It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Moffitt Library is opening Aug. 22. Other libraries will have updated services and hours. Learn more.
Most of the databases on the Search for Articles tab link to the full text of freely available online articles. Many of these are "Open Access."
Open access usually refers to scientific and scholarly research that is freely available online, and users may read, download, copy, distribute, print, search, or link to the full text of these articles, crawl them for indexing, pass them as data to software, or use them for any other lawful purpose, without financial, legal, or technical barriers. Not all journal articles that are freely available online are open access, however.
Try the below listed resources for online journal access. Several also include online books.
Research4Life enables low GNI (Gross National Income) countries to gain access to scientific literature. It is the collective name for four programs: HINARI (biomedical and health literature) AGORA (food, agriculture, environmental science and related social sciences literature) OARE (environmental science literature) GOALI (legal research & literature) ARDI (development, innovation, technical information literature)
A country's eligibility for Access to Research4Life is based on a its Gross National Income. Eligible institutions include universities and colleges, research institutes, professional schools, extension centers, government offices, local non-governmental organizations (NGOs), hospitals and national libraries. Your institution may also be eligible for document delivery of journal articles. Research4Life is available in English, Spanish, Portuguese, and French.
The JSTOR Access Initiative program provides free or reduced-fee access to more than 1,500 institutions in a number of nations. This is made possible through a combination of philanthropic support and the fees paid by libraries in other countries around the world, as well as publishers’ eagerness to support this work. It offers unlimited access to a collection of all of all archival journals and primary sources on JSTOR.
EAI is a partnership of the NLM, the National Network of Libraries of Medicine, and the Association of American Publishers and other publishers. EAI provides temporary free access to full text articles from major biomedicine titles to healthcare professionals, librarians, and the public affected by disasters. This site is active only when a disaster event is named and the access period specified.
Give us a scholarly paper and we’ll search thousands of sources with millions of articles to link you to free, legal, full text articles instantly. If we can’t get you access, we’ll start a request from authors, and guide them on making the work available to you and everyone who needs it. Use either the website, browser extensions or API.
Find open-access versions of paywalled research papers, instantly. Get free, legal fulltext of research papers as you browse. When you view a paywalled research article, Unpaywall automatically looks for a copy in an index of over 10 million free, legal fulltext PDFs. If we find one, click the green tab to read the article.