The Rudy Grah Memorial Agroforestry Collection consists of over 800 articles, reports, and papers focusing on the social, political, economic, and ecological aspects of agroforestry and land tenure.
The Rudy Grah Memorial Agroforestry Collection was established in 1986 with a generous grant from the Buck Kingman Fund to fill a void in the collection and indexing of agroforestry materials and to provide a means of bibliographical control over what is referred to as fugitive or grey literature. Professor Grah was the Chair of the Department of Forestry and Conservation in the College of Natural Resources. Find more information about Rudy Grah on the Who was Rudy Grah? See also The Rudy Grah Chair Homepage.
Richard Beahrs, Professor Grah's nephew and one of the founders of the Buck Kingman Fund, was instrumental in the development of the collection which helped support agroforestry programs within the College of Natural Resources. Many other individual donors have contributed material and funds as well. Income from $25,000 of a 1986 grant intended as seed money was set aside for the Grah library, and financed most of the activities.
The collection, which was dedicated on March 20, 1987, consists of over 800 articles, reports and papers focusing on the social, political, economic, and ecological aspects of agroforestry, including land tenure. A unique feature is that it has manuscripts, correspondence, and publications of limited distribution; much of the material has been donated by faculty and graduate students who acquired it during travel to Southeast Asia and Africa, or through correspondence with individuals and agencies who research and practice agroforestry.
The collection was separately maintained for 6 years before being incorporated into the Bioscience and Natural Resources Library collection in the Valley Life Sciences Building. Subsequent material is now well indexed by standard services such as CAB. The collection itself is shelved in the stacks under the call number S494.5.A45.R83.
For further information about the collection and its establishment, please contact us.