High School Ethnic Studies Initiative Library Guide

An overview of the history of the Third World Liberation Front at UC Berkeley through archives.

A curated collection of digital documents which have contributed to the shaping of African American history. These documents are a starting point for additional research and discussions that help further our understanding of the history of people of African ancestry in the United States.

California Revealed assists in digitizing California-related history from a wide range of historical institutions.

Calisphere is your gateway to digital collections from California's great libraries, archives, and museums. It includes incredible digital photographs, manuscripts, and audiovisual materials from a wide range of repositories and institutions from academic archives to local historical societies.

Chronicling America (ISSN 2475-2703) is a Website providing access to information about historic newspapers and select digitized newspaper pages, and is produced by the National Digital Newspaper Program (NDNP). NDNP, a partnership between the National Endowment for the Humanities (NEH) and the Library of Congress (LC), is a long-term effort to develop an Internet-based, searchable database of U.S. newspapers with descriptive information and select digitization of historic pages.

The sites mentioned within the link showcase content in Chronicling America and provide examples of reusing digitized historic newspapers and associated metadata records in unique ways. Some utilize data mining techniques, harvesting, or individual newspaper pages

The Densho Archives contain primary sources that document the Japanese American experience from immigration in the early 1900s through redress in the 1980s, with a strong focus on World War II incarceration. The archives are growing as Densho continues to collect oral histories, images, and records. Densho also provides an encyclopedia of individuals, terminology and definitions, as well as teaching resources.

Documenting the Now develops open source tools and community-centered practices that support the ethical collection, use, and preservation of publicly available content shared on web and social media.

FoundSF is a participatory website (based on the same software as wikipedia) inviting historians, writers, activists, and curious San Francisco citizens of all kinds to share their unique stories, images, and videos from past and present. There are over 1,900 screens here presenting primary sources, essays, images, and videos... and we invite you to add to it from your own life or that of your ancestors.

The Freedom Archives contains over 12,000 hours of audio and video recordings as well as print materials dating primarily from the late-1960s to the mid-90s. These collections chronicle the progressive history of the Bay Area, the United States, and international movements for liberation and social justice.

Explore the GLBT Historical Society's online resources including digital archives, primary source sets, online exhibitions, and research guides.

Founded in 2008, HathiTrust is a not-for-profit collaborative of academic and research libraries preserving 17+ million digitized items. HathiTrust offers reading access to the fullest extent allowable by U.S. copyright law, computational access to the entire corpus for scholarly research, and other emerging services based on the combined collection. HathiTrust members steward the collection — the largest set of digitized books managed by academic and research libraries — under the aims of scholarly, not corporate, interests. Hathitrust Digital Library is a great place to search for government or academic historical publications.

Reveal Digital develops Open Access primary source collections from under-represented 20th-century voices of dissent, crowdfunded by libraries. The content is curated and sourced from a wide array of libraries, museums, historical societies and individual collectors. The results are diverse thematic collections of scholarly value available to everyone everywhere.

SAADA creates a more inclusive society by giving voice to South Asian Americans through documenting, preserving, and sharing stories that represent their unique and diverse experiences. Check out their resources pages which include resources for educators.

Featuring archival materials from our world-renowned collections, Teaching with the Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture's Archives is a curriculum series that draws on unique primary sources to help educators in teaching Black history, experience, and culture. Explore curriculum guides on topics such as Black Power and Slavery and Abolition.

Digital Collections provides online access to UC Berkeley Library’s rare and unique digitized special collections, books, manuscripts, images, photographs, newspapers, and more. Learn about the Digital Collections portal and browse the collections.

The Welga Project was originally founded to promote Filipino American labor history, specifically the history of Filipino American involvement with the UFW movement and the Delano Grape Strikes. After conducting oral history interviews and collecting archival collections, we realized that labor history greatly intertwined with activism history. As such, we are broadening the scope of content of the WPDAR to include collections focusing on Filipino American political and social activism.