Library Guides: HA 105 Eco Art: Art, Architecture, and the Natural Environment: Finding Articles

What is UC Library Search?

UC Library Search includes books, articles and more.

Books and eBooks from:
- HathiTrust
- Dozens of eBook databases
Articles from journals, magazines and newspapers, including article content from:
- Over forty EBSCOHost databases
- JSTOR
- Web of Science (and other ISI Web of Knowledge databases)
- Project MUSE
- Readex/NewsBank databases
- MLA International Bibliography
- and many, many more!
Online encyclopedias and dictionaries from a variety of vendors such as:
- Oxford University Press
- Gale

Get it at UC

Once you've searched an index to find articles, you may need to use Get it at UC to link to a PDF or html file if the full text is not immediately available. Each database is a bit different, but a good rule of thumb is:

When you see either icon, click on it to view your article access options (ex: full text, call number, Interlibrary Loan request, etc.)

Environmental Sciences databases

Agricultural & Environmental Science Database This link opens in a new window
Find citations for journals, conference proceedings, books, reports, and government publications in the agricultural and environmental sciences. [1960 - present].
AES incorporates the formerly titled "Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management" database - which includes Environmental Impact Statements - plus the databases AGRICOLA (1970-current) and TOXLINE (1999-current).
Wiley Digital Archives: Environmental Science and History This link opens in a new window
Archival collections (documents, images, data, maps, and photographs) from multiple global sources that focus on aspects of environmental science, history, and anthropogenic change.
"Sources include the Centre for Agriculture and Biosciences International (CABI), The National Archives (UK), Royal Botanic Gardens (Kew), the Commonwealth Forestry Institute, Royal Entomological Society, and Ecological Society of America.

Topics covered include agriculture, biodiversity, botany, climate change,
deforestation, entomology, fisheries, hydrology, irrigation, livestock, water sources, and wetlands. "

Art and Architecture Databases

ARTbibliographies Modern (ABM) This link opens in a new window
Abstracts of the current literature of modern and contemporary art, photography and design. [1974 - present]
Indexes journals, books, essays, exhibition catalogs, dissertations, and exhibition reviews. Coverage extends from artists and movements beginning with Impressionism in the late 19th century, up to the most recent works and trends in the late 20th century. Photography is covered from its invention in 1839 to the present.
Arts and Humanities Citation Index (Web of Knowledge) This link opens in a new window
Part of Web of Knowledge that indexes over 1,000 leading arts and humanities journals, and allows searching of citations as well as subsequent articles that cite an article. (Web of Science) [1975 - present]
For more guidance on using this database see the following tutorials: Saving your search & setting alerts
Art & Architecture Source This link opens in a new window
Covers 750 art journals including 470 peer reviewed journals, dissertations, reviews, and over 200 books related to art and architecture topics. Includes coverage from 1929 to present, including the complete former contents of Art Full Text and Art Index Retrospective databases. Some full text.
Formerly titled Art Source or Art Full Text
Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals This link opens in a new window
Indexes scholarly and professional journals covering architecture, architectural design, environmental design, furniture and decoration, interior design, historic preservation, history of architecture, landscape architecture, and urban design. [1860s - present]
Can limit to articles containing plans, sections, elevations and other graphic attributes. Most citations are from articles published since 1930 (with selective coverage dating back to the 1860s).

General Article Databases

Databases are collections of thousands of articles (and often book chapters, book reviews, conference proceedings, dissertations, and other items) organized by subject. The Libraries have hundreds of databases covering every academic discipline. Some are multi-disciplinary, covering a broad range of subjects and including popular and scholarly sources, and others are subject-specific, and include scholarly and specialized articles.

The following multi-disciplinary databases are good places to start your research:

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
A multi-disciplinary database of scholarly and general interest journals, books, and reports. [1865 - present]
Articles from broad array of peer-reviewed journals, popular and trade magazines and news sources for nearly all areas of study; available in English, Spanish, German, French, Italian and Portuguese.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Search across many disciplines and sources including articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites.
Lists journal articles, books, preprints, and technical reports in many subject areas (though more specialized article databases may cover any given field more completely). Can be used with "Get it at UC" to access the full text of many articles.

Setting Google Scholar for UC Content

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Full-text access to over 1000 scholarly journals, including more than 2 million articles, from a wide range of disciplines. Current issues from journals (the most recent 3-5 years) are generally not available in JSTOR. [dates vary].
For more sophisticated search capabilities, go directly to JSTOR advanced search.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Several hundred digitized scholarly journals and books in the humanities and social sciences. [1993 - present]
Topics include literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics and many others. Books are available in PDF format, searchable and retrievable to the chapter level, with no restrictions on downloading or printing.

ProQuest databases
Search across all ProQuest databases

Secondary menu

HA 105 Eco Art: Art, Architecture, and the Natural Environment: Finding Articles

Finding Articles

What is UC Library Search?

Get it at UC

Environmental Sciences databases

Art and Architecture Databases

General Article Databases