Home - Online Newspapers & News - Public Health and Beyond

Newspapers and News Sources: Health & Science

Climatewire This link opens in a new window
Daily coverage of the debate over climate policy and its effects on business, the environment and society. Key topics include agriculture, alternative energy, fossil fuels, species and ecosystem effects, and water resources.
Greenwire This link opens in a new window
Covers environmental and energy action, including stories that range from electricity industry restructuring to Clean Air Act litigation to public lands management and more.
E&E Daily This link opens in a new window
Daily coverage of the energy and environmental policy debate in Congress, legislation, and politics.
Part of E&E News; related subscriptions: Greenwire, Climatewire, Energywire.

EcoAmericas
Monthly report on development and the environment in Latin America.
Grist: Climate. Justice. Solutions.
Grist is a nonprofit, independent media organization dedicated to telling stories of climate solutions and a just future.

FERN's Ag Insider This link opens in a new window
Daily reporting on news and policy of food, agriculture, and the environment. [2014-Present] (Ag Insider)
Includes tag-based searchable archive.

Nation's Health
Online available 1992-present. Most recent 5 years are available in the Bioscience, Natural Resources & Public Health Library RA421 .A523.
Public Health Newswire (APHA)
News covering public health events, trends, and advocacy sponsored by the American Public Health Association.
Public Health Watch
A nonprofit, nonpartisan investigative news site that will focus on the prevention of illness, injury and death.
UCB School of Public Health: School News
Recent news from UC Berkeley's School of Public Health
Newswise
A comprehensive database of news releases from top research institutions covering medicine, science, and social science research. Some material may be embargoed. Abstracts and sometimes full-text are available.

Relevant News Associations

Berkeley Media Studies Group
BMSG conducts research to learn how the media characterize health issues. Includes resources on framing, advocacy, and more.
Center for Health Journalism
"Helping journalists investigate health challenges and solutions in their communities and serving as a catalyst for change." Includes webinars and resources on writing and researching health topics.
FrameWorks Institute
Tools and resources to help improve public understanding of a range of issues: racial and economic justice, child and adolescent development, healthy equity, climate change, immigration, and more.

News Databases: General Topics

Access World News This link opens in a new window
Full-text information and perspectives from U.S. and international news sources. (America's newspapers - NewsBank - global newsbank)
Provides full-text information and perspectives from over 600 U.S. and over 700 international sources. Offers strong regional coverage, indexing more than California newspapers such as Contra Costa Times (1995-current), Sacramento Bee (1984-current), San Francisco Chronicle (1985-current), and San Jose Mercury News (1985-current). Search categories include: California newspapers (121 titles), Greater Los Angeles (54 titles), major metropolitan titles (13 titles), Spanish-language news sources (48 titles), the World (almost 2000 titles), US (855 titles).
Alternative Press Index This link opens in a new window
Progressive, radical, and left North American magazines, newsletters, and journals. [1991 - present]
Approximately 90% of publications included are not indexed elsewhere. Indexes editorials, regular columns, essays, fiction; speeches, interviews, statistics, reprints; bibliographies, biographies, obituaries, memoirs; and reviews. Interfaces available for French, Spanish, Japanese, and Chinese. Alternative Press Index Archive provides coverage of materials from 1969 to 1990.
Alt-Press Watch (APW) This link opens in a new window
Alternative, radical, and independent magazines, newspapers, and journals in North America. (AltPress Watch - altpresswatch) [1970 - present]
Reporting on politics and government, policy and culture, international issues, education, environment as well as reviews of theater, movies and books.
AP Newsroom This link opens in a new window
Historical Associated Press photos. Also includes tens of thousands of graphics, audio files, and news stories and headlines. (Associated Press Photo Archive - AccuNet - AP Multimedia Archive - AP Photo Archive) [1826 - present]
4.6 million photographs from the Associated Press dating back to 1826 to the present. Historical photos date from 1996 to 1826. Also includes tens of thousands of graphics, over 4,500 hours of audio files dating from the 1920s, and news stories and headlines dating from 1997. Search by keyword to search all the images in the photo collection or do an advanced search to limit results.
Ethnic NewsWatch (ENWH) This link opens in a new window
Index of over 200 ethnic, minority, and native press publications, including news, culture, and history topics. Searchable in English and Spanish. (ENWALL) [1960 - present]
Also includes a retrospective backfile of titles (1960-1989).
Factiva This link opens in a new window
Text mining of this database is prohibited. Access limited to 49 simultaneous users Provides general and business news and information from more than 9,000 sources in 22 languages, including influential local, national and international newspapers, leading business magazines, trade publications, and news wires.
Includes the exclusive combination of The Wall Street Journal (1979-present), the Financial Times, Dow Jones and Reuters newswires and the Associated Press, as well as Reuters Fundamentals, and Bureau van Dijk company profiles.
International Newsstream This link opens in a new window
Indexes and retrieves articles from hundreds of newspapers worldwide, plus reports from media monitoring organizations which include broadcast and wire service content. Citations and abstracts provided for all files. Article content is full text, displayed in ASCII format, not page-image. (ProQuest International Newsstream). Formerly titled International Newsstand.
Nexis Uni (formerly LexisNexis Academic) This link opens in a new window
Full-text access to international, national, local newspapers, and wire services, as well as radio and television transcripts. Database also includes business, medical, industry, and legislative magazines, journals, and newsletters. Also includes laws from the U.S., all 50 states, and law reviews. Wide geographic coverage and translations from foreign-language sources, as well as news services like the Associated Press, Agence France Press, El Pai.
Nexis Uni allows users to set up personal accounts to personalize your research experience. Nexis Uni has replaced LexiNexis Academic. [dates vary]
ProQuest Major Daily Newspapers (Historic & Current) This link opens in a new window
Access to national and regional newspapers from across the U.S.
Includes New York Times (full text, Historical, 1881-1985, with Index, 1851-1993 + 1980-current). Los Angeles Times (full text, Historical, 1881-2010 + 1985-current). Wall Street Journal (full text, Historical, 1889-1995 + 1984-current). Chicago Tribune (full text, Historical 1849-2010 + 1895- current). The Washington Post (full text, Historical, 1877-2002, 1987-current). Also indexes the New York Times Magazine (indexed from 1986-current, full text from 1997), the New York Times Book Review (indexed from 1986-current, full text from 1997), and the WSJ: the Wall Street Journal Magazine (full text from 2011-present).
Vanderbilt Television Index This link opens in a new window
Individual network evening news broadcasts from the major U.S. national broadcast networks: ABC, CBS, NBC, and CNN, and hours of special news-related programming.
Holding more than 30,000 individual network evening news broadcasts from the major U.S. national broadcast networks: ABC, CBS, NBC, and CNN, and more than 9,000 hours of special news-related programming including ABC's Nightline since 1989. These special reports and periodic news broadcasts cover presidential press conferences and political campaign coverage, and national and international events.

Newspapers and News Sources: Selected Major Dailies

Current/recent issues:

Historic/past issues:

Student Access: New York Times and Wall Street Journal

The UC Berkeley ASUC and the Graduate Assembly have partnered to provide free access to the New York Times and the Wall Street Journal. Information, including how to set up access, is below:

Wall Street Journal (Student, Faculty and Staff Access) This link opens in a new window
UC Berkeley students, faculty and staff can have free subscriptions to the WSJ website. Please read the "more" link for additional description and account set up instructions.
"The Office of the ASUC Executive Vice President and the the Graduate Assembly provide free subscriptions to the WSJ website for all UCB students, faculty and staff.

To activate your WSJ membership, please visit this page and create an account using your Berkeley email address.

• For assistance with your ASUC WSJ membership, call: 1-800-568-7625
• To manage your WSJ membership online, visit customercenter.wsj.com and log in with your WSJ account information.

If you have a personally paid membership with The Wall Street Journal, please call 1-800-JOURNAL to cancel your membership. After your membership is cancelled you can activate your ASUC/GA-sponsored membership at the link above.
New York Times (Student Access) This link opens in a new window
UCB students can have free subscriptions to the NY Times website while enrolled at UCB. UCB staff and faculty are not included. "The Office of the ASUC Executive Vice President and the the Graduate Assembly provide free subscriptions to the NY Times website for all UCB students.

To access, visit www.accessnyt.com, enter the University of California Berkeley and register with your @berkeley email address. You will receive a confirmation email to verify your Berkeley email is active. Check your spam if you do not receive this email in a few minutes.

● For assistance with your ASUC NYTimes.com access, email: edu@nytimes.com

If you have a personally paid subscription with the NYT, you can cancel it by calling NYT Customer Care (800) 591-9233 and then activate the ASUC/GA one through http://accessnyt.com/."
"The Office of the ASUC Executive Vice President and the the Graduate Assembly provide free subscriptions to the NY Times website for all UCB students.

To access, visit www.accessnyt.com, enter the University of California Berkeley and register with your @berkeley email address. You will receive a confirmation email to verify your Berkeley email is active. Check your spam if you do not receive this email in a few minutes.

● For assistance with your ASUC NYTimes.com access, email: edu@nytimes.com

If you have a personally paid subscription with the NYT, you can cancel it by calling NYT Customer Care (800) 591-9233 and then activate the ASUC/GA one through http://accessnyt.com/."

Secondary menu

Online Newspapers & News - Public Health and Beyond: Home

Newspapers and News Sources: Health & Science

Relevant News Associations

News Databases: General Topics

Newspapers and News Sources: Selected Major Dailies

Student Access: New York Times and Wall Street Journal

News Feed from NIH