See the Search Tips handout (pdf) for more information.
Remember: You can use * to truncate, and "quotes" for exact phrase searching; see examples below.
When searching, group synonymous or similar terms using OR, then combine with other grouped terms using AND.
Searches should be constructed like this:
(term_A1 OR term_A2 ...) AND (term_B1 OR term_B2 ...)
Example:
(rape OR "sexual violence" OR "gender-based violence" OR "violence against women") AND (college* OR universit* OR campus) AND (policies OR programs)
Addressing Violence Against Women on College Campuses by
Violence against women on college campuses has remained underreported and often under addressed by both campus security and local law enforcement, as well as campus administrators. The researchers, practitioners, and activists who contribute to this pertinent volume Addressing Violence Against Women on College Campuses examine the extent, nature, dynamic and contexts of violence against women at institutions of higher education.This book is designed to facilitate an ongoing discussion and provide direction on how best to prevent and investigate violence against women, and intervene to assist victims while reducing the impact of these crimes. Chapters detail the necessary changes and implications that are part of Title IX and other federal legislation and initiatives as well as the effect these changes have had for higher education actors, including campus administrators, victim advocates, and student activists. The contributors also explore the importance of campus efforts to estimate the extent of violence against women; educating young men and women on the nature of sexual and dating violence; and shifting efforts to both make offenders accountable for their crimes and prompt all bystanders to act. Addressing Violence Against Women on College Campuses urgently argues to make violence prevention is not separate from but rather an integral part of the student experience. Contributors include: Antonia Abbey, Joanne Belknap, Ava Blustein, Stephanie Bonnes, Alesha Cameron, Sarah L. Cook, Walter S. DeKeseredy. Helen Eigenberg, Kate Fox, Christopher P. Krebs, Jennifer Leili, Christine Lindquist, Sarah McMahon, Caitlyn Meade, Christine Mouton, Matt R. Nobles, Callie Marie Rennison, Meredith M. Smith, Carmen Suarez, and the editors.
Handbook on Gender and Violence by
Containing contributions from leading experts in the field, this Handbook explores the many ways gender and violence interact across different contexts and offers a range of disciplinary perspectives. This comprehensive work connects micro-level interpersonal violence to macro-level structural forms of violence across three discrete but interrelated sections: concepts, representations, and contexts. Part one considers the core concepts of gender and violence alongside related concepts including sex, sexualities, patriarchy, and security, elaborating on the research tools used within these areas. Part two investigates the different ways in which gender and violence are enacted through various representational practices, including film, policy, and online. The final part is devoted to the examination of gender and violence in a range of empirical settings, including different spheres of activity, from economic to juridical.Presenting an in-depth overview of the topic, this Handbook on Gender and Violence will be a key resource for researchers who are new to the study of gender and violence. More experienced academics will also benefit from the up-to-date insights on key research themes in the field.
Promoting Behavioral Health and Reducing Risk among College Students: a comprehensive approach by
Promoting Behavioral Health and Reducing Risk Among College Students synthesizes the large body of research on college students' behavioral health and offers guidance on applying evidence-based prevention and early intervention strategies using a comprehensive public health framework. Chapters authored by leading researchers and practitioners address a broad spectrum of important behavioral health issues, interventions, and challenges. Moving beyond a theoretical discussion to strategies for implementation, this book addresses the special issues and potential barriers faced by practitioners as they translate research to practice, such as resource limitations, organizational resistance, challenges to program sustainability, and the unique needs of special populations. This cutting-edge compendium will appeal to both practitioners and researchers involved in providing prevention, early intervention, and treatment services for college students.
Sexual Assault Risk Reduction and Resistance: theory, research, and practice by
Sexual Assault Risk Reduction and Resistance explores the theory, research, and practice of sexual assault risk reduction, resistance education, and self-defense programs for women and other vulnerable groups, including sexual minorities, individuals with disabilities, and those with histories of victimization. Following an ecosystemic perspective, the book examines individual risk and protective factors for sexual victimization, as well as peer-, family-, community- and societal-level factors that influence risk for sexual violence and inform the content of programs. This volume brings together leading researchers and practitioners to operationalize sexual assault risk reduction approaches and highlights the rationale and need for risk reduction in the context of other sexual assault prevention efforts. The volume provides an overview of the history of this sexual assault prevention approach and addresses current controversies and questions in the field. The authors outline risk and protective factors for victimization and discuss how these factors guide risk reduction efforts. The volume also outlines the theory and effectiveness of current sexual assault risk reduction and resistance practices and addresses special populations and future directions.
Sexual Harassment in Education and Work Settings: current research and best practices for prevention by
Addresses current legal and psychological issues involved in campus and workplace violence, specifically sexual misconduct, and offers best practices for organizations seeking to prevent and respond to sexual misconduct. Based on an idea conceived at a conference for the International Coalition of Sexual Harassment, this book offers up-to-date information about sexual harassment and other forms of sexual misconduct in academic and workplace settings, as well as legal and guidance updates and best practices that discuss prevention methods. The chapters are written by noted attorneys, campus and workplace consultants, and other scholars who have assisted in collecting incident data and have thought leadership to offer. Chapters address how workplaces and campuses respond to forms of violence as well as the impact of sexual harassment on individuals, bystanders, and organizations. Readers will learn about topics such as the "Not Alone" initiative--a result of President Obama's Task Force to Protect Students from Sexual Assault--and the history of Titles VII and IX legislation the United States. The editors have compiled resources that address the cultural and social views of sexual harassment, the history of sexual misconduct on campuses and in organizations, and sample organizations at the national level that deal with prevention, advocacy, and legal guidance for students and employees. Provides an overview of current legislation surrounding sexual misconduct Examines the impact of sexual misconduct on individuals, bystanders, and organizations Offers recommendations for investigating complaints of sexual harassment and other forms of sexual misconduct in organizations and universities Presents invaluable insights into cultural views regarding sexual harassment Contains essays by campus and workplace consultants, lawyers, and other subject experts
Suicide through a peacebuilding lens by
Suicide through a peacebuilding not only fills a significant gap in our wider understanding of conflict transformation around the challenges of suicide, Katerina offers us a significant step forward in how building peace requires a praxis of friendship. A book well worth the read that echo into many spheres of our peacebuilding development." --Professor John Paul Lederach, Professor Emeritus, University of Notre Dame, USA. "In this accomplished scholarship, Katerina Standish has written a must-read primer for anyone seeking to understand suicide (from any field) and the unique opportunity to peacebuild suicide via relationship. --Professor Sean Byrne, Foundational Director and Director of the PACS Graduate Program at the Arthur V. Mauro Centre for Peace and Justice Studies, University of Manitoba, Canada. "Suicide through a Peacebuilding Lens is a ground-breaking study. Meticulously researched, this book throws new light on the nature & prevalence of suicide. It is a 'must read for peace-building practitioners and a pioneering work of scholarship." --Professor Padraig OMalley, the John Joseph Moakley Distinguished Professor of Peace and Reconciliation, University of Massachusetts Boston, USA. This book, as the first exploration of suicide in Peace and Conflict Studies (PACS), illustrates the scarcity of suicide research in the discipline and argues that the leading cause of violent death worldwide is a multifaceted phenomenon that needs to be fully comprehended as a significant and often preventable form of world-wide violence. The author supplies a theoretical framework for assessing suicide as medical or instrumental, posits interdisciplinary complementarity and offers future lines of inquiry that challenge established notions of prevention. The book presents a PACS meta-theory termed 'encounter theory and supplies a suicidal peacebuilding platform via relationship. This book questions why more PACS scholars arent turning their attent ion to suicide when more people die by suicide than ethnic, religious or 'terroristic violence combined.
Trauma-Informed Treatment and Prevention of Intimate Partner Violence by
Individuals who engage in intimate partner violence have high rates of previous exposure to trauma and, most notably, to childhood violence. While decades of research support this finding, most models of intimate partner violence and training programs for practitioners who work with these individuals fail to take into consideration the impact of trauma on relationship functioning. Such programs are thus often ineffective in preventing or reducing violent behaviour. The urgent need for programmes that give greater weight to trauma has been highlighted by the needs of returning military veterans who have experienced significant trauma and engage in intimate partner violence. This book provides mental health professionals the knowledge and skills they need to deliver effective treatment to individuals who engage in intimate partner violence. The authors draw on their extensive clinical experience as well as their own recent studies to help clinicians assess and intervene both with military personnel and civilians who belong to this ""hard to treat"" population. Their positive approach to treatment addresses trauma-related issues in those who experience intimate partner violence as well as those who engage in it. Clearly written and approachable, it provides guidelines for intervention with groups, couples, and individuals, providing much-needed answers to both common and unexpected clinical challenges. A comprehensive appendix features ready-to-use worksheets and forms for both practitioners and their clients, including: Common Reactions to Trauma Trauma Impact Questions Anger Analysis Form Roots of Your Communication Style Conflict Analysis Sheet
Violence: an interdisciplinary approach to causes, consequences, and cures by
A comprehensive overview of the integrative study of violence Violence continues to be one of the most urgent global public health problems that contemporary society faces. Suicides and homicides are increasing at an alarming rate, particularly in younger age groups and lower-income countries. Historically, the study of violence has been fragmented across disparate fields of study with little cross-disciplinary collaboration, thus creating a roadblock to decoding the underlying processes that give rise to violence and hindering efforts in research and prevention. Violence: An Interdisciplinary Approach to Causes, Consequences, and Cures assembles and organizes current information into one comprehensive volume, introducing students to the multiple sectors, disciplines, and practices that collectively comprise the study of violence. This innovative textbook presents a unified perspective that integrates the sociological, biological, politico-economic, structural, and environmental underpinnings of violence. Each chapter examines a distinct point of learning, beginning with an overview of the content and concluding with discussion questions and an analytical summary. The chapters focus on key domains of research encouraging interdisciplinary investigation and helping students to develop critical analytical skills and form their own conclusions. Fills a significant gap in the field by providing a coherent text that consolidates information on the multiple aspects of violence Examines current legal, medical, public health, and policy approaches to violence prevention and their application within a global context Illustrates how similar causes of violence may have dissimilar manifestations Presents a multidisciplinary examination of the symptoms and underlying processes of violence Offers a thorough yet accessible learning framework to undergraduate and graduate students without prior knowledge of the study of violence More than just an accumulation of facts and data, this essential text offers a broad introduction to a thinking process that can produce rigorous scholarship across disciplines and lead to a deeper understanding of violence in its many forms.
The Wiley Handbook on Violence in Education: forms, factors, and preventions by
In this comprehensive, multidisciplinary volume, experts from a wide range fields explore violence in education's different forms, contributing factors, and contextual nature. With contributions from noted experts in a wide-range of scholarly and professional fields, The Wiley Handbook on Violence in Education offers original research and essays that address the troubling issue of violence in education. The authors show the different forms that violence takes in educational contexts, explore the factors that contribute to violence, and provide innovative perspectives and approaches for prevention and response. This multidisciplinary volume presents a range of rigorous research that examines violence from both micro- and macro- approaches. In its twenty-nine chapters, this comprehensive volume's fifty-nine contributors, representing thirty-three universities from the United States and six other countries, examines violence's distinctive forms and contributing factors. This much-needed volume: Addresses the complexities of violence in education with essays from experts in the fields of sociology, psychology, criminology, education, disabilities studies, forensic psychology, philosophy, and critical theory Explores the many forms of school violence including physical, verbal, linguistic, social, legal, religious, political, structural, and symbolic violence Reveals violence in education's stratified nature in order to achieve a deeper understanding of the problem Demonstrates how violence in education is deeply situated in schools, communities, and the broader society and culture Offers new perspectives and proposals for prevention and response The Wiley Handbook on Violence in Education is designed to help researchers, educators, policy makers, and community leaders understand violence in educational settings and offers innovative, effective approaches to this difficult challenge.