Skip to main content

EndNote: Citation Management: Start

Use this guide to select software, download pdfs, format bibliographies and manage citations and research,

What

Reference management programs are personal content managers. These programs allow you to collect and cite sources, create bibliographies in a variety of citation styles, add your own notes and keywords to your citations, save images and pdfs. Many reference managers work with word processing software to format in-text citations and bibliographies for papers and theses, allow you to share references, and enable you to attach or link PDFs to a citation record.

Get EndNote

EndNote Home

  • NEWS: Download the updated Connection File, U Calif-Berkeley to search in OskiCat.
  • Versions for download
    • EndNote Basic for online trial
    • EndNote Desktop for a free 30 day trial to get started. (start here)
    • EndNote iPad APP
       
  • UC System Purchase with Student/Academic price.
  • Format bibliographies in Word or Open Office
  • Capture citation data from some PDFs
  • Annotate PDFs
  • Use UC-eLinks to find the full text of articles from within EndNote
  • Share lists of references with other EndNote users
  • See our EndNote Support page for tutorials and additional information

Widely used citation managers:

  • Free to UC Berkeley users, create an account using the RefWorks New User.
  • Web-based: use with internet access
  • Works with Google Docs
  • Format bibliographies in Word
  • Import citations from RSS feeds
  • Use UC-eLinks to find the full text of articles from within RefWorks
  • Share lists of references or create a group account for co-editing
  • RefWorks guide

  • Mendeley Guide
  • Free (up to 2 GB web storage) software/web hybrid for PC, Mac, Linux
  • Format bibliographies in Word or Open Office
  • Sync PDFs to your web account for online access
  • Capture citation data from some PDFs
  • Search and annotate PDFs
  • Share and collaboratively edit lists of references
  • From Elsevier

Zotero

  • Zotero guide
  • Free (up to 300 MB web storage) browser extension
  • Sync Zotero to access your library from any computer with internet access
  • Format bibliographies in Word and OpenOffice
  • Capture citation data from PDFs and web pages
  • Share and collaboratively edit lists of references
  • Open source software from the Center for History and New Media, George Mason University

    The TeX logo
  • a typesetting language used for scientific document preparation.
  • LaTeX is a program that converts a plain text file into TeX.
  • BibTeX is a tool that can be used with LaTeX to create documents and bibliographies. http://www.latex-project.org.
  • Tools are free to download.
  • The TeX Users Group (TUG) includes an FAQ, links to software.
  • Endnote has a BibTeX output style that will format your citations into TeX.

    Papers
  • is low-cost software that allows you to search, retrieve, organize, and annotate article PDFs.
  • export references into citation management tools like EndNote to use the citation and bibliography formatting features.

Start

Create a new library....or group

  • Under File - select New
  • Name & SAVE your new library. Make sure the Save in: box shows the EndNote folder

Guides

Copyright © 2014-2016 The Regents of the University of California. All rights reserved. Except where otherwise noted, this work is subject to a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial 4.0 License.