Skip to main content

Special Collections - Bioscience & Natural Resources Library: Home

Bioscience & Natural Resources Library, Special Collections

Bioscience & Natural Resources Library: Special collections

The Marian Koshland Bioscience & Natural Resources Library at the University of California, Berkeley has a number of collections that are considered "special" or rare. This guide will provide information on the collections and how to gain access to them.

Collections Guides

Fritz-Metcalf Collection: The Fritz-Metcalf Photograph Collection is a group of about 9000 photographs relating primarily to forestry, conservation, and the lumber industry in California and the United States. Subjects include logging operations, logging equipment, reforestation, forest research, fire protection, lumber mills, and the activities of the University of California's School of Forestry. The photographs were taken from 1906 to 1984 by Emanuel Fritz, Woodbridge Metcalf and others



Wieslander, VTM: Vegetation Management Type Maps & Photographs
The Marian Koshland Bioscience and Natural Resources Library received funding from the U.C. Berkeley Library to digitize the Wieslander Vegetation Type Analysis Collection of photographs and maps. Vegetation such as grass, shrubs, hardwoods, and conifers are photographed with floristic attributes and plant species information. Captions for each photograph are recorded along with the specific data regarding location and quad information.

Fritz-Metcalf Collection
 

Find Books - online and print

Biodiversity Heritage Library
A consortium of 12 major natural history museum libraries, botanical libraries, and research institutions organized to digitize, serve, and preserve the legacy literature of biodiversity, with titles such as:

Remberti Dodonaei mechliniensis medici De frugum historia (1552)

Birds of North America
The electronic version of Birds of North America provides detailed scientific information of the more than 716 species of birds nesting in the USA and Canada. The print version of BNA was completed in 2002, a joint 10-year project of the American Ornithologists' Union, the Cornell Lab of Ornithology, and the Academy of Natural Sciences.

Botanicus Digital Library
A freely accessible, Web-based encyclopedia of historic botanical literature from the Missouri Botanical Garden Library.

Complete Charles Darwin Online
Darwin's complete publications (including Origin of Species, Voyage of the Beagle, Zoology and Descent of Man), thousands of handwritten manuscripts, and the largest Darwin bibliography and manuscript catalogue ever published; also hundreds of supplementary works: biographies, obituaries, reviews, reference works and more. From the Cambridge University Library and others.

Note: The Bioscience Library has the world's most complete collection of British and American editions of Darwin's work published during his lifetime. See the Bioscience Library Reference Desk for assistance.

Encyclopedia of Biodiversity (Second edition)
The electronic version of the five-volume Encyclopedia of Biodiversity. Provides in-depth information on all aspects of biodiversity issues worldwide, including social and policy issues.

Grzimek's Animal Life Encyclopedia
Offers concise accounts of thousands of species, including information on evolution and systematics, physical characteristics, distribution, habitat, behavior, feeding ecology and diet, reproductive biology, conservation status and significance to humans.

Copyright © 2014-2016 The Regents of the University of California. All rights reserved. Except where otherwise noted, this work is subject to a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial 4.0 License.