Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

UC Berkeley’s library buildings are open! Learn more.

College Writing 161: Writing in the Biological Sciences: Find articles

Guide to finding, reading, evaluating, saving and organizing different types of writing in the biological sciences.

Databases

Databases consist of records that describe the contents of resources such as scientific journal articles, reports, conference proceedings, book chapters, newspaper or magazine articles, and other resources. Some databases include the full text of some or all of the included resources, but many only contain information about the resources such as title, author(s), source or publisher, volume and issue, page numbers, abstracts or summaries, keywords or descriptors, and links. Using in a database enables you to search across all of its records with one search.

Subject focus: A database can be focussed on a particular subject area (e.g., PubMed for biomedical journal articles) or cover many disciplines (e.g., Web of Science for the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities). A database may focus on one resource type (e.g., Dissertations and Theses; Access World News) or may include many different resource types (e.g., Academic Search Complete).

To find relevant information on a topic you may need to use more than one database. Click on the link below to see a list of databases with descriptions:

Search engines

Search engines and discovery services:

  • don't contain their own records, but can search across the records from different information sources such as websites, databases and/or catalogs
  • often have broad coverage and can be used to find information on any topic from different resource types
  • are not as focussed as subject databases and don't always have similar functionality

Examples of search engines and discovery services:

For more help

Profile Photo
Elliott Smith
Contact:
Bioscience, Natural Resources &
Public Health Library
esmith@library.berkeley.edu