Explores the history of Persia (Iran), Central Asia and Afghanistan from the decline of the Silk Road in the first half of the nineteenth century to the establishment of Soviet rule over parts of the region in the early 1920s.
This resource is comprised of correspondence, intelligence reports, agents’ diaries, minutes, maps, newspaper excerpts and other materials from the FO 65, FO 106, FO 371 and FO 539 series at the UK National Archives.
Full-text of reports, dispatches, correspondence, political summaries, economic analyses, and maps from the United Kingdom's Colonial, Dominion and Foreign Offices relating to Africa, the Americas, and the Middle East. [1834 - 1966]
From coastal trading in the early nineteenth century, through the Conference of Berlin of 1884 and the subsequent Scramble for Africa, to the abuses of the Congo Free State, fights against tropical disease, Italy's defeat by the Abyssinians, World War II, apartheid in South Africa and colonial moves towards independence, the documents in this resource cover the whole of the modern period of European colonization of the continent. The resource also includes a gallery of maps. Part of a larger series of documents issued by the British Government. This collection originated out of a need to preserve the most important papers generated by the Foreign and Colonial Offices. These documents range from single-page letters or telegrams to comprehensive dispatches, investigative reports and texts of treaties. All items marked Confidential Print were printed and circulated immediately to leading officials in the Foreign Office, to the Cabinet, and to heads of British missions abroad.
Digitized collection of The Confidential Print series, issued by the UK Foreign and Colonial Offices. This series covers the Middle East, c. 1839 to 1969, taking in the countries of the Arabian peninsula, the Levant, Iraq, Turkey and many of the former Ottoman lands in Europe, Iran, Afghanistan, Egypt and Sudan. [1812-1957]
Covers such events as the Egyptian reforms of Muhammad Ali Pasha in the nineteenth century, the Middle East Conference of 1921, the Mandates for Palestine and Mesopotamia and the Suez Crisis in 1956, to the partition of Palestine, post-Suez Western foreign policy and the Arab-Israeli conflict. This collection originated out of a need to preserve the most important papers generated by the Foreign and Colonial Offices. These documents range from single-page letters or telegrams to comprehensive dispatches, investigative reports and texts of treaties. All items marked "Confidential Print" were printed and circulated immediately to leading officials in the Foreign Office, to the Cabinet, and to heads of British missions abroad. These historical documents inform the volatile situation in the region today.
Includes British Government files on the Middle East covering 1971-1981.
Sourced from the British Foreign Office files located at the National Archives, UK, this resource will include complete runs of Foreign and Commonwealth Office files from the Arabian and Middle East Department (FCO 8), The Southern European Department (FCO 9), the Eastern Department (FCO 17), the North and East African Department (FCO 39) and the Near East and North Africa Department (FCO 93), and is augmented by selections from the Prime Minister’s Office files (PREM) and Defence Intelligence files (DEFE).
Contains the U.S. State Department Central Files for Africa and the Middle East, including diplomatic cables. [1960-1969]
This ProQuest History Vault module contains a range of declassified materials from U.S. diplomats in Africa and the Middle East. Materials include reports on political, military, and socio-economic matters, interviews and minutes of meetings with foreign government officials, important letters, instructions, and diplomatic cables sent and received by U.S. diplomatic personnel, and selected reports and translations from foreign journals and newspapers.
Call Number: Main (Gardner) Stacks DS42 .H78 and online
This collection of documents covers more than 400 years, from the early (1535) Ottoman-French treaty, through Napoleon's instructions to the French mission to Persia, and Treaties for suppressing Slave Traffic and Piracy, up to the modern period including the Sykes-Picot agreement for the partition of the Ottoman Empire, 1916 and a Soviet-Iranian exchange of notes in 1955.
British reports and commentary on local events within the territory of the present Saudi Arabia that illuminate the methods, policies, and diplomacy employed by Abdul Aziz in extending and then consolidating the Saudi state.