Skip to Main Content

EndNote: Citation Management: Format Bibliographies

Use this guide to select software, download pdfs, format bibliographies and manage citations and research,

Up to date guides from EndNote

More comprehensive and up to date EndNote information may be found on these guides from EndNote:

EndNote X9 / EndNote 20 / EndNote 21

How to: Format Bibliographies

One of the best features of EndNote is formatting your bibliography in almost any style, using a variety of fonts, adapting your favorite style to your own specifications, spacing, numbers or add annotations.

Formatting methods

Method 1: Copy Formatted

  • EndNote > select your Output Style (this is the style of your bibliography).
  • Select references in your library - use command or control A to select all references.
  • References> copy formatted references.
  • Open a word document, place the cursor where you want the references to appear.
  • Edt > paste.

Method 2: Export references

  • EndNote > select your Output Style (this is the style of your bibliography)
  • Select the references you with to export. File > Export.
  • Select file name, file type and destination ("Save in:") for your bibliography.
  • Open the text file you have just created in word and edit or print.

Method 3: Drag and drop: (not all word processing programs support this method, MS word does)

  • EndNote > select your Output Style (this is the style of your bibliography)
  • Select citations from your reference library.
  • Hold command or control key and drag references from the library to your word document.
    -- You can tile your windows: put your cursor on the taskbar; right click the mouse, select show windows side-by-side.
  • You may need to select Update Citations and Bibliography.

Create a subject bibliography

  • Library > Tools  > Subject Bibliography. Keywords. OK.
  • Subject Terms search box corresponds to the keywords field in your library.
  • Select subject terms to use as subject headings in your bibliography, or click Select All. OK.
  • Your bibliography is formatted on the screen.
  • Click Layout button to modify the layout and style of your bibliography:
  • Click on the tabs, References, Terms, Page Layout and Bibliography Layout.
  • Verify or change the settings.
  • Once your bibliography is set up, display with Print Preview, print, or save. Close.