Skip to main content

Development Studies: Article Databases

Development Studies Databases

CIAO (Columbia International Affairs Online). Policy briefs, working papers, course packs, journals, books, videos, internet sources, and conference proceedings from research institutes worldwide related to international affairs theory analysis, and advocacy.

EconLit. Access to international economic journal articles, books, dissertations, book reviews, and working papers. 

Eldis. Online information service providing free access to diverse research on international development issues. Includes thousands of summaries and free links to full-text research and policy documents from thousands of publishers.

Humanities International Complete. Indexes thousands of journals, books and other published sources from around the world, with full text of many journals in the humanities broadly defined.

International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (IBSS). Publications in the fields of economics, political science, sociology and anthropology from over 100 countries.

JSTOR Full-text access to over 1000 scholarly journals, including more than 2 million articles, from a wide range of disciplines. Current issues from journals (the most recent 3-5 years) are generally not available in JSTOR.

Left Index. A complete guide to the alternative, radical, and leftist literature, with an emphasis on political, economic, social and culturally engaged scholarship.

PAIS International. Books, journals, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference reports, and web sources related to public policy, politics, economics, and social issues worldwide. 

ProQuest Social Sciences. Wide range of scholarly sources in the social sciences from Proquest. This is an excellent starting database for interdisciplinary research.

Women's Studies InternationalContent on women's studies, women's issues, gender-focused books and book chapters, journal and magazine articles, and reports world-wide. 

Regional Databases

Absees Online DatabaseCitations to research on Eastern Europe, Central Europe, and the former Soviet Union published in the US and Canada.

Africa-Wide Information. Database covering journals, magazines, newspapers, broadcasts, books and more on all aspects of Africa including politics, history, economics, literature, music and natural sciences. 

Bibliography of Asian Studies (BAS). Searches journal articles, books, and conference proceedings worldwide on the countries, histories, and cultures of East, South, and Southeast Asia.

Handbook of Latin American Studies. Indexes books, journals and proceedings to create an annual bibliography on Latin America consisting of works selected and annotated by scholars in the humanities and the social sciences.

Index Islamicus. Indexes literature on Islam, the Middle East and the Muslim world. Over 3,000 journals are monitored for inclusion in the database, together with conference proceedings, monographs, multi-authored works and book reviews.

PASCAL and FRANCIS Archive. Bibliographic databases ceased in 2015 but now freely available. FRANCIS indexes journals, books, dissertations, and other European sources covering the humanities and social sciences (1972-2015). PASCAL provides multidisciplinary coverage for science, technology, and medicine with an emphasis on European content (1984-2015).

RedALyC: Red de Revistas Cientificas de America Latina y El Caribe. Spanish language ejournals maintained by the Universidad Autónoma del Estado de México, covering all aspects of the humanities, social sciences, and sciences and with a focus on materials published in and about the nations of the Spanish. 

SciELO: Scientific Electronic Library Online. Collection of open access scholarly online journals in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities in the Global South, particularly Latin America and the Caribbean. 

History Databases

America: History and Life. Access to journals published on the history of the US and Canada from prehistory to the present. 

Bibliography of British and Irish History. Covers historical writing dealing with the British Isles, and with the British Empire and Commonwealth, during periods for which written documentation is available.

Bibliography of Slavery and World Slavery. Database of references to scholarly works in all disciplines and western European languages on slavery and slaving throughout the world.

Historical Abstracts. Access to journals, as well as historical book reviews and dissertations, published worldwide about all aspects of world history (excluding US and Canada) from 1450 to the present. 

JSTOR. Includes over 1000 scholarly journals with access to more than 2 million articles. JSTOR is an archive which means that current issues (generally the most recent 3-5 years) of the journals are not yet available.

Periodicals Archive OnlineAn online periodical archive that provides access to digitized journals in the humanities and social sciences. A sister database, Periodicals Index Online, provides additional access to articles in over 4,700 periodicals

Project MUSE.Topics include literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics and many others.

Copyright © 2014-2016 The Regents of the University of California. All rights reserved. Except where otherwise noted, this work is subject to a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial 4.0 License.