Library Guides: ULAB: Computational Biology: Find articles

Some relevant article databases

Search article databases to find journal articles, conference proceedings, and book chapters.

To access full text:

Core databases

PubMed This link opens in a new window
Subjects: Molecular and cell biology, biochemistry, neuroscience, and other biomedical fields.
Sources: Biomedical and cell biology journals.
Note: Use the UCB-specific URL to see a customized version of PubMed that includes UC-eLinks.
For more information:
New PubMed guide [UCB Library]
PubMed Help [NCBI]
Searching by author [NCBI]
Exporting citations [NCBI]
Saving searches [NCBI]
Setting up e-mail alerts [NCBI]
PubMed Quick Guide [UCB Library]
Advanced PubMed handout [UCB Library]
PubMed includes MEDLINE, PubMed Central (PMC), other biomedical and life science journals, and the NCBI Bookshelf. PubMed also provides links to other NCBI molecular biology resources, including nucleotide sequences, protein sequences, 3-D protein structure data, population study data sets, and assemblies of complete genomes in an integrated system.
Note: The link above goes to a specially configured version of PubMed for UC Berkeley users that will display the Get It at UC button for full text article access. To use the free public version, please click here.
Embase This link opens in a new window
Search for biomedical literature citations. Embase is a key resource for conducting systematic reviews and researching evidence-based medicine. [dates vary]
Indexes journals, including many not in Medline, from over 90 countries, and indexes conference abstracts from many conferences. Broad biomedical scope with strong coverage in drug, pharmaceutical, and toxicological research including economic evaluation.
SciFinderⁿ This link opens in a new window
Search references, substances, structures, and reactions in chemistry and biochemistry; includes patents.
Note: Restricted to UC Berkeley students, faculty, and staff. Requires creation of a personal account from an @berkeley.edu email address.
Indexes over 9,000 journals, patents, conferences, books, technical reports and dissertations related to chemistry, chemical engineering, materials science and the biomedical sciences. Relates to the print equivalent Chemical Abstracts.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Subjects: Covers science, technology, medicine, arts, humanities, and the social sciences. Cited references available from 1996 forward. A Journal Analyzer tool assesses journal performance.
Sources: Over 21,000 journals, conference proceedings, trade publications, and book series. Includes all of the Medline database and more than 23 million patents.
For more information:
Create and manage alerts
Contains over 50 million records with more than half the content originating from outside North America. Indexes over 21,000 journals, conference proceedings, trade publications, and book series in the sciences, technology, medicine, arts, and humanities.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Subjects: Broad coverage of scientific fields, as well as the social sciences and the arts and humanities.
Sources: Journals, conference proceedings and book chapters.
Cited reference searches find articles that cite a given author or reference..
For more information:
Creating search and citation alerts
How to do a cited reference search
Includes the Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1975-present), Science Citation Index Expanded (1900-present), Social Sciences Citation Index (1900-present), Conference Proceedings Citation Index (1990-present), Book Citation Index (2005-present), and Emerging Sources Citation Index (2005-present).
BIOSIS Previews This link opens in a new window
Subjects: Comprehensive coverage of the biological sciences.
Sources: Journal articles, book chapters, conference proceedings, technical reports, and other sources.
For more information:
Creating search and citation alerts
Indexes journals, books, and conference proceedings are indexed on a wide variety of biological and biomedical topics. An electronic version to the print counterparts, Biological Abstracts and Biological Abstracts/RRM.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Subjects: All, but subject-specific databases may have greater functionality.
Sources: Journal articles, books, preprints, presentations, technical reports, and other sources.
Advanced search under menu at top left: search authors, article titles, journal titles, date ranges, more.
Scholar Preferences can be set to show Get it at UC in your results list:
- Click on Settings > Library Links
- Search for "berkeley"
- Choose "University of California Berkeley - Get it at UC," then Save
For more information:
Google Scholar Help
Lists journal articles, books, preprints, and technical reports in many subject areas (though more specialized article databases may cover any given field more completely). Can be used with "Get it at UC" to access the full text of many articles.
Faculty Opinions This link opens in a new window
Highlights and reviews the most interesting papers published in the biological sciences and medicine, based on the recommendations of a faculty of selected leading researchers. (Formerly called F1000, Faculty of 1000). Note: All article recommendations and clinical trial evaluations are freely accessible with registration. Faculty Reviews are no longer accessible; please use Scopus, or Web of Science as alternative resources.

Additional article databases in the Biological Sciences

Select another biological sciences resource:

Conditions of use
Conditions of use and licensing restrictions for electronic resources

Finding articles or journals

Searching by topic
How to identify keywords and use the operators AND and OR, parentheses, and truncation to develop effective searches in databases and catalogs.
Citation search
Search Google Scholar for a specific citation, even with only partial information.
Journal search
Search or browse UC Library Search for journal titles in the biosciences.
Keeping Current
Setting up journal table of contents and new issue alerts
Citation management guide
Overviews of and links for citation management tools such as Zotero, Mendeley, and EndNote.

Browser extensions for finding PDFs:

EndNote Click
Browser extension that streamlines access to article PDFs, even if you don't use EndNote.
Open Access Button
Browser extension and website that enable searching for Open Access content from publishers and repositories.
Unpaywall
Browser extension and website that enable searching for Open Access content from publishers and repositories.

If the UC Berkeley Library doesn't have access to an article you need:

Interlibrary borrowing
Interlibrary Borrowing Service (IBS) enables UC Berkeley students, faculty, and staff (including retired faculty and staff) to borrow materials not available through the UC Berkeley Library.
Purchase recommendation form
Recommend a book, journal, or other resource for purchase by the library.

For more help

Elliott Smith

he/him

Contact:

Bioscience, Natural Resources &
Public Health Library
esmith@library.berkeley.edu

Subjects: Biological Sciences, Biology, Comparative Biochemistry, Integrative Biology, Molecular and Cell Biology, Neuroscience

Secondary menu