jewish life, the activities of the Nazis, and the ghettoes and camps, and a unique collection of Nazi propaganda publications.

Records at Fold3

Fold3 (which is owned by Ancestry) is a digitization partner of the National Archives and Records Administration. The records identified here are freely available, but do require you to register at the Fold3 website. The RG number in parenthesis indicates the NARA Record Group to which these documents belong.

Registers, Transport Lists, and Other Records Held by the International Tracing Service Relating Primarily to German-Operated Concentration Camps, November 1957–1983 (RG 242)
This series consists of copies of records which were created by the German Geheime Staatspolizei (Gestapo) during World War II, captured by the U.S. military, and compiled and used after the war by the International Tracing Service and later the Departmental Records Branch's Captured Records Section. They include copies of German records: camp records, transport lists, and medical data cards. The camp records include inmate cards, death lists, and strength reports. Although this series was created between November 1957 and 1983, it contains records dating from 1937 to 1946.

Other NARA Records

Information Cards for Inmates of the Langenstein-Zwieberge Concentration Camp, ca. 1947–ca. 1947
This series consists an index to inmates of the Langenstein-Zwieberge concentration camp. Each index file includes the inmate's name, date of birth, nationality, and prisoner number. Files of deceased inmates are marked with a cross. The index, originally created by the German authorities in charge of the camp, is in German.

Courts and Tribunals

International Tribunals Web Archive
The International Tribunals Web Archive contains selected websites on the most important international courts and tribunals created since World War II to adjudicate legal issues of a transnational nature. The collection preserves sites with information on the purpose, organization, and activities of international tribunals and will be useful to researchers, students, and practitioners of international law.
Joseph Berry Keenan Digital Collection
Manuscript materials and photographs from the Chief Counsel in the International Prosecution Section during the Japanese War Crimes Trial
Nuremberg Trials Project
Collection of trial transcripts, briefs, document books, evidence files, and other papers dealing with the trial
Taube Archive of the International Military Tribunal (IMT) at Nuremberg, 1945-46
The collection in the Virtual Tribunal platform contains approximately 250,000 pages of digitized paper documents (transcripts of the hearings in English, French, German and Russian; written pleadings; evidence exhibits filed by the prosecution and the defense; documents of the Committee for the Investigation and Prosecution of Major War Criminals; the judgment).

Secondary menu

Historical Primary Sources: Military History

Additional Resource Guides

World War II

Courts and Tribunals