Provides access to the raw data and documentation which contains information on the following slave trade topics from the eighteenth and nineteenth centuries: records of slave ship movement between Africa and the Americas, slave ships of eighteenth century France, slave trade to Rio de Janeiro, Virginia slave trade in the eighteenth century, English slave trade (House of Lords Survey), Angola slave trade in the eighteenth century, internal slave trade to Rio de Janeiro, slave trade to Havana, Cuba, Nantes slave trade in the eighteenth century, and slave trade to Jamaica.
The Tarleton family were influential merchants in Liverpool during the 18th century. The main focus of these papers is on their business interests in Britain and the West Indies.
The 169 documents, whose digitized images are presented with this finding aid, come from slave trade campaigns undertaken by the French between 1721 and 1757 and mainly in the second quarter of the 18th century as part of the Compagnie des Indes.
Colonial Office files (supplemented by some War Office files) from the UK National Archives, relating to British governance of 25 islands in the Caribbean, covering the years 1624-1870
This extensive resource includes administrative documentation, trade and shipping records, minutes of council meetings, as well as details of plantation life, colonial settlement, imperial rivalries across the region, and the growing concern about absentee landlords.
This work is included in the online database The Making of the Modern World. A complete set of the documents is available on microfilm and can be requested through interlibrary loan from the Center for Research Libraries.
This collection is composed of British Naval Office shipping lists between the years of 1678 and 1825. These 150 years saw the rise of British naval power across the globe, which significantly contributed to the proliferation of the Transatlantic Slave Trade and the eventual establishment of the British Empire.
This collection contains the papers of merchants who were involved in the transatlantic slave trade during the period 1754-1792. The documents cover all aspects of the slave trade, from payments made by slave owners to dealings with groups along the coast of West Africa
William Davenport was a Liverpool merchant and British slave trader. From the late 1740s till the early 1790s, he invested regularly in the African slave trade and was a partner in slaving ventures with other leading merchant Liverpool families.
This collection contains a wide range of documents concerning the African slave trade during the 17th, 18th, and 19th centuries. The papers focus primarily on Jamaica and the West Indies, but also cover the experience of other nations and regions.
