Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Africa Focus: Sights and Sounds of a Continent
The collection contains more than 3000 slides, 500 photographs, and 50 hours of sounds from forty-five different countries.
AGSL Digital Photo Archive: Africa
A selection of images from the extensive photographic holdings of the American Geographical Society (AGS) Library.
Colonialism and African Diaspora on Picture Postcards
Comprises 3027 postcards showing Africans and African-Americans in the period of colonialism. It is based on the collection of a private person from Hamburg who released the scans for digitisation.
The Humphrey Winterton Collection of East African Photographs: 1860-1960
The collection includes about 7,610 photographs organized in 76 separate albums, scrapbooks or loose collections. The photographs depict life, primarily in East Africa, between about 1860 and 1960.
Images of Colonialism
Images from late-19th and early-20th century trade cards and illustrated European newspapers of East Asia, South Asia, and Africa
International Mission Photography Archive (IMPA)
Historical images from Protestant and Catholic missionary collections in Britain, Norway, Germany, France, Switzerland, and the United States.
Internet African History Sourcebook
Varied collection of texts, excerpts, and links to primary sources relating to the history of Africa.
The Middle East in Early Prints and Photographs
The collection include classics of illustrated travel and regional archaeology, as well as the NYPL's earliest works of photography in the Middle East region.
Picture Archive of the German Colonial Society
Digitized image inventory of the German Colonial Society (DKG) from 1887-1936.
Ross Archive of African Images
Presenting approximately 5000 pictures of African art published before 1921. Its historic sources afford exceptional insight into early European and American views - literal and figurative - of Africa's art. Texts are presented here verbatim in the original - often erroneous and sometimes racist - language. Foreign texts appear in English translation followed by the original language.
World Through a Lens: Africa
National Archives (UK) collection of over 3000 images taken from the Foreign and Commonwealth Office photographic collection.
16th-Early 20th Century Maps of Africa
More than 100 maps dating from 1530 to 1915.
Includes more than 2,700 of historical maps focused on Africa. The content spans over 500 years, covering all regions and scales, and in 8 different languages.