OOMPH Library Resources: Program Planning & Evaluation: PHW 205: Model Programs ("Best Practices")

Tool for Assessing Applicability and Transferability of Evidence (when considering starting a new program). Canada: National Collaborating Centre for Methods and Tools, 2011.

CBBP is a compendium of community interventions related to chronic disease prevention and health promotion that have been evaluated, shown to be successful, and have the potential to be adapted and replicated by other health practitioners working in similar fields.
Search for either Interventions/Best Practices, Resources, or by Topic or Policy Issues.

Contains model practices in public health as practiced by city and county health officials nationally. Searchable database of successful programs in various areas, such as chronic disease, animal control, cultural competence, emergency preparedness, environmental health, informatics, organizational practices, water quality, and more.

An expansive, frequently updated repository of rigorous evidence on what works in international development. It contains high-quality impact evaluations, systematic reviews, and evidence gap maps and is the most comprehensive resource for this kind of evidence from low- and middle-income countries.

This database was created to assist policymakers at all levels of government in identifying evidence-based programs and making data-driven budget decisions. This one-stop online resource provides policymakers with an easy way to find information on the effectiveness of various interventions as rated by eight national research clearinghouses. Search by Policy Area (child welfare, health, etc.); Intervention Type; rating; and Source.

From Sudbury & District Health Unit, Ontario. The Health Unit conducted a review and analysis of the literature for practices to reduce social inequities in health. These practices are relevant at the local public health level and are "promising" in their potential to "level-up" and reduce health inequities. This web page lists each practice, provides examples of the practice in action, implementation tips, references to relevant literature, and useful links.

The Toolkit provides 21 evidence-based recommendations that are supported by action-oriented evidence-based and best practice strategies. The report also includes seven schematics that illustrate how the recommendations can be applied across real estate product sectors.

Examples of programs and policies that have been shown to be effective in addressing specific health factors and focus areas.
Focus areas include health behaviors, clinical care, social and economic factors, and physical environment. Can also search by Decision Makers, eg government officials, employers, community leaders, educators, etc. Each intervention includes citations of evidence and implementation, as well as impact on health disparities.

This site describes "proven methods for promoting health, safety, and environmental citizenship." It includes numerous evaluated case studies of public health programs, as well as tools on such program aspects as building motivation, overcoming barriers, norm appeals, and more. Also here tips on approaches, such as home visits, mass media, neighborhood coaches, etc.

Assessment tools, training modules, and more.

A list of comprehensive web-based resources for exploring promising approaches to promote community health and development. Includes general resources, and topic-specific (chronic disease, violence, cancer, etc.) resources.

"The purpose of this article is to describe an approach to identify community-based programs and interventions that have the potential for replication and dissemination ... Such interventions met criteria in 3 primary domains: innovativeness, effectiveness, and sustainability. Funders, practitioners, and researchers can apply these criteria to identify programs, environmental changes, or policies that may be replicated and disseminated."

Successful interventions and strategies to diagnose, treat, prevent, and respond to HIV/AIDS. From US CDC.

This site looks at different sectors and topics and presents available evidence as to "what works" - with a positive youth development lens: Health, Nutrition, Cross-Sectoral Skills, and more. From YouthPower/Making Cents International