Focusing predominantly on Atlanta, Chicago, New York, and towns and cities in North Carolina this collection presents multiple aspects of the African American community.
Includes pamphlets, newspapers and periodicals, correspondence, official records and in-depth oral histories, which reveal the prevalent challenges of racism, discrimination and integration, and a unique African American culture and identity. Also featured is a rich selection of visual material, including photographs, maps and ephemera.
African American Historical Newspapers provides researchers with unprecedented access to perspectives and information that was excluded or marginalized in mainstream sources. Use this link to search across a range of newspapers significant to African American history.
Access includes: Atlanta Daily World (1931 - 2010), The Baltimore Afro-American (1893 - 2010), Chicago Defender (1909 - 2010), Cleveland Call and Post (1934 - 2010), Los Angeles Sentinel (1934 - 2010), Louisville Defender (1951 - 2010), Michigan Chronicle (1939 - 2010), New York Amsterdam News (1922 - 2010), Norfolk Journal and Guide (1916 - 2010), The Philadelphia Tribune (1912 - 2010), (Pittsburgh Courier (1911 - 2010) .
Black Thought and Culture contains approximately 100,000 pages of nonfiction writings by major American black leaders—teachers, artists, politicians, religious leaders, athletes, veterans, entertainers, and others—covering 250 years of history.
In addition to the most familiar works, Black Thought and Culture presents a great deal of previously inaccessible material, including letters, speeches, prefatory essays, political leaflets, interviews, periodicals, and trail transcripts. The ideas of nearly 100 people present an evolving and complex view of what it is to be black in America. The collection includes the words of hundreds of notable people. Important items include: a full run of The Black Panther newspaper; 2,500 pages of exclusive Black Panther oral histories owned by the Dr. Huey P. Newton Foundation; and the full run of Artist and Influence, originally published by the Hatch-Billops Collection. Includes brief biographical information for all authors.
Full text scholarly encyclopedia of African American history covering the transition from the Reconstruction Era to the age of Jim Crow, the Harlem Renaissance, the Civil Rights Movement up through the election of Barack Obama. (From the Colonial Period to the Age of Frederick Douglass)
"Contains approximately 1,200 references covering the transition from the Reconstruction Era to the age of Jim Crow, the Harlem Renaissance, the Civil Rights Movement up through the election of Barack Obama. This resource is part of Oxford African American Studies Center (OAASC)."
Index of over 200 ethnic, minority, and native press publications, including news, culture, and history topics. Searchable in English and Spanish. (ENWALL) [1960 - present]
Also includes a retrospective backfile of titles (1960-1989).
Current content from international scholarly and popular periodicals in Black Studies. [1902-present]
Covers a wide array of humanities-related disciplines including art, cultural criticism, economics, education, health, history, language and literature, law, philosophy, politics, religion, and sociology, among others.
"Battling Over Birth: Black Women and the Maternal Health Care Crisis reveals hard truths- powerful findings on the role of racism, coercion, inadequate prenatal care, the pressures undermining breastfeeding and the lack of access to alternatives to a broken maternal health-care system as key threads of black women's birth experiences." Black Women Birthing Justice is a collective of African-American, African, Caribbean and multiracial women who are committed to transforming birthing experiences for black women and transfolks.
An in-depth look at Black food and the challenges it faces today. For Black Americans, the food system is broken. When it comes to nutrition, Black consumers experience an unjust and inequitable distribution of resources. Black Food Matters examines these issues through in-depth essays that analyze how Blackness is contested through food, differing ideas of what makes our sustenance "healthy," and Black individuals' own beliefs about what their cuisine should be.
Intended as a resource for public health professionals and others committed to improving the reproductive and sexual health outcomes for Black women in America, this book takes a holistic look at the many facets of the reproductive health and sexuality of Black women by providing the readers with a life course perspective as well as a historical context.
This book aims to advance health equity by providing a critical examination of selected factors that create, perpetuate, and exacerbate imbalances concerning unique experiences of African Americans in the United States.
Her name was Henrietta Lacks, but scientists know her as HeLa. She was a poor Southern tobacco farmer who worked the same land as her slave ancestors, yet her cells--taken without her knowledge--became one of the most important tools in medicine: The first "immortal" human cells grown in culture, which are still alive today, though she has been dead for more than sixty years.
In America, we teach that strength means holding back tears and shaming your own feelings. In the Black community, these pressures are especially poignant. Poor mental health outcomes-- including diagnoses of depression and anxiety, reliance on prescription drugs, and suicide-have skyrocketed in the past decade. In this book, actor Courtney B. Vance seeks to change this trajectory.
In It's Always Been Ours eating disorder specialist and storyteller Jessica Wilson challenges us to rethink what having a "good" body means in contemporary society. By centering the bodies of Black women in her cultural discussions of body image, food, health, and wellness, Wilson argues that we can interrogate white supremacy's hold on us and reimagine the ways we think about, discuss, and tend to our bodies.
The uplifting story of a young Black scientist's challenging journey to flourish outside the traditional confines of academia, inspired by her innate connection to nature's most misunderstood animal-the shark.
A seminal work that expands how we talk about the natural world and the environment as National Book Critics Circle Criticism finalist Camille T. Dungy diversifies her garden to reflect her heritage. In Soil: The Story of a Black Mother's Garden, poet and scholar Camille T. Dungy recounts the seven-year odyssey to diversify her garden in the predominately white community of Fort Collins, Colorado.
Black women physicians' stories have gone untold for far too long, leaving gaping holes in American medical history, in women's history, and in black history. It's time to set the record straight. No real account of black women physicians in the US exists, and what little mention is made of these women in existing histories is often insubstantial or altogether incorrect. In this work of extensive research, Jasmine Brown offers a rich new perspective, penning the long-erased stories of nine pioneering black women physicians beginning in 1860, when a black woman first entered medical school.
How a coalition of Black health professions schools made health equity a national issue. Racism in the US health care system has been deliberately undermining Black health care professionals and exacerbating health disparities among Black Americans for centuries. These health disparities only became a mainstream issue on the agenda of US health leaders and policy makers because a group of health professions schools at Historically Black Colleges and Universities banded together to fight for health equity. We'll Fight It Out Here tells the story of how the Association of Minority Health Professions Schools (AMHPS) was founded by this coalition and the hard-won influence it built in American politics and health care.
Battling over Birth by 
Black Food Matters by 
The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks by 
The Invisible Ache by 
It's Always Been Ours by 
Sharks Don't Sink by 
Soil by 
Twice As Hard by 
We'll Fight It Out Here by