MCB 32L: Introduction to Human Physiology Laboratory: Journal articles

Some leading physiology journals to browse or search

Review articles on specific physiological systems and mechanisms:

• Physiological Reviews
• Annual Review of Physiology
• Comprehensive Physiology

Primary research articles and review articles:

• Acta Physiologica
• Journal of Physiology
• American Physiological Society journals:
  • Cell Physiology
  • Endocrinology and Metabolism
  • Gastrointestinal and Liver Physiology
  • Heart and Circulatory Physiology
  • Lung Cellular and Molecular Physiology
  • Physiology (Note: some articles from the past year may not be available)
  • Regulatory, Integrative and Comparative Physiology
  • Renal Physiology

An article database for searching many journals

UC Berkeley faculty, staff, students, and campus visitors should use the UC Berkeley-specific instance of PubMed by accessing PubMed from links on library website pages (including this page). To access full text click the button included in every article record.

PubMed search tips

• Physiological systems: Search on the system name or any variations. To retrieve the most comprehensive set of results, combine the terms with OR (retrieves articles including either term):
  Example: (adaptive OR acquired) immune system
• Desired aspects: Combine desired aspect such as dysregulation or vaccine response using AND (retrieves articles including both terms):
  Example: (adaptive OR acquired) immune system AND vaccine response
• Subjects: Limit to human research subjects by adding AND human.
  Example: (adaptive OR acquired) immune system AND vaccine response AND human 
  Note: Adding AND human may retrieve some articles using animal research subjects if variations on the word "human" or "humans" occurs in the title or abstract. Be sure to read the article carefully to determine if human subjects were involved.
• Review articles: Filter results to see only literature reviews by selecting Review under Article Type in the left-hand menu.
  Note: Applying a filter for article type may not retrieve some recent articles that have not yet been fully indexed.
• Date range: Filter results to see only articles from a specific range of past years by selecting 1, 5, or 10 years under Publication Date in the left-hand menu.

PubMed search tips in a downloadable PDF format:

Handout for Advanced PubMed workshop:

Getting the Full Text of Articles

PubMed contains citations to resources, but doesn't include the full text of articles.

To get to the full text of an article from PubMed click on the article's title, and then on the button at the top right of the article page.

• Note: To access subscription journals from off-campus you can use the Library proxy or the VPN. See Connect from off-campus for more information.

After clicking the Get it at UC button you will be taken to a menu in UC Library Search from which you can select a link to view the article online:


 

If there are multiple links available, we recommend first choosing the journal publisher link, if present, from the alphabetical list:

If a journal publisher or platform link (such as SpringerLink, Elsevier ScienceDirect, or Wiley Online Library) isn't present or doesn't take you to the full text, try other links.

After clicking on the link, the following may happen:

• You may be taken directly to the article, usually on the journal or publisher website. There you can read the article or book chapter as an HTML page in a web browser, or click a link to download a PDF of the article.
• Sometimes you may be taken to the home page of the journal. There you can browse for the year and issue of the journal that contains the article by clicking on an All issues, Previous issues, Archive, or similar link.
• If the link doesn't take you directly to the article, it's worth trying another link, if available.

If you are blocked from access to a specific life sciences journal article please contact Elliott Smith (see the For more help box).