It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Moffitt Library is opening Aug. 22. Other libraries will have updated services and hours. Learn more.
Probability with STEM Applications is an accessible and well-balanced introduction to post-calculus applied probability. Integrating foundational mathematical theory and the application of probability in the real world, this leading textbook engages students with unique problem scenarios and more than 1100 exercises of varying levels of difficulty.
Galois Theory, and Its Algebraic Background by D. J. H. GarlingGalois Theory, the theory of polynomial equations and their solutions, is one of the most fascinating and beautiful subjects of pure mathematics. Using group theory and field theory, it provides a complete answer to the problem of the solubility of polynomial equations by radicals: that is, determining when and how a polynomial equation can be solved by repeatedly extracting roots using elementary algebraic operations. This textbook contains a fully detailed account of Galois Theory and the algebra that it needs and is suitable both for those following a course of lectures and the independent reader (who is assumed to have no previous knowledge of Galois Theory). The second edition has been significantly revised and re-ordered; the first part develops the basic algebra that is needed, and the second a comprehensive account of Galois Theory. There are applications to ruler-and- compass constructions, and to the solution of classical mathematical problems of ancient times. There are new exercises throughout, and carefully-selected examples will help the reader develop a clear understanding of the mathematical theory.
Call Number: QA214 .G367 2022
Theory of Fractional Evolution Equations by Yong Zhou; Bashir Ahmad; Ahmed AlsaediFractional evolution equations provide a unifying framework to investigate wellposedness of complex systems with fractional order derivatives. This monograph presents the existence, attractivity, stability, periodic solutions and control theory for time fractional evolution equations. The book contains an up-to-date and comprehensive stuff on the topic.
Call Number: QA377.3 .Z46 2022
Singularities, Bifurcations and Catastrophes by James MontaldiSuitable for advanced undergraduates, postgraduates and researchers, this self-contained textbook provides an introduction to the mathematics lying at the foundations of bifurcation theory. The theory is built up gradually, beginning with the well-developed approach to singularity theory through right-equivalence. The text proceeds with contact equivalence of map-germs and finally presents the path formulation of bifurcation theory. This formulation, developed partly by the author, is more general and more flexible than the original one dating from the 1980s. A series of appendices discuss standard background material, such as calculus of several variables, existence and uniqueness theorems for ODEs, and some basic material on rings and modules. Based on the author's own teaching experience, the book contains numerous examples and illustrations. The wealth of end-of-chapter problems develop and reinforce understanding of the key ideas and techniques: solutions to a selection are provided.
Call Number: QA614.58 .M66 2021
Visual Differential Geometry and Forms : a Mathematical Drama in Five Acts by Tristan NeedhamAn inviting, intuitive, and visual exploration of differential geometry and forms Visual Differential Geometry and Forms fulfills two principal goals. In the first four acts, Tristan Needham puts the geometry back into differential geometry. Using 235 hand-drawn diagrams, Needham deploys Newton's geometrical methods to provide geometrical explanations of the classical results. In the fifth act, he offers the first undergraduate introduction to differential forms that treats advanced topics in an intuitive and geometrical manner. Unique features of the first four acts include: four distinct geometrical proofs of the fundamentally important Global Gauss-Bonnet theorem, providing a stunning link between local geometry and global topology; a simple, geometrical proof of Gauss's famous Theorema Egregium; a complete geometrical treatment of the Riemann curvature tensor of an n-manifold; and a detailed geometrical treatment of Einstein's field equation, describing gravity as curved spacetime (General Relativity), together with its implications for gravitational waves, black holes, and cosmology. The final act elucidates such topics as the unification of all the integral theorems of vector calculus; the elegant reformulation of Maxwell's equations of electromagnetism in terms of 2-forms; de Rham cohomology; differential geometry via Cartan's method of moving frames; and the calculation of the Riemann tensor using curvature 2-forms. Six of the seven chapters of Act V can be read completely independently from the rest of the book. Requiring only basic calculus and geometry, Visual Differential Geometry and Forms provocatively rethinks the way this important area of mathematics should be considered and taught.
Call Number: QA641 .N44 2021
Introduction to Differential Equations by Michael E. TaylorThis text introduces students to the theory and practice of differential equations, which are fundamental to the mathematical formulation of problems in physics, chemistry, biology, economics, and other sciences. The book is ideally suited for undergraduate or beginning graduate students in mathematics, and will also be useful for students in the physical sciences and engineering who have already taken a three-course calculus sequence. This second edition incorporates much new material, including sections on the Laplace transform and the matrix Laplace transform, a section devoted to Bessel's equation, and sections on applications of variational methods to geodesics and to rigid body motion. There is also a more complete treatment of the Runge-Kutta scheme, as well as numerous additions and improvements to the original text. Students finishing this book will be well prepared for advanced studies in dynamical systems, mathematical physics, and partial differential equations.
Call Number: QA372 .T39 2022
Loop-like Solitons in the Theory of Nonlinear Evolution Equations by V.O. Vakhnenko; John ParkesThis book shows that the physical phenomena and processes that take place in nature generally have complicated nonlinear features, which leads to nonlinear mathematical models for the real processes. It focuses on the practical issues involved here, as well as the development of methods to investigate the associated nonlinear mathematical problems, including nonlinear wave propagation.
Call Number: QA377.3 .V35 2022
ISBN: 1527581462
Dynamics, Geometry, Number Theory : The Impact of Margulis on Modern Mathematics by David Fisher; Dmitry Kleinbock; Gregory Soifer (Editors)This definitive synthesis of mathematician Gregory Margulis's research brings together leading experts to cover the breadth and diversity of disciplines Margulis's work touches upon. Mathematicians David Fisher, Dmitry Kleinbock, and Gregory Soifer highlight in this edited collection the foundations and evolution of research by widely influential Fields Medalist Gregory Margulis. Margulis is unusual in the degree to which his solutions to particular problems have opened new vistas of mathematics; his ideas were central, for example, to developments that led to the recent Fields Medals of Elon Lindenstrauss and Maryam Mirzhakhani. Dynamics, Geometry, Number Theory introduces these areas, their development, their use in current research, and the connections between them. Divided into four broad sections--Arithmeticity, superrigidity, normal subgroups; Discrete subgroups; Expanders, representations, spectral theory; and Homogeneous dynamics--chapters have all been written by the foremost experts on each topic with a view to making them accessible both to graduate students and to experts in other parts of mathematics. This was no simple feat: Margulis's work stands out in part because of its depth, but also because it brings together ideas from different areas of mathematics. Few can be experts in all of these fields, and this diversity of ideas can make it challenging to enter Margulis's research. Dynamics, Geometry, Number Theory provides one remedy to that challenge.
Call Number: QA29.M355 D96 2022
Introductory Incompressible Fluid Mechanics by Frank H. Berkshire; Simon J. A. Malham; J. Trevor StuartThis introduction to the mathematics of incompressible fluid mechanics and its applications keeps prerequisites to a minimum - only a background knowledge in multivariable calculus and differential equations is required. Part One covers inviscid fluid mechanics, guiding readers from the very basics of how to represent fluid flows through to the incompressible Euler equations and many real-world applications. Part Two covers viscous fluid mechanics, from the stress/rate of strain relation to deriving the incompressible Navier-Stokes equations, through to Beltrami flows, the Reynolds number, Stokes flows, lubrication theory and boundary layers. Also included is a self-contained guide on the global existence of solutions to the incompressible Navier-Stokes equations. Students can test their understanding on 100 progressively structured exercises and look beyond the scope of the text with carefully selected mini-projects. Based on the authors' extensive teaching experience, this is a valuable resource for undergraduate and graduate students across mathematics, science, and engineering.
Call Number: QA901 .B395 2022
Stochastic Processes with R : An Introduction by Olga KorostelevaThe academic level of this book is not too elementary yet not too advanced. It is assumed that the reader has taken calculus-based probability theory and statistics. Not a whole lot of statistical analysis is present in this book. In applications there are some attempts to estimate parameters of stochastic processes via linear regression, maximum likelihood and method of moments estimators. Typically, a course on stochastic processes is taught to pure mathematics, applied mathematics, physics, and engineering majors, and the selection of processes and level of exposition differ. Most of the books involved sigma algebra, martingales, and Ito calculus, which I deliberately not mention in my book. My book is written for statistics majors who benefit from seeing less theory but more simulated trajectories and serious applications, possibly with data analysis involved.
Call Number: QA274 .K6745 2022
Stirling Polynomials in Several Indeterminates by Alfred SchreiberThe classical exponential polynomials, today commonly named afterE. ,T. Bell, have a wide range of remarkable applications inCombinatorics, Algebra, Analysis, and Mathematical Physics. Within thealgebraic framework presented in this book they appear as structuralcoefficients in finite expansions of certain higher-order derivativeoperators. In this way, a correspondence between polynomials andfunctions is established, which leads (via compositional inversion) tothe specification and the effective computation of orthogonalcompanions of the Bell polynomials. Together with the latter, oneobtains the larger class of multivariate `Stirling polynomials'. Theirfundamental recurrences and inverse relations are examined in detailand shown to be directly related to corresponding identities for theStirling numbers. The following topics are also covered: polynomialfamilies that can be represented by Bell polynomials; inversionformulas, in particular of Schlömilch-Schläfli type; applications tobinomial sequences; new aspects of the Lagrange inversion, and, as ahighlight, reciprocity laws, which unite a polynomial family and thatof orthogonal companions. Besides aMathematica(R) package and an extensivebibliography, additional material is compiled in a number of notes andsupplements.
Mathematics for Social Justice : Focusing on Quantitative Reasoning and Statistics by Gizem Karaali & Lily S. Khadjavi (Editors)Mathematics for Social Justice offers a collection of resources for mathematics faculty interested in incorporating questions of social justice into their classrooms. The book comprises seventeen classroom-tested modules featuring ready-to-use activities and investigations for college mathematics and statistics courses. The modules empower students to study issues of social justice and to see the power and limitations of mathematics in real-world contexts of deep concern. The primary focus is on classroom activities where students can ask their own questions, find and analyze real data, apply mathematical ideas themselves, and draw their own conclusions. Module topics in the book focus on technical content that could support courses in quantitative reasoning or introductory statistics. Social themes include electoral issues, environmental justice, equity/inequity, human rights, and racial justice, including topics such as gentrification, partisan gerrymandering, policing, and more. The volume editors are leaders of the national movement to include social justice material in mathematics teaching and jointly edited the earlier AMS-MAA volume, Mathematics for Social Justice: Resources for the College Classroom.
Call Number: QA10.7 .M384 2021
Basic Lessons on Isometries, Similarities and Inversions in the Euclidean Plane : A Synthetic Approach by Ioannis Markos RoussosThe aim of this book is to provide a complete synthetic exposition of plane isometries, similarities and inversions to readers who are interested in studying, teaching, and using this material.The topics developed in this book can provide new proofs and solutions to many results and problems of classical geometry, which are presented with different proofs in the literature. Their applications are numerous and some, such as the Steiner Chains and Point, are useful to engineers.The book contains many good examples, important applications and numerous exercises of various level and difficulty, which are classified in the three groups of: general exercises, geometrical constructions, and geometrical loci. Some lengthy exercises or groups of related exercises can be viewed as projects. On the basis of the above, this book, besides Classical Geometry, is an important addition to Mathematics Education.
Call Number: QA455 .R68 2022
Homology, Cohomology, and Sheaf Cohomology for Algebraic Topology, Algebraic Geometry, and Differential Geometry by Jean H. Gallier; Jocelyn QuaintanceFor more than thirty years the senior author has been trying to learn algebraic geometry. In the process he discovered that many of the classic textbooks in algebraic geometry require substantial knowledge of cohomology, homological algebra, and sheaf theory. In an attempt to demystify these abstract concepts and facilitate understanding for a new generation of mathematicians, he along with co-author wrote this book for an audience who is familiar with basic concepts of linear and abstract algebra, but who never has had any exposure to the algebraic geometry or homological algebra. As such this book consists of two parts. The first part gives a crash-course on the homological and cohomological aspects of algebraic topology, with a bias in favor of cohomology. The second part is devoted to presheaves, sheaves, Cech cohomology, derived functors, sheaf cohomology, and spectral sequences. All important concepts are intuitively motivated and the associated proofs of the quintessential theorems are presented in detail rarely found in the standard texts.
Call Number: QA612.3 .G35 2022
Dimension Groups and Dynamical Systems : Substitutions, Bratteli Diagrams and Cantor Systems by Fabien Durand; Dominique PerrinThis book is the first self-contained exposition of the fascinating link between dynamical systems and dimension groups. The authors explore the rich interplay between topological properties of dynamical systems and the algebraic structures associated with them, with an emphasis on symbolic systems, particularly substitution systems. It is recommended for anybody with an interest in topological and symbolic dynamics, automata theory or combinatorics on words. Intended to serve as an introduction for graduate students and other newcomers to the field as well as a reference for established researchers, the book includes a thorough account of the background notions as well as detailed exposition - with full proofs - of the major results of the subject. A wealth of examples and exercises, with solutions, serve to build intuition, while the many open problems collected at the end provide jumping-off points for future research.
Probability with STEM Applications by 
Galois Theory, and Its Algebraic Background by Galois Theory, the theory of polynomial equations and their solutions, is one of the most fascinating and beautiful subjects of pure mathematics. Using group theory and field theory, it provides a complete answer to the problem of the solubility of polynomial equations by radicals: that is, determining when and how a polynomial equation can be solved by repeatedly extracting roots using elementary algebraic operations. This textbook contains a fully detailed account of Galois Theory and the algebra that it needs and is suitable both for those following a course of lectures and the independent reader (who is assumed to have no previous knowledge of Galois Theory). The second edition has been significantly revised and re-ordered; the first part develops the basic algebra that is needed, and the second a comprehensive account of Galois Theory. There are applications to ruler-and- compass constructions, and to the solution of classical mathematical problems of ancient times. There are new exercises throughout, and carefully-selected examples will help the reader develop a clear understanding of the mathematical theory.
Theory of Fractional Evolution Equations by Fractional evolution equations provide a unifying framework to investigate wellposedness of complex systems with fractional order derivatives. This monograph presents the existence, attractivity, stability, periodic solutions and control theory for time fractional evolution equations. The book contains an up-to-date and comprehensive stuff on the topic.
Singularities, Bifurcations and Catastrophes by Suitable for advanced undergraduates, postgraduates and researchers, this self-contained textbook provides an introduction to the mathematics lying at the foundations of bifurcation theory. The theory is built up gradually, beginning with the well-developed approach to singularity theory through right-equivalence. The text proceeds with contact equivalence of map-germs and finally presents the path formulation of bifurcation theory. This formulation, developed partly by the author, is more general and more flexible than the original one dating from the 1980s. A series of appendices discuss standard background material, such as calculus of several variables, existence and uniqueness theorems for ODEs, and some basic material on rings and modules. Based on the author's own teaching experience, the book contains numerous examples and illustrations. The wealth of end-of-chapter problems develop and reinforce understanding of the key ideas and techniques: solutions to a selection are provided.
Visual Differential Geometry and Forms : a Mathematical Drama in Five Acts by An inviting, intuitive, and visual exploration of differential geometry and forms Visual Differential Geometry and Forms fulfills two principal goals. In the first four acts, Tristan Needham puts the geometry back into differential geometry. Using 235 hand-drawn diagrams, Needham deploys Newton's geometrical methods to provide geometrical explanations of the classical results. In the fifth act, he offers the first undergraduate introduction to differential forms that treats advanced topics in an intuitive and geometrical manner. Unique features of the first four acts include: four distinct geometrical proofs of the fundamentally important Global Gauss-Bonnet theorem, providing a stunning link between local geometry and global topology; a simple, geometrical proof of Gauss's famous Theorema Egregium; a complete geometrical treatment of the Riemann curvature tensor of an n-manifold; and a detailed geometrical treatment of Einstein's field equation, describing gravity as curved spacetime (General Relativity), together with its implications for gravitational waves, black holes, and cosmology. The final act elucidates such topics as the unification of all the integral theorems of vector calculus; the elegant reformulation of Maxwell's equations of electromagnetism in terms of 2-forms; de Rham cohomology; differential geometry via Cartan's method of moving frames; and the calculation of the Riemann tensor using curvature 2-forms. Six of the seven chapters of Act V can be read completely independently from the rest of the book. Requiring only basic calculus and geometry, Visual Differential Geometry and Forms provocatively rethinks the way this important area of mathematics should be considered and taught.
Introduction to Differential Equations by This text introduces students to the theory and practice of differential equations, which are fundamental to the mathematical formulation of problems in physics, chemistry, biology, economics, and other sciences. The book is ideally suited for undergraduate or beginning graduate students in mathematics, and will also be useful for students in the physical sciences and engineering who have already taken a three-course calculus sequence. This second edition incorporates much new material, including sections on the Laplace transform and the matrix Laplace transform, a section devoted to Bessel's equation, and sections on applications of variational methods to geodesics and to rigid body motion. There is also a more complete treatment of the Runge-Kutta scheme, as well as numerous additions and improvements to the original text. Students finishing this book will be well prepared for advanced studies in dynamical systems, mathematical physics, and partial differential equations.
Loop-like Solitons in the Theory of Nonlinear Evolution Equations by This book shows that the physical phenomena and processes that take place in nature generally have complicated nonlinear features, which leads to nonlinear mathematical models for the real processes. It focuses on the practical issues involved here, as well as the development of methods to investigate the associated nonlinear mathematical problems, including nonlinear wave propagation.
Dynamics, Geometry, Number Theory : The Impact of Margulis on Modern Mathematics by This definitive synthesis of mathematician Gregory Margulis's research brings together leading experts to cover the breadth and diversity of disciplines Margulis's work touches upon. Mathematicians David Fisher, Dmitry Kleinbock, and Gregory Soifer highlight in this edited collection the foundations and evolution of research by widely influential Fields Medalist Gregory Margulis. Margulis is unusual in the degree to which his solutions to particular problems have opened new vistas of mathematics; his ideas were central, for example, to developments that led to the recent Fields Medals of Elon Lindenstrauss and Maryam Mirzhakhani. Dynamics, Geometry, Number Theory introduces these areas, their development, their use in current research, and the connections between them. Divided into four broad sections--Arithmeticity, superrigidity, normal subgroups; Discrete subgroups; Expanders, representations, spectral theory; and Homogeneous dynamics--chapters have all been written by the foremost experts on each topic with a view to making them accessible both to graduate students and to experts in other parts of mathematics. This was no simple feat: Margulis's work stands out in part because of its depth, but also because it brings together ideas from different areas of mathematics. Few can be experts in all of these fields, and this diversity of ideas can make it challenging to enter Margulis's research. Dynamics, Geometry, Number Theory provides one remedy to that challenge.
Introductory Incompressible Fluid Mechanics by This introduction to the mathematics of incompressible fluid mechanics and its applications keeps prerequisites to a minimum - only a background knowledge in multivariable calculus and differential equations is required. Part One covers inviscid fluid mechanics, guiding readers from the very basics of how to represent fluid flows through to the incompressible Euler equations and many real-world applications. Part Two covers viscous fluid mechanics, from the stress/rate of strain relation to deriving the incompressible Navier-Stokes equations, through to Beltrami flows, the Reynolds number, Stokes flows, lubrication theory and boundary layers. Also included is a self-contained guide on the global existence of solutions to the incompressible Navier-Stokes equations. Students can test their understanding on 100 progressively structured exercises and look beyond the scope of the text with carefully selected mini-projects. Based on the authors' extensive teaching experience, this is a valuable resource for undergraduate and graduate students across mathematics, science, and engineering.
Stochastic Processes with R : An Introduction by The academic level of this book is not too elementary yet not too advanced. It is assumed that the reader has taken calculus-based probability theory and statistics. Not a whole lot of statistical analysis is present in this book. In applications there are some attempts to estimate parameters of stochastic processes via linear regression, maximum likelihood and method of moments estimators. Typically, a course on stochastic processes is taught to pure mathematics, applied mathematics, physics, and engineering majors, and the selection of processes and level of exposition differ. Most of the books involved sigma algebra, martingales, and Ito calculus, which I deliberately not mention in my book. My book is written for statistics majors who benefit from seeing less theory but more simulated trajectories and serious applications, possibly with data analysis involved.
Stirling Polynomials in Several Indeterminates by The classical exponential polynomials, today commonly named afterE. ,T. Bell, have a wide range of remarkable applications inCombinatorics, Algebra, Analysis, and Mathematical Physics. Within thealgebraic framework presented in this book they appear as structuralcoefficients in finite expansions of certain higher-order derivativeoperators. In this way, a correspondence between polynomials andfunctions is established, which leads (via compositional inversion) tothe specification and the effective computation of orthogonalcompanions of the Bell polynomials. Together with the latter, oneobtains the larger class of multivariate `Stirling polynomials'. Theirfundamental recurrences and inverse relations are examined in detailand shown to be directly related to corresponding identities for theStirling numbers. The following topics are also covered: polynomialfamilies that can be represented by Bell polynomials; inversionformulas, in particular of Schlömilch-Schläfli type; applications tobinomial sequences; new aspects of the Lagrange inversion, and, as ahighlight, reciprocity laws, which unite a polynomial family and thatof orthogonal companions. Besides aMathematica(R) package and an extensivebibliography, additional material is compiled in a number of notes andsupplements.
Mathematics for Social Justice : Focusing on Quantitative Reasoning and Statistics by Mathematics for Social Justice offers a collection of resources for mathematics faculty interested in incorporating questions of social justice into their classrooms. The book comprises seventeen classroom-tested modules featuring ready-to-use activities and investigations for college mathematics and statistics courses. The modules empower students to study issues of social justice and to see the power and limitations of mathematics in real-world contexts of deep concern. The primary focus is on classroom activities where students can ask their own questions, find and analyze real data, apply mathematical ideas themselves, and draw their own conclusions. Module topics in the book focus on technical content that could support courses in quantitative reasoning or introductory statistics. Social themes include electoral issues, environmental justice, equity/inequity, human rights, and racial justice, including topics such as gentrification, partisan gerrymandering, policing, and more. The volume editors are leaders of the national movement to include social justice material in mathematics teaching and jointly edited the earlier AMS-MAA volume, Mathematics for Social Justice: Resources for the College Classroom.
Basic Lessons on Isometries, Similarities and Inversions in the Euclidean Plane : A Synthetic Approach by The aim of this book is to provide a complete synthetic exposition of plane isometries, similarities and inversions to readers who are interested in studying, teaching, and using this material.The topics developed in this book can provide new proofs and solutions to many results and problems of classical geometry, which are presented with different proofs in the literature. Their applications are numerous and some, such as the Steiner Chains and Point, are useful to engineers.The book contains many good examples, important applications and numerous exercises of various level and difficulty, which are classified in the three groups of: general exercises, geometrical constructions, and geometrical loci. Some lengthy exercises or groups of related exercises can be viewed as projects. On the basis of the above, this book, besides Classical Geometry, is an important addition to Mathematics Education.
Homology, Cohomology, and Sheaf Cohomology for Algebraic Topology, Algebraic Geometry, and Differential Geometry by For more than thirty years the senior author has been trying to learn algebraic geometry. In the process he discovered that many of the classic textbooks in algebraic geometry require substantial knowledge of cohomology, homological algebra, and sheaf theory. In an attempt to demystify these abstract concepts and facilitate understanding for a new generation of mathematicians, he along with co-author wrote this book for an audience who is familiar with basic concepts of linear and abstract algebra, but who never has had any exposure to the algebraic geometry or homological algebra. As such this book consists of two parts. The first part gives a crash-course on the homological and cohomological aspects of algebraic topology, with a bias in favor of cohomology. The second part is devoted to presheaves, sheaves, Cech cohomology, derived functors, sheaf cohomology, and spectral sequences. All important concepts are intuitively motivated and the associated proofs of the quintessential theorems are presented in detail rarely found in the standard texts.
Dimension Groups and Dynamical Systems : Substitutions, Bratteli Diagrams and Cantor Systems by This book is the first self-contained exposition of the fascinating link between dynamical systems and dimension groups. The authors explore the rich interplay between topological properties of dynamical systems and the algebraic structures associated with them, with an emphasis on symbolic systems, particularly substitution systems. It is recommended for anybody with an interest in topological and symbolic dynamics, automata theory or combinatorics on words. Intended to serve as an introduction for graduate students and other newcomers to the field as well as a reference for established researchers, the book includes a thorough account of the background notions as well as detailed exposition - with full proofs - of the major results of the subject. A wealth of examples and exercises, with solutions, serve to build intuition, while the many open problems collected at the end provide jumping-off points for future research.