Environmental Health & Toxicology: Organizations and Associations

AWMA provides training, information, and networking opportunities to thousands of environmental professionals. AWMA provides access to Daily Envirowire, a daily environmental news and information source.

AWWA is an international nonprofit scientific and educational society dedicated to the improvement of drinking water quality and supply. The Resources and Tools for Water Professionals includes information on public affairs, career information, water/wastewater utility management, and standards development groups. There is also information on legislation and regulation.

A center within the Earth Institute at Columbia University that works at the intersection of the social, natural, and information sciences, and specializes in online data and information management, spatial data integration, and interdisciplinary research related to human interactions in the environment.

A national multi-disciplinary organization whose mission is to protect the developing child from environmental health hazards and promote a healthier environment.

Coming Clean is a collaborative of environmental health and justice experts working to reform the chemical and energy industries so they are no longer a source of harm. Website includes advocacy resources, reports (such as A Demographic Analysis of Chemical Disaster Vulnerability Zones), media, and more.

EPRI provides scientific, technical, and marketing research for the energy industry.

An international resource that supports basic and clinical research in environmental health sciences and exposure assessment and fosters associated programs in environmental health education and public policy.

EPA uses economic analyses to improve the effectiveness of its environmental policies. A variety of economic tools allow the costs and benefits of different policy options to be compared. EPA also pursues new research to develop improved methods for measuring the economic consequences of environmental outcomes.

An independent, nonprofit corporation that studies the health effects of pollutants from sources in the environment. Supported jointly by the EPA and industry, HEI has produced reports on the health effects of a variety of pollutants, including carbon monoxide, fuels and fuel additives, nitrogen oxides, diesel exhaust, ozone, and particulate air pollution.

Promotes communities, workplaces, and products to be healthy, humane, and respectful of natural systems. Also promotes environmentally sound systems of production and consumption by using rigorous science and innovative strategies to develop practical solutions.

A not-for-profit organization dedicated to improving the scientific basis for environmental decisionmaking. NCSE specializes in programs that foster collaboration between the diverse institutions and individuals creating and using environmental knowledge, including research, education, environmental, and business organizations as well as governmental bodies at all levels.

The mission of the NIEHS is to discover how the environment affects people in order to promote healthier lives. They offer grants, have informational fact sheets, and more.

NOAA's Mission: To understand and predict changes in climate, weather, oceans, and coasts; to share that knowledge and information with others; and to conserve and manage coastal and marine ecosystems and resources.

Non-profit group dedicated to protecting the world's natural resources and ensuring a safe and healthy environment for all. They analyze legislation and produce reports, issue briefs, and fact sheets.

A national network of health and public health organizations and professionals dedicated to addressing the threats of climate change to health. Includes a curated Resource Database and a State Policy Initiative toolkit.

EPA's mission is to protect human health and the environment.

Provide scientific knowledge and information that will improve our understanding of the environmental contributions to disease and human health.

WE ACT for Environmental Justice empowers and organizes low-income, people of color to build healthy communities for all. Works in climate justice, clean air, healthy homes, and more.

Develops, implements and enforces the state's environmental protection laws that regulate clean air, clean water, clean soil, safe pesticides and waste recycling and reduction. Our departments are at the forefront of environmental science, using cutting-edge research to shape the state's environmental laws.

This site contains information on pesticide laws, regulatory and rulemaking information, data on pesticide use, on pesticide residue on fresh produce, pesticide illness surveillance, and information on exposure, sampling, and more.

Includes California Proposition 65 documents and the Prop 65 list, as well as information on air, ecotoxicology, pesticides, and more.

This site has the figures for California drinking water primary and secondary maximum contaminant levels and information on arsenic, chromium-6, perchlorate, and other drinking water contaminants of current interest.

CPR is a coalition of over 170 public interest groups dedicated to protecting human health and the environment from the dangers of pesticide use.

AQMD is the air pollution control agency for the California four-county region including Los Angeles and Orange counties and parts of Riverside and San Bernardino counties.

GEF has provided $13.5 billion in grants and leveraged $65 billion in co-financing for 3,900 projects in more than 165 developing countries , to address global environmental issues. .

This is Canada's "EPA," with numerous publications, databases, and other resources available.

This program works on the development and co-ordination of environment health and safety activities internationally. Includes many publications.

UNEP is involved in all manner of environmental issues, such as sustainable consumption, climate change, chemicals, and more. Their site includes databases, publications, and descriptions of their many initiatives.

Descriptions and information about specific aspects of environmental health are available, such as environmental burden of disease, ionizing radiation, food safety, occupational health, electro-magnetic fields, and children's environmental health. Numerous documents and publications are available online.

Provides authoritative research and engages a broad spectrum of stakeholders in decision-making to make permanent changes that protect the planet and improve people's lives.