High School Ethnic Studies Initiative Library Guide

The Anti-Eviction Mapping Project is a data-visualization, critical cartography, and multimedia storytelling collective documenting dispossession and resistance upon gentrifying landscapes. Primarily working in the San Francisco Bay Area, Los Angeles, and New York City, we are all volunteers producing digital maps, software and tools, narrative multimedia work, murals, reports, and community events. Working with a number of community partners and in solidarity with housing movements globally, we study and visualize entanglements of racial capitalism, technocapitalism, and political economy, while providing tools for resistance. Our narrative oral history and video work centers the displacement of people and complex social worlds, but also modes of resistance. Maintaining antiracist and feminist analyses as well as decolonial methodology, the project creates tools and disseminates data contributing to collective resistance and movement building.

During World War II, more than 125,000 individuals of Japanese ancestry living in the continental U.S. or Hawai`i were held without trial in a complex network of detention sites throughout the U.S. Over half of those imprisoned were U.S. citizens. Over 2,000 Japanese Latin Americans were also involuntarily brought to the U.S. and held in detention camps. Forty years later, the U.S. government determined that the incarceration was wrong and President Ronald Reagan signed the Civil Liberties Act of 1988. While many of the physical sites have faded into the landscape, their history serves as a reminder of the fragility of our democracy.

HistoryPin connects communities with local histories. Explore maps created by local contributors or explore how to incorporate mapping with HistoryPin with your students.

A joint project of the National Native American Boarding School Healing Coalition and the National Centre for Truth and Reconciliation.

This project produces and displays free interactive maps showing the historical geography of dozens of social movements that have influenced American life and politics since the late 19th century, including radical movements, civil rights movements, labor movements, women's movements, and more. Until now historians and social scientists have mostly studied social movements in isolation and often with little attention to geography. This project allows us to see where social movements were active and where not, helping us better understand patterns of influence and endurance. It exposes new dimensions of American political geography, showing how locales that in one era fostered certain kinds of social movements often changed political colors over time.

Mapping Inequality brings one of the country's most important archives to the public. The Home Owners' Loan Corporation documents contain a wealth of information about how government officials, lenders, and real estate interests surveyed and ensured the economic health of American cities. And with the help of ongoing research, we continue to learn at what cost such measures were realized.

"Law enforcement agencies and the government fail to provide accurate numbers on the number of lives taken at the hands of police. While there have been efforts by the government to document the number of police killings such as the USA National Vital Statistics System (NVSS) or a recent FBI program which has failed to deliver results (as of 2021), there is still no way to understand the scope of police violence. We believe the data represented in Mapping Police Violence is the most comprehensive accounting of people killed by police since 2013."

Explore local indigenous territories, languages and treaties using this resource. Native Land Digital is a Canadian not-for-profit organization, incorporated in December 2018. Native Land Digital is Indigenous-led, with an Indigenous Executive Director and majority Indigenous Board of Directors who oversee and direct the organization. Numerous non-Indigenous people also contribute as members of our Advisory Council. The Board of Directors govern finances, set priorities, and appoint staff members as required.

OpenStreetMap emphasizes local knowledge. Contributors use aerial imagery, GPS devices, and low-tech field maps to verify that OSM is accurate and up to date.

The African American Museum and Library at Oakland is dedicated to the discovery, preservation, interpretation, and sharing of historical and cultural experiences of African Americans in California and the West for present and future generations.

Angel Island Immigration Station's curriculum guides, called "Immigrant Journeys," provide strategies and background material designed for teachers of Grades 3-12. These guides contain lessons, student worksheets, primary source documents from the National Archives, historical photographs, and list of resources to introduce students to the experience of immigrants on Angel Island.

California Historical Landmarks (CHLs) are buildings, structures, sites, or places that have been determined to have statewide historical significance.

The California Historical Society maintains three primary online collections: the Online Catalog containing basic descriptive records for manuscripts and photographic collections; books and pamphlets; periodicals, posters, broadsides, maps, and newspapers; and other materials; the Digital Library, containing digitized primary sources such as photographs, maps, and ephemera; and the Online Archive of California, containing detailed guides to manuscript and photography collections; digital images; digitized oral histories.

This website was created by the California Indian Museum and Cultural Center. It seeks to present Native points-of-view on the history and impact of each of California's twenty-one Missions on California tribes for California K-12 students, teachers, and the general public.

California Revealed supports digitization of California-related history from a wide range of historical institutions and makes them available on the Internet Archive.

List of California state parks and museums that serve as centers for learning the history, practices and beliefs of California's Indian peoples.

Digital exhibit from the California Railroad Museum. "The Chinese rail workers were vital to the completion of the Transcontinental Railroad and more than 10,000 Chinese men were hired to build a railroad over the difficult terrain of the Sierra Nevada. Explore the history of the difficult and dangerous work these men completed, as well as the discriminiation and racism the Chinese faced in California since the time of the Gold Rush."

A collection of map layers and links exploring California's Native American history and communities.

Coming in 2025! The Multimedia Textbook on Asian Americans and Pacific Islanders will provide the most comprehensive history of Asian Americans and Pacific Islanders with embedded curricula for high school, college and lifelong learners available free online. It combines distinguished scholarship, open-access technology, and ethnic studies pedagogy to deepen public knowledge about who we are and bring Asian American and Pacific Islander (AAPI) stories into every classroom. By making our experiences visible, we generate historical empathy and redefine the American narrative towards a more equal, just and inclusive democracy.

The Images of America series publishes visually engaging local histories written by local historians and containing images and stories gathered from community members, local, and state archives.

Interactive site created by the California State Library that allows users to place themselves in the shoes of Japanese Americans in California as they navigate internment and incarceration.

Explore archives in your local area by browsing the Online Archive of California map.