Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

You can still access the UC Berkeley Library’s services and resources during the closure. Here’s how.

MCB 32L: Introduction to Human Physiology Laboratory: Journal articles

Finding articles

Some leading physiology journals to browse or search

Review articles on specific physiological systems and mechanisms:

Primary research articles and review articles:

 

An article database for searching many journals

PubMed logo

UC Berkeley faculty, staff, students, and campus visitors should use the UC Berkeley-specific instance of PubMed by accessing PubMed from links on library website pages (including this page). The UC-eLinks icon to access full text will be displayed on every article record:

PubMed search tips

  • Physiological systems: Search on the system name or any variations. To retrieve the most comprehensive set of results, combine the terms with OR (retrieves articles including either term):
    Example: (adaptive OR acquired) immune system
  • Desired aspects: Combine desired aspect such as dysregulation or vaccine response using AND (retrieves articles including both terms):
    Example: (adaptive OR acquired) immune system AND vaccine response
  • Subjects: Limit to human research subjects by adding AND human.
    Example: (adaptive OR acquired) immune system AND vaccine response AND human 
    Note: Adding AND human may retrieve some articles using animal research subjects if variations on the word "human" or "humans" occurs in the title or abstract. Be sure to read the article carefully to determine if human subjects were involved.
  • Review articles: Filter results to see only literature reviews by selecting Review under Article Type in the left-hand menu.
    Note: Applying a filter for article type may not retrieve some recent articles that have not yet been fully indexed.
  • Date range: Filter results to see only articles from a specific range of past years by selecting 1, 5, or 10 years under Publication Date in the left-hand menu.

PubMed search tips in a downloadable PDF format:

Handout for Advanced PubMed workshop:

Getting full text

Getting the Full Text of Articles

PubMed contains citations to resources, but doesn't include the full text of articles.

To get to the full text of an article from PubMed click on the article's title, and then on the UC-eLinks button at the top right of the article page.
Note: To access the library's UC-eLinks service and subscription journals from off-campus you must use EZProxy or the VPN. See Connect from off-campus for more information.

One of the following three things should happen:

  • You may be taken directly to the article, usually on the journal or publisher website. There you can read the article or book chapter as an HTML page in a web browser, or click a link to download a PDF of the article.
  • Sometimes you may be taken to the home page of the journal. There you can browse for the year and issue of the journal that contains the article by clicking on an All issues, Previous issues, Archive, or similar link.
  • You may be taken to the UC-eLinks menu:

Click on the Get It Online link to access the full text if it is available.

To see if we have online access to a specific life sciences journal, you can search UC Berkeley's eJournals by the title of the journal (not the title of the article!).

Your librarian

Elliott Smith's picture
Elliott Smith
Contact:
Bioscience, Natural Resources &
Public Health Library
esmith@library.berkeley.edu