Slavery: Slavery of Africans

Over 6000 pieces dating from 1724 to 1897, directly relating to the social, economic, civil, and legal status of enslaved Negroes and Free People of Color in Louisiana and especially in New Orleans. The manuscripts are written in French, Spanish, and English.

An expanding resource compiling independent collections focused upon race and slavery in the American South, made searchable through a single, simple interface. DLAS houses tens of thousands of records relating to all 15 slave states and Washington, D.C. as well as a number of northern states.

The New York Historical Society has placed its fourteen most important manuscript collections relating to slavery online.

Digitized and transcribed records relating to freedom petitions filed between 1800-1862 in Washington, D.C., by enslaved African Americans. This digital history project explores their social networks and includes scholarly essays that analyze the documents.

The project is leading towards a unique, centralized database of bills of sales indexing the names of enslaved people from across North Carolina.

Contains detailed information on about 150,000 individuals, including slaves, free people of color, and whites, extracted from 2,975 legislative petitions and 14,512 county court petitions, as well as from a wide range of related documents, including wills, inventories, deeds, bills of sale, depositions, court proceedings, amended petitions, among others.

Documents detailing the 1846 case

A growing digital collection highlighting materials related to Black history and culture from Harvard University's Houghton Library. These materials were hand-selected to provide freely accessible digitized primary sources for scholars of all sorts.

This collection consists of 105 library books and manuscripts, totalling approximately 8,700 pages drawn principally from the Law Library and the Rare Book and Special Collections Division of the Library of Congress. The documents comprise an assortment of trials and cases, reports, arguments, accounts, examinations of cases and decisions, proceedings, journals, a letter, and other works of historical importance. Most of the items date from the nineteenth century and include materials associated with the Dred Scott case and the abolitionist activities of John Brown, John Quincy Adams, and William Lloyd Garrison.

On September 30, 2000 Governor Gray Davis of California signed two bills relating to slave insurance, with other states later following suit. Included here are 670 distinct records as made available by the California Department of Insurance. The California web site makes available four different reports; Slavery Era, Slave Names, Slaveholder Names and New York Life Cancelled Policies Reports.

Provides access to a collection of slavery materials from the United States, including every reported state and federal case, state and federal statutes and much more.

The materials selected include company records; business and personal correspondence; documents pertaining to the purchase, hire, medical care, and provisioning of slave laborers; descriptions of production processes; and journals recounting costs and income.

This interactive map shows the expansion of the slavery in the U.S. from 1790 until 1860 based on censuses.

Transcriptions of primary sources dealing with slavery in Texas between 1820 and 1850

"Visualizing Emancipation is a map of slavery’s end during the American Civil War. It finds patterns in the collapse of southern slavery, mapping the interactions between federal policies, armies in the field, and the actions of enslaved men and women on countless farms and city blocks."

A work by Prof. Trevor Burnard that includes complaints of slaves presented before a Colonial authority in British Guiana between 1819 and 1832, drawn from records held in the British National Archives.

The archive collection entitled “Negros y Esclavos” that forms part of the documentary assets of the ‘Archivo General de la Nación’ contains extensive and very important testimonial information about the development of the African slave trade in the ‘Neogranadino’ territory. The collection is composed of 55 files, equivalent to approximately 55,000 sheets of paper, that refer not only to the history of Colombia, but also that of Ecuador, Panama and Venezuela.