Skip to Main Content

Chicanx and Latinx Studies: Books

About UC Library Search

About UC Library Search

Venn diagram about what UC Library Search includes

Access UC Library Search directly or from the Library homepage to find most (what isn't included?) books, articles, media, archival collections, and more from: 

  • UC Berkeley
  • Other UC Libraries
  • WorldCat (select Advanced Search, then WorldCat)

Sign in to view all results and to manage your:

  • Saved records and searches.
  • Requested and borrowed items.
  • Messages, blocks, fines, and fees.

 

Off campus? Use the proxy or the VPN for full access. (You may be prompted to sign in again.)

Choosing a Search

CHOOSING A SEARCH

  • Simple Search allows you to search by keyword(s).
  • Advanced Search allows you to select and search by title, author, subject, call number, or ISBN/ISSN.
  • Browse Search (available in an item record) allows you to browse by title, author, series, or call number.

Want to search WorldCat? Use Advanced Search.

Want to find a book by title?  Use Advanced Search and/or the UC Berkeley catalog scope (see below).

Searching 1... 2... 3...

Enter keyword(s) into the search bar.

UC Library Search search bar

 

Search scopes will appear, allowing you to focus on specific collections.  

UC Library Search search profiles

 

Articles, books, and more (most comprehensive) includes library collections from all 10 UC campuses.

UC Berkeley catalog includes almost all UC Berkeley library collections (see what is excluded).

UC Berkeley special collection and archives includes manuscripts, rare books, photographs, etc.

Select "Advanced Search".

UC Library Search Advanced Search button

 

Search scopes will appear, allowing you to focus on specific collections.  

UC Library Search Advanced Search filter menu search scopes

Articles, books, and more (most comprehensive) includes library collections from all 10 UC campuses.

UC Berkeley catalog includes almost all UC Berkeley library collections (see what is excluded).

WorldCat is a global catalog of library collections.

UC Berkeley special collection and archives includes manuscripts, rare books, photographs, etc.

 

Open the "any field" menu to search by keyword, author, title, subject, call number, or ISBN/ISSN.

UC Library Search Advanced Search filter menu search fields

Open the "contains" menu and select:

  • Contains for results including all of your search words in any order.
  • Is (exact) for results including all of your search words in your specified order.
  • Starts with (title searches only) for results including titles beginning with all search words in your specified order. 

Scan your search results. For each item, note its:

  • Format (ex: book, article, video, etc.): Indicated by the Image on the left and the text above the title.
  • Location: Either online or in a physical library.
  • Peer-review status (for articles only).

UC Library Search item results

 

Click on a title for more information about the item and how to access it. See Access Items to learn more.

 

See Manage Results if you want to save searches and/or items.   

Sort results by relevance (default), newest, oldest, title, or author. Refine results by using filters. UC Library Search "Show Only" Filters

 

Using filters  

Manage a single filter by hovering over it. You can: 

  • Include it  include facet icon.
  • Exclude it  exclude facet icon.
  • Make it persistent lock icon.

Manage multiple filters in the Use the Active Filter area (top left column). You can:

  • Remove a persistent filter lock icon.
  • Make all current filters persistent (click "Remember all Filters").
  • Reset all filters (click "Reset Filters").

 

Adding filters

Adding:

  • Multiple filters at the same time will retrieve items for either filter.  (Ex: Adding Agriculture and Botany will find items about either Agriculture or Botany.)
  • Filter(s) after retrieving search results will retrieve items matching all filters. (Ex:  Doing a search and adding the filter for Botany, looking at search results, and then adding another filter for Agriculture, will only retrieve items matching both Agriculture and Botany.)

 

Click on a title for more information about the item and how to access it. See Access Items to learn more.

 

See Manage Results if you want to save searches and/or items.