Library Guides: Environmental Health &amp; Toxicology: Find Articles

Core Public Health Article Databases

PubMed This link opens in a new window
Citations and abstracts in the fields of biomedicine and health, as well as portions of the life sciences, behavioral sciences, chemical sciences, and bioengineering.

PubMed includes MEDLINE, PubMed Central (PMC), other biomedical and life science journals, and the NCBI Bookshelf. PubMed also provides links to other NCBI molecular biology resources, including nucleotide sequences, protein sequences, 3-D protein structure data, population study data sets, and assemblies of complete genomes in an integrated system.
Note: The link above goes to a specially configured version of PubMed for UC Berkeley users that will display the Get It at UC button for full text article access. To use the free public version, please click here.
Embase This link opens in a new window
International index including over 2,000 journals not in Medline, as well as conference abstracts. Broad biomedical scope with strong coverage in drug, pharmaceutical, and toxicological research, including economic evaluations and healthcare policy & management.
Indexes journals, including many not in Medline, from over 90 countries, and indexes conference abstracts from many conferences. Broad biomedical scope with strong coverage in drug, pharmaceutical, and toxicological research including economic evaluation.
Agricultural & Environmental Science Database This link opens in a new window
Indexes journals, conference proceedings, reports, books, and government publications covering all areas of environmental science.
AES incorporates the formerly titled "Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management" database - which includes Environmental Impact Statements - plus the databases AGRICOLA (1970-current) and TOXLINE (1999-current).
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Indexes leading journals in the arts, humanities, sciences and social sciences. Allows cited reference searching.
Includes the Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1975-present), Science Citation Index Expanded (1900-present), Social Sciences Citation Index (1900-present), Conference Proceedings Citation Index (1990-present), Book Citation Index (2005-present), and Emerging Sources Citation Index (2005-present).
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Indexes journals, conference proceedings, trade publications, and book series in the sciences and more.
Contains over 50 million records with more than half the content originating from outside North America. Indexes over 21,000 journals, conference proceedings, trade publications, and book series in the sciences, technology, medicine, arts, and humanities.

Environmental Article Databases

Environment Complete This link opens in a new window
Citations to, plus some full text for, journal articles and books on a wide variety of environmental topics. [1888 - present]
Subjects include agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, environmental law, environmental technology, geography, marine & freshwater science, natural resources, pollution & waste management, public policy, renewable energy sources, social impacts, urban planning, and more. Contains millions of records from over 2,500 U.S. and international titles, plus full text of over 1,100 journals and nearly 200 monographs.
Agricultural & Environmental Science Database This link opens in a new window
Find citations for journals, conference proceedings, books, reports, and government publications in the agricultural and environmental sciences. [1960 - present].
AES incorporates the formerly titled "Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management" database - which includes Environmental Impact Statements - plus the databases AGRICOLA (1970-current) and TOXLINE (1999-current).
GreenFILE This link opens in a new window
Indexes scholarly, government, and general-interest titles about human impact on the environment.
Topics include global climate change, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more.
SafetyLit: Injury Prevention Literature Update & Archive Database This link opens in a new window
Weekly updates of injury research and prevention literature and a searchable archive of items published beginning in the mid-17th century.
This database provides abstracts of reports from researchers who work in the more than 30 professional disciplines relevant to preventing unintentional injuries, violence, and self-harm. Among these are anthropology, economics, education, engineering specialties, ergonomics and human factors, health and medicine, law and law enforcement, psychology, sociology, and other fields. SafetyLit staff and volunteers regularly hand-examine (issue by issue) more than 3400 current scholarly journals from many nations to find relevant material. This information is maintained in a searchable database that contains more than 225 thousand items. The database contains articles from 4405 journals that are not included in PubMed/Medline.
SciFinder This link opens in a new window
Search the world's most comprehensive source of references, substances, and reactions in chemistry and related sciences.
Note: Restricted to UC Berkeley students, faculty, and staff. Requires creation of a personal account from an @berkeley.edu email address.
Indexes over 9,000 journals, patents, conferences, books, technical reports and dissertations related to chemistry, chemical engineering, materials science and the biomedical sciences. Relates to the print equivalent Chemical Abstracts.

Environmental News

E & E Publishing
Includes:
ClimateWire - covers the debate over climate policy and its effects on business, the environment and society;
Environment & Energy Daily - keep up with federal policy;
GreenWire - covers environmental and energy action; and more.
Environmental Health News
EHN is an independent news organization that reports and publishes on environmental topics. EHN also offers a unique daily contextualization of articles on environmental health topics published in the world press. The search feature allows you to find articles on specific topics, such as environmental justice.
Environmental News Network
Features daily news on current environmental issues.

FERN's Ag Insider This link opens in a new window
Daily reporting on news and policy of food, agriculture, and the environment. [2014-Present] (Ag Insider)
Includes tag-based searchable archive.

Grist
Grist is a source of intelligent, irreverent environmental news and commentary. They cover climate, energy, food, cities, justice, politics, tech, and green living, and the innovative solutions bubbling up in each of those areas.

Researching Chemical Substances?

Use this Chemical Search Guide (docx) to find chemical and substance information for your chemical search. The guide includes links to resource suggestions for locating various aspects of your chemical or substance.

Pharos This link opens in a new window
Pharos provides hazard, use, and exposure information on chemicals and building products. NOTE: You must first register for an account using the link here and your Berkeley email address. Search by chemical name/CAS RN, or use (for example: flooring, solvent, etc.). Pharos also includes Hazard Lists (authoritative scientific lists for health and environmental hazards and restricted substance lists), as well as Common Products (common contents and hazards of different kinds of building products).
Search by chemical name/CAS RN, or use (for example: flooring, solvent, etc.). Pharos also includes Hazard Lists (authoritative scientific lists for health and environmental hazards and restricted substance lists), as well as Common Products (common contents and hazards of different kinds of building products).

Secondary menu

Environmental Health & Toxicology: Find Articles

Core Public Health Article Databases

Environmental Article Databases

Environmental News

Researching Chemical Substances?