PubMed includes citations to journal articles on health and medical topics, with links to full text via 
PubMed Search Tips guide: Basic search guide with link to PubMed exercise set. Start here to learn how to search PubMed more effectively
Indexes leading journals in the arts, humanities, sciences and social sciences. Allows cited reference searching. (ISI Web of Knowledge) [1900 - present]
Principles and Application of Evidence-Based Public Health Practice by
Public health is a multidisciplinary field and is practiced in a complex environment. Various cadres like epidemiologists, policymakers, implementors, program managers, economists, social scientists, nutritionists, clinicians, administrators/executives, data or information managers, and others practice public health. However, the understanding and practice of public health vary across the human resource spectrum, further aggravated by the COVID-19 pandemic. Hence, there is a need for standardized and comprehensive guidelines to teach and practice public health especially catering to public health practitioners who are not formally trained in public health and scholars of public health bachelors. Evidence-based public health practice (EBPHP) is one of the important solutions for the ethical and effective implementation of public health interventions. Principles and Application of Evidence-based Public Health Practice helps build the capacity and enhances the quality of services delivered as part of public health practice. It will provide a basic understanding of various determinants (e.g., psycho-social, environmental, and political) of health and public health approaches (from policy to local practice level) applicable to EBPHP. The core areas of public health, namely epidemiology, biostatistics, social sciences/health promotion, health management, health economics, environmental and occupational health, nutrition, and public health research, are covered in this book comprehensively in a manner to cross-learn from each other.
Designing and Implementing Effective Evaluations: Comprehensive Case Studies in Program Evaluation by
Designing and Implementing Effective Evaluations　provides extensive real-life examples of program evaluations that illustrate the various elements and steps in conducting a successful evaluation. The detailed and diverse range of case studies show the common elements, methods, approaches, and processes of program evaluations, while also demonstrating the way that good evaluators adapt and tailor those methods to the specific characteristics and needs of a given program. The chapters explore the process of problem solving while navigating multiple stakeholders, competing agendas, and varying environments. The book introduces conversations concerning how to adapt evaluation processes and concepts with culturally different individuals and communities. It discusses the role of culture in navigating a meaningful evaluation process when significant cultural differences exist between the evaluator and individuals that make up the organization. The text is a vital resource for postgraduate students in program evaluation courses in Psychology, Education, Public Health, Social Work and related fields.
Evidence-Based Public Health by
There are at least three ways in which a public health program or policy may not reach stated goals for success:1) Choosing an intervention approach whose effectiveness is not established in the scientific literature2) Selecting a potentially effective program or policy yet achieving only weak, incomplete implementation or "reach," thereby failing to attain objectives;3) Conducting an inadequate or incorrect evaluation that results in a lack of generalizable knowledge on the effectiveness of a program or policy4) Paying inadequate attention to adapting an intervention to the population and context of interestTo enhance evidence-based practice, this book addresses all four possibilities and attempts to provide practical guidance on how to choose, carry out, and evaluate evidence-based programs and policies in public health settings. It also begins to address a fifth, overarching need for a highly trainedpublic health workforce. This book deals not only with finding and using scientific evidence, but also with implementation and evaluation of interventions that generate new evidence on effectiveness. Because all these topics are broad and require multi-disciplinary skills and perspectives, each chapter covers the basicissues and provides multiple examples to illustrate important concepts. In addition, each chapter provides links to the diverse literature and selected websites for readers wanting more detailed information. An indispensable volume for professionals, students, and researchers in the public healthsciences and preventative medicine, this new and updated edition of Evidence-Based Public Health aims to bridge research and evidence with policies and the practice of public health.
Evidence-Based Public Health Practice by
Designed for students and practitioners, this practical book shows how to do evidence-based research in public health. As a great deal of evidence-based practice occurs online, it focuses on how to find, use, and interpret online sources of public health information. It also includes examples of community-based participatory research and shows how to link data with community preferences and needs. Each chapter begins with specific learning objectives and concludes with practice exercises geared to the objectives. Each chapter also contains a list of key terms that are an essential part of an evidence-based public health practitioner's vocabulary. The book includes a comprehensive glossary and hundreds of online and print references, examples, and charts.