Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

UC Berkeley’s library buildings are open. Here’s what you need to know.

South Asia Studies


page and text

 

Journals and Articles

 


Academic journals primarily contain peer-reviewed scholarly articles, which also appear in article databases

 

GENERAL TOOLS AND CATALOGS

In A-Z Databases, select the subject "South Asian Studies" and the database type "Articles".

Google Scholar is freely accessible and indexes scholarly literature in many formats and disciplines.

 

JOURNALS AND ARTICLE DATABASES

ATLA logoATLA Religion Database is an index to the research literature of religion, including Biblical studies, world religions, church history, and religious perspectives on social issues. [1949 - present]

 

BAS logoBibliography of Asian Studies (BAS) has over 500,000 citations to journal articles, books, and conference proceedings worldwide on the countries, histories, and cultures of East, South, and Southeast Asia. [1971-present]

 

IBSS logoThe International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (BSSS) is an index of publications in the fields of economics, political science,msociology and anthropology from over 100 countries. [1981 - present]

 

JSTOR provides full-text access to over 1000 scholarly journals, including more than 2 million articles, from a wide range of disciplines. Current issues from journals (the most recent 3-5 years) are generally not available in JSTOR. [dates vary]