Awards grants to organizations and institutions that directly benefit the health and well-being of Californians, and those that work to provide and expand access to affordable, quality health care for California's underserved individuals and communities.
CHCF is dedicated to advancing meaningful, measurable improvements in the way the health care delivery system provides care to the people of California, particularly those with low incomes and those whose needs are not well served by the status quo. Publications, statistics, & more are available.
The Cato Institute is a public policy research organization dedicated to the principles of individual liberty, limited government, free markets and peace. Its scholars and analysts conduct independent, nonpartisan research on a wide range of policy issues, including health care, environment, child policy, and more.
Provides practical skill-building information on over 250 different topics, including policy development. Topic sections include step-by-step instruction, examples, check-lists, and related resources. It has sections on leadership, strategic planning, community assessment, advocacy, grant writing, and evaluation, as well as Best Practices examples and evidence.
A non-profit organization focused on national health issues, as well as the U.S. role in global health policy. KFF develops and runs policy analysis, journalism and communications programs, sometimes in partnership with major news organizations. We serve as a non-partisan source of facts, analysis and journalism for policymakers, the media, the health policy community and the public.
The mission of The Heritage Foundation is to formulate and promote conservative public policies based on the principles of free enterprise, limited government, individual freedom, traditional American values, and a strong national defense.
Dedicated to improving public well-being by bringing the highest standards of quality, objectivity, and excellence to bear on information collection and analysis. Focus areas include health, nutrition, education, among other areas.
An independent academy of state health policymakers working together to identify emerging issues, develop policy solutions, and improve state health policy and practice. This site provides access to programs, research, and publications about many current policy issues including: access for the uninsured, children's health, long-term care, medicaid, and patient safety. Publications compare policy implementation between and across states.
NCSL has developed this resource of 50-state compilations covering various issues that concern state legislators and legislative staff. Here you will find a topical listing of legislative and statutory databases.
Indexes books, journals, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference reports, and web sources related to public policy, politics, economics, and social issues worldwide. (Public Affairs Information Service) [1915 - present]
Includes publications from over 120 countries. Some of the indexed materials are published in French, German, Italian, Portuguese, and Spanish. The Archive covers English-language material only.
Public policy literature from think tanks, university research programs, research organizations and publishers. Topics covered include Health Policy and Health Care Reform, Economics, Immigration, Science and Technology Policy, and Urban Policy.
Covers the areas of economics, politics, the environment, and social issues, taken from reports from a wide range of think tanks, Non-governmental organizations, international governmental organizations, and other institutions worldwide.
Conducts research on national, state, and local health policy issues, focusing on the health needs of communities and populations that are at risk for adverse health conditions or are underserved. Provides public service to policy makers and community leaders. Offers educational opportunities for graduate students and post-doctoral fellows. Their web site includes many publications and data.
The Library's Health Statistics & Data Resources Guide is an annotated list of sources of statistics & data. Some of the sources that may be relevant to PHW200E include:
A statistics portal that integrates data from reliable sources on thousands of topics
Categorized into market sectors, Statista provides access to quantitative facts on media, business, politics, and other areas. Sources of information include market research reports, trade publications, scientific journals, and government sources. Data may be downloaded into spreadsheets and presentations. Also includes industry reports.
UC Berkeley's principal archive of digitized social science data and statistics. Provides access to a broad range of computerized social science data. Also provides technical assistance.
