Historical Primary Sources: Middle East & North Africa: Byzantine Empire

Indexes over 2000 books, journals, dissertations, conference papers, and collections covering all aspects of greco-roman antiquity including literature, language, history, and archaeology. Corresponds to volumes 20 (1949) to 75 (2004), covering the journal and monographic literature of Classics: over 375,000 bibliographic records, plus brief abstracts. (annee philologique)

Over 27,000 articles which provide comprehensive coverage of the ancient world from the prehistory of the Aegean (2nd millennium BCE) to late antiquity (600-800 CE). The New Pauly Online combines English versions of 1) the Realencyclopadie der classischen Altertumswissenschaft, published in German in 68 volumes and 15 supplementary volumes between 1839 and 1980; 2) the abridged version of the Pauly, Der kleine Pauly, published in five volumes between 1964 and 1975; 3) Der neue Pauly, which was published in German in 15 volumes between 1996 and 2003.

The Census of Antique Works of Art and Architecture Known in the Renaissance is an image database of ancient works of art known during the Renaissance, along with information about them: authorship; conventional title; provenance; current and former locations; Renaissance texts discussing them; and some modern scholarship. It includes 10,000 ancient monuments, 20,000 references to Renaissance texts, and 30,000 photographs.

Covers Europe, the Middle East, and North Africa.

Includes a number of databases useful to the fields of classical, medieval, and Renaissance studies such as Iter Italicum, a catalog of Renaissance humanistic manuscripts found in libraries and collections around the world, International Directory of Scholars, International Directory of Renaissance and Reformation Associations and Institutes, and Scholars of Early Modern Studies (volume 34).

Electronic version of the 221 volumes of the first edition of Jacque-Paul Migne's Patrologia Latina (1844-1855 and 1862-1865). Patrologia Latina comprises the works of the Church Fathers from Tertullian in 200 AD to the death of Pope Innocent III in 1216.

POD offers the full contents of the ongoing Patrologia Orientalis series, which began in 1903 and, aside from serving as a core source for patristics, contains content relevant to hagiography, canon law, theology, liturgy, and history. Primary texts in original languages of Arabic, Armenian, Coptic, Ethiopian, Georgian, Greek, Latin, Slavonic, and Syriac are represented with side-by-side translation in English, French, Greek, and Latin. Translations may be searched in full-text, while primary texts are displayed as non-searchable images. In addition to an interface which allows browsable access to entire works, specific passages retrieved via search may be downloaded in PDF format.

Epic and lyric poetry; tragedy and comedy; history, travel, philosophy, and oratory; the great medical writers and mathematicians; those Church fathers who made particular use of pagan culture -- in short, our entire classical heritage is represented here in convenient and well-printed pocket volumes in which an up-to-date text and accurate and literate English translation face each other page by page. The editors provide substantive introductions as well as essential critical and explanatory notes and selective bibliographies.

Online encyclopedia with 6000+ entries on all aspects of the ancient world and classical antiquity. Includes a brief but up-to-date bibliography, a list of authors and the titles of their works, as well as of collections of inscriptions and papyri.

Access to a number of dictionaries published by Oxford University Press on the topic of classical literature and civilization. Search sources collectively or search within an individual title. Titles include: The Oxford Companion to Classical Civilization, The Concise Oxford Companion to Classical Literature, Who's Who in the Classical World, The Pocket Oxford Latin Dictionary (English-Latin, The Pocket Oxford Latin Dictionary (Latin-English).