The Built Environment and Public Health
The Built Environment and Public Health The Built Environment and Public Health explores the impact on our health of the environments we build for ourselves, and how public health and urban planning can work together to build settings that that promote healthy living. This comprehensive text covers origins and foundations of the built environment as a public health focus and its joint history with urban planning, transportation and land use, infrastructure and natural disasters, assessment tools, indoor air quality, water quality, food security, health disparities, mental health, social capital, and environmental justice. The Built Environment and Public Health explores such timely issues as: Basics of the built environment and evidence for its influences How urban planning and public health intersect How infrastructure improvements can address chronic diseases and conditions Meeting the challenges of natural disasters Policies to promote walking and mass transit Approaches to assess and improve air quality and our water supply Policies that improve food security and change how Americans get their food How the built environment can address needs of vulnerable populations Evidence-based design practices for hospitals and health care facilities Mental health, stressors, and health care environments Theories and programs to improve social capital of low-income communities How the built environment addresses issues of health equity and environmental justice This important textbook and resource includes chapter learning objectives, summaries, questions for discussion, and listings of key terms. Companion Web site: www.josseybass.com/go/lopez
Clay's Handbook of Environmental Health by
Since its first publication in 1933, Clay's Handbook of Environmental Health (under its different names) has provided a definitive guide for the environmental health practitioner (EHP), and an essential reference for the consultant and student. This 22nd edition continues with its more recent successful structure, reviewing the core principles, techniques, competencies and skills required of an EHP, and then outlining the specialist subjects without getting bogged down in a legalistic approach, seeking to broaden the content for a more global audience. This new edition seeks to educate the EHP on the public health impacts of global heating and the climate emergency and also reflects the COVID-19 pandemic, as might be expected. Although seeking to have global appeal, the impact of the UK leaving the EU is also addressed. The book examines environmental health in different settings, including in the military, working in both conflict and natural disaster settings, and environmental health at sea and airports. In line with previous editions, case studies are used to illustrate how EH problems have been resolved. This new edition includes guidance on key issues in public and environmental health including air pollution, contaminated land, housing and health, noise, water, food safety, pests and vector control, chemicals in the environment and radiation, as well as sustainability and public health and humanitarian crises. This handbook aims to give a basic understanding of the philosophical basis of environmental health, as well as the required technical aspects and an understanding of environmental health in different settings. All chapters have sections on further reading and sources of information. Clay's Handbook is essential reading for all practitioners, students and researchers in environmental and public health wherever they are working.
Environmental Policy and Public Health
As with the first edition, this second edition describes how environmental health policies are developed, the statutes and other policies that have evolved to address public health concerns associated with specific environmental hazards, and the public health foundations of the policies. It lays out policies for what is considered the major environmental physical hazards to human health. Specifically, the authors describe hazards from air, water, food, hazardous substances, and wastes. To this list the authors have added the additional concerns from climate change, tobacco products, genetically-modified organisms, environment-related diseases, energy production, biodiversity and species endangerment, and the built environment. And as with the first edition, histories of policymaking for specific environmental hazards are portrayed. This edition differs from its antecedent in three significant themes. Global perspectives are added to chapters that describe specific environmental hazards, e.g., air pollution policies in China and India. Also there is the material on the consequences of environmental hazards on both human and ecosystem health. Additionally readers are provided with information about interventions that policymakers and individuals can consider in mitigating or preventing specific environmental hazards.
Global Climate Change and Public Health
Pulmonary physicians and scientists currently have minimal capacity to respond to climate change and its impacts on health. The extent to which climate change influences the prevalence and incidence of respiratory morbidity remains largely undefined. However, evidence is increasing that climate change does drive respiratory disease onset and exacerbation as a result of increased ambient and indoor air pollution, desertification, heat stress, wildfires, and the geographic and temporal spread of pollens, molds and infectious agents. Preliminary research has revealed climate change to have potentially direct and indirect adverse impacts on respiratory health. Published studies have linked climate change to increases in respiratory disease, including the following: changing pollen releases impacting asthma and allergic rhinitis, heat waves causing critical care-related diseases, climate driven air pollution increases, exacerbating asthma and COPD, desertification increasing particulate matter (PM) exposures, and climate related changes in food and water security impacting infectious respiratory disease through malnutrition (pneumonia, upper respiratory infections). High level ozone and ozone exposure has been linked to idiopathic pulmonary fibrosis, lung cancer, and acute lower respiratory infection. Global Climate Change and Public Health is an important new volume based on the research, findings, and discussions of US and international experts on respiratory health and climate change. This volume addresses issues of major importance to respiratory health and fills a major gap in the current literature. The ATS Climate Change and Respiratory Health Workshop was held in New Orleans, Louisiana, on May 15, 2010. The purpose of the meeting was to address the threat to global respiratory health posed by climate change. The workshop was attended by domestic and international experts as well as representatives of international respiratory societies and key US federal agencies. Dr. Pinkerton and Dr. Rom, the editors of this title, were co-chairs of the Climate Change Workshop and Symposium.
New Trends in Emerging Environmental Contaminants
This book provides a recent understanding for the fate, transport, and degradation of emerging contaminants in different environmental sectors, including water, air, and soil. The contents discuss the fate and transport of microplastics, PPCPs, along with the method of detection and degradation. It includes removal of variety of pollutants including microplastics, pharmaceuticals, and personal care products from the water using adsorption technique, electrooxidation, membrane technology and other advance oxidation methods.
Oxford Research Encyclopedia of Environmental Science by
Articles by leading scientists, researchers, and experts. The origins, traditions, controversies, advancements and methodologies of the science are augmented with a digital online format. A reader can access articles for perspective on topical areas within and across the science that are regularly updated, and linked to associated topics, themes, and resources.
Tackling Health Inequalities: Reinventing the Role of Environmental Health
Although environmental health has received some recognition as a field which can positively impact on the social determinants of health, it remains little known outside its immediate sphere of influence. There is also limited literature available to support the potential impact of the profession in public health policy circles, and there has been an overreliance on anecdotal rather than firm evidence.
This book presents the findings of an empirical research project focussed on public health policymaking (English Health and Wellbeing Boards), health inequalities and environmental health and provides an insight to the environmental health profession and routes of impact and influence. It discusses environmental health in the context of public health, the role of the profession, issues of visibility and opportunities for impact in today’s policy landscape. In particular, a focus on the local government context is timely given the shifting of the public health function from the National Health Service to local authorities. This book is essential reading for students, practitioners and policymakers in the fields of environmental health and public health.
Utilizing Innovative Technologies to Address the Public Health Impact of Climate Change
Climate change impacts the wellbeing of societies across the entire globe. By utilizing innovative technologies, public health can be better protected in the years to come. Utilizing Innovative Technologies to Address the Public Health Impact of Climate Change: Emerging Research and Opportunities presents an ambitious examination on the implementation of technology to mitigate and create resilience against the impacts of climate change. Highlighting a range of topics such as water management, vulnerable populations, and disaster risk analysis, this book is ideally designed for academics, students, researchers, and professionals interested in emerging progress in climate change protection.