Skip to Main Content

Historical Primary Sources: Africa: Primary Sources by Region


map of Africa's geographic regions

Geographic divisions

This guide uses the United Nations geoscheme for Africa to organize resources into regional categories. 

Northern Africa: Algeria, Egypt, Libya, Morocco, Sudan, Tunisia, Western Sahara

Eastern Africa: Burundi, Comoros, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Kenya, Madagascar, Malawi, Mauritius, Mayotte, Mozambique, Réunion, Rwanda, Seychelles, Somalia, South Sudan, Tanzania, Uganda, Zambia, Zimbabwe

Western Africa: Benin, Burkina Faso, Cabo Verde, Côte d'Ivoire, Gambia, Ghana, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Liberia, Mali, Mauritania, Niger, Nigeria, Saint Helena, Ascension and Tristan da Cunha, Senegal, Sierra Leone, Togo

Central Africa: Angola, Cameroon, Central African Republic, Chad, Democratic Republic of the Congo, Republic of the Congo, Equatorial Guinea, Gabon, São Tomé and Príncipe

Southern Africa: Botswana, Eswatini (Swaziland), Lesotho, Namibia, South Africa

General Collections