Library Guides: Historical Primary Sources: Middle East & North Africa: Journals & Magazines

Magazines

The Arab Bulletin: Bulletin of the Arab Bureau in Cairo, 1916-1919
Founded on the initiative of T. E. Lawrence to provide "a secret magazine of Middle East politics."

Digitization Project Translatio
A growing collection of Arabic, Persian, and Ottoman-Turkish periodicals from the "saddle period" of the Middle East and Asia (1860-1945).
Hakkı Tarık Us Collection
A digital archive of Ottoman periodicals, included in the Hakkı Tarık Us Collection, which is currently kept at the Beyazıt State Library in Istanbul.

La Nation Arabe 1930-1938
A virtually complete set of this influential journal of Arab political opinion.
Neglected Arabia / Arabia Calling 1892-1962
The complete run of the journal of the Arabian Mission of the Reformed Church in America. It is a mirror of social, medical, and educational development in the Gulf States.

NoorMags This link opens in a new window
One of the largest specialized databases in Islamic Studies and Humanities . It provides full text access to more than 1300 magazines for over a million articles in mainly Persian, with some Arabic and English languages. [1900 to Present].
Note: If you have trouble accessing this site, please try an alternative browser. Chrome has occasionally had access issues with this site.
Mainly Persian, with some Arabic and English languages.

Periodical collection of the al-Aqsa Mosque Library (1874-1955)
13 newspapers and 11 magazines published mainly in Palestine, but also in Syria and Turkey, between 1874 and 1955.