Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

UC Berkeley’s library buildings are open! Learn more.

South Asia Studies


old black and white photo of people posing

 

Media and Images

 


Media includes audio, video, and filmImages, galleries, and exhibits are usually part of an archive or special collection.

 

GENERAL MEDIA TOOLS AND SOURCES

The Media Resources Center is The Library's primary collection of audio and visual materials. In A-Z Databases, select the subject "South Asian Studies" and the database type "Sound/Audio" or "Videos".

 

GENERAL IMAGES TOOLS AND SOURCES

In A-Z Databases, select the subject "South Asian Studies" and the database type "Images".

BERKELEY EXHIBITS

Sikh immigrants

Echoes of Freedom: South Asian Pioneers in California, 1899-1965 is an exhibit created from Azadi di Gunj (Echo of Freedom), an early collection of Indian nationalist poems calling for a revolt against British rule in India, published in San Francisco by the Pacific Coast Hindustani Association, later known as the Ghadar party."
 
Excerpt - "In the late 19th and early 20th centuries, businessman, students, farmers, and laboreres began coming to California from India. Many decided to settle here and make California their home. This exhibit tells their story--their struggles, successes, and contributions--through material from the rich "South Asians in North America" archive.
 

Formerly known as the Hindustan Ghadar Party Collection, the South Asians in North America (SANA) Collection relates to an Indian nationalist party based in Northern California during the first two decades of the 20th century. The collection includes primary source photographs, pamphlets, party literature, and interviews in Punjabi, Hindi, Urdu, and English. 
 
 
 

A Hundred Harvests: the History of Asian Studies at Berkeley was an exhibit in the Brown Gallery of Doe Library from June 20, 1997 through February 1, 1998. It lives on here as a virtual exhibit. Through archival holdings and matchless library collections showcased in the exhibit, the story unfolds of the scholars and philanthropists who founded and nurtured the Asian programs that today are consistently rated the best or among the best in the country and that attract scholars and students from all over the world.

 

photographs -- enter exhibit

Silicon Raj: Making a Difference to America's Future is [the artist's] effort to provide the Indian community with a visual voice, so others will respect their ambitions, culture, music, and other social values, and to document the day to day life of a proud community."
 
"Silicon Raj is a photo documentary work in progress, a project to honor the contributions of Indians in America -- in the high tech industry, medicine, biotechnology, publishing, academia, social service, arts and culture -- and their entrepreneurial leadership in creating jobs and prosperity for all Americans. It is time for Americans to welcome their presence and help in their integration.
 

The South/Southeast Asia Library 2020 Exhibit "celebrates the academic achievements of Berkeley South and Southeast Asia scholars across disciplines. It recognizes Berkeley's robust South and Southeast Asian language instruction program, distinguished teaching award recipients, and previous Charlene Conrad Liebau Library Prize for Undergraduate Research winners and honorable mentions".