Online Newspapers & News - Public Health and Beyond: Home

Daily coverage of the debate over climate policy and its effects on business, the environment and society. Key topics include agriculture, alternative energy, fossil fuels, species and ecosystem effects, and water resources.

Covers environmental and energy action, including stories that range from electricity industry restructuring to Clean Air Act litigation to public lands management and more.

Daily coverage of the energy and environmental policy debate in Congress, legislation, and politics.

Daily reporting on news and policy of food, agriculture, and the environment. [2014-2024] (Ag Insider)

Full-text information and perspectives from U.S. and international news sources. (America's newspapers - NewsBank - global newsbank)

Progressive, radical, and left North American magazines, newsletters, and journals. [1991 - present]

Alternative, radical, and independent magazines, newspapers, and journals in North America. (AltPress Watch - altpresswatch) [1970 - present]

Historical Associated Press photos. Also includes tens of thousands of graphics, audio files, and news stories and headlines. (Associated Press Photo Archive - AccuNet - AP Multimedia Archive - AP Photo Archive) [1826 - present]

Index of over 200 ethnic, minority, and native press publications, including news, culture, and history topics. Searchable in English and Spanish. (ENWALL) [1960 - present]

Scraping (text data mining) of this database is prohibited. Access limited to 49 simultaneous users.  Provides general and business news and information from more than 9,000 sources in 22 languages, including influential local, national and international newspapers, leading business magazines, trade publications, and news wires.

Indexes and retrieves articles from hundreds of newspapers worldwide, plus reports from media monitoring organizations which include broadcast and wire service content. Citations and abstracts provided for all files. Article content is full text, displayed in ASCII format, not page-image. (ProQuest International Newsstream). Formerly titled International Newsstand.

Full-text access to international, national, local newspapers, and wire services, as well as radio and television transcripts. Database also includes business, medical, industry, and legislative magazines, journals, and newsletters. Also includes laws from the U.S., all 50 states, and law reviews. Wide geographic coverage and translations from foreign-language sources, as well as news services like the Associated Press, Agence France Press, El Pai.

Access to national and regional newspapers from across the U.S.

Individual network evening news broadcasts from the major U.S. national broadcast networks: ABC, CBS, NBC, and CNN, and hours of special news-related programming.

UC Berkeley students, faculty and staff can have free subscriptions to the WSJ website. Please read instructions below for additional description and account set up.

"The Office of the ASUC Executive Vice President and the the Graduate Assembly provide free subscriptions to the WSJ website for all UCB students, faculty and staff.

To activate your WSJ membership, please visit this page and create an account using your Berkeley email address.

• For assistance with your ASUC WSJ membership, call: 1-800-568-7625
• To manage your WSJ membership online, visit customercenter.wsj.com and log in with your WSJ account information.

If you have a personally paid membership with The Wall Street Journal, please call 1-800-JOURNAL to cancel your membership. After your membership is cancelled you can activate your ASUC/GA-sponsored membership at the link above.

UCB students can have free subscriptions to the NY Times website while enrolled at UCB. UCB staff and faculty are not included. "The Office of the ASUC Executive Vice President and the the Graduate Assembly provide free subscriptions to the NY Times website for all UCB students. 

To access, visit www.accessnyt.com, enter the University of California Berkeley and register with your @berkeley email address. You will receive a confirmation email to verify your Berkeley email is active. Check your spam if you do not receive this email in a few minutes.

● For assistance with your ASUC NYTimes.com access, email: edu@nytimes.com

If you have a personally paid subscription with the NYT, you can cancel it by calling NYT Customer Care (800) 591-9233 and then activate the ASUC/GA one through http://accessnyt.com/."