Alumni Guide: Library Resources for Public Health Lifelong Learning, Research, Productivity & More: Evidence Based Practice

Find rapid evidence-based answers to clinical questions.

A website that houses the official collection of all Community Preventive Services Task Force findings and the systematic reviews on which they are based regarding community health and well-being.

Systematic and non-systematic reviews of effectiveness in health promotion and public health worldwide

Provides quality-rated systematic reviews evaluating the effectiveness of public health interventions.

Methodologically sound studies from top journals in a browsable, searchable database

Search the biomedical literature with special filters for specific clinical study categories and scope, systematic reviews, and medical genetics.

Information regarding evidence-based practices relevant to child welfare. Evidence-based practices are those that have empirical research supporting their efficacy. This information is provided in simple straightforward formats reducing the user's need to conduct literature searches, review extensive literature, or understand and critique research methodology.

CBBP is a compendium of community interventions related to chronic disease prevention and health promotion that have been evaluated, shown to be successful, and have the potential to be adapted and replicated by other health practitioners working in similar fields.
Search for either Interventions/Best Practices, Resources, or by Topic or Policy Issues.

This website is designed to support High Impact Prevention (HIP) - using interventions with demonstrated potential to reduce new infections to yield a major impact on the HIV epidemic.

Provides communities, clinicians, policy-makers and others in the field with the information and tools they need to incorporate evidence-based practices addressing mental health issues into their communities or clinical settings. The Resource Center contains a collection of scientifically-based resources, including Treatment Improvement Protocols, toolkits, resource guides, clinical practice guidelines, and more.

From Sudbury & District Health Unit, Ontario. The Health Unit conducted a review and analysis of the literature for practices to reduce social inequities in health. These practices are relevant at the local public health level and are "promising" in their potential to "level-up" and reduce health inequities. This web page lists each practice, provides examples of the practice in action, implementation tips, references to relevant literature, and useful links.

HEIA is a decision support tool which walks users through the steps of identifying how a program, policy or similar initiative will impact population groups in different ways. The end goal is to maximize positive impacts and reduce negative impacts that could potentially widen health disparities between population groups—in short, more equitable delivery of the program, service, policy etc.

Contains model practices in public health as practiced by city and county health officials nationally. Searchable database of successful programs in various areas, such as chronic disease, animal control, cultural competence, emergency preparedness, environmental health, informatics, organizational practices, water quality, and more.

Examples of programs and policies that have been shown to be effective in addressing specific health factors and focus areas.
Focus areas include health behaviors, clinical care, social and economic factors, and physical environment. Can also search by Decision Makers, eg government officials, employers, community leaders, educators, etc. Each intervention includes citations of evidence and implementation, as well as impact on health disparities.

Provides practical skill-building information on over 250 different topics. Topic sections include step-by-step instruction, examples, check-lists, and related resources. It has sections on leadership, strategic planning, community assessment, advocacy, grant writing, and evaluation, as well as Best Practices examples and evidence.

A searchable, online collection of methods (processes) and tools (instruments) for knowledge translation, economic evaluation, and more, in public health. Includes such resources as the Partnership Guide: practical tips, checklists, stories and strategies to help develop, sustain, and evaluate a partnership. From National Collaborating Centre for Methods and Tools (Canada)

EBCCP is a searchable database of evidence-based cancer control programs and is designed to provide program planners and public health practitioners easy and immediate access to program materials. Browsable by topics such as screening, diet/nutrition, genomics, physical activity, tobacco control, decision-making, and more.

From the Cancer Prevention and Control Research Network, information on defining and finding evidence-based interventions, selecting, adapting, and implementing interventions, evaluating, and logic models.

Will help you conduct an implementation research project through a standard process so that you have high quality results that are reliable. Can download entire site for offline use. From the Special Programme for Research and Training in Tropical Diseases (UNICEF, etc.)