Skip to main content

EndNote: Citation Management: Insert References

Use this guide to select software, download pdfs, format bibliographies and manage citations and research,

How to: insert footnotes

Insert Footnotes - while writing papers

  • In EndNote - Select the style for your bibliography using the favorites menu.
  • Select references in your library. Click Preview to see the current selected style.
  • Open Word; open a new document. Begin writing. Add a footnote or EndNote in word.
  • Click on Insert a citation: Tools > EndNote / Go to EndNote.
  • Select the citation(s) to insert. Use Shift to select a range of citations; or use Ctrl to select several.
  • Tools / Cite While You Write - Insert Selected Citation(s). The bibliography is created as you write in the selected style. – OR select format bibliography from tools.

You can insert citations while working in Word, if you have references in EndNote.
Choose Insert Selected Citation(s) from the Tools/EndNote X menu in Word.

Continue...

  • Create a NOTE using Tools > Insert Note.
  • In your Word document, Tools > EndNote/ Find Citation(s).
  • Type Berenbaum in the Find box. Search. Select the citation(s), and use the Insert button.

Continue...

  • Insert an IMAGE
  • From Tools > EndNote / Find Figure(s). Use the search window to find the reference with the image.
  • In Find, type Osorio. Use the Insert button.
  • Select Where in the paper you would like the images & files to appear.
  • In the Find box, type Milkirk.
  • From Tools > Endnote / Format Bibliography.
  • Change the style of your bibliography using the drop-down menu in With output style:
  • Use the OK button to re-format your bibliography

Part 3. INSERT REFERENCES WHILE WRITING

In EndNote
Select the style for your bibliography using the favorites menu.
Select references in your library. 
Click Preview to see the current selected style.

Open Word; open a new document.
Begin writing. Insert a footnote.
Insert a citation: Tools > EndNote / Go to EndNote.
Select the citation(s) you wish to insert.
Use Shift to select a range of citations; use Ctrl to select assorted citations.

From Tools / Cite While You Write - Insert Selected Citation(s).
Select format bibliography from tools.
You can insert citations from EndNote while in Word.
Choose Insert Selected Citation(s) from the Tools/EndNote X menu in Word.

Continue writing. Create a NOTE using Tools > Insert Note.
In your Word document, Tools > Endnote X4/ Find Citation(s).
Type Berenbaum in the Find box. Search. Select the citation(s), and use the Insert button.

Continue writing.  Insert an IMAGE.
From Tools > Endnote / Find Figure(s)
Use the search window to find the reference with the image.
In Find, type Osorio. Use the Insert button.
Select Where in the paper you would like the images & files to appear.
In the Find box, type Milkirk.
From Tools > Endnote / Format Bibliography.
Change the style of your bibliography using the drop-down menu in With output style:
Use the OK button to re-format your bibliography
Note other tab options in the dialog box.

Use Manuscript Templates
In EndNote, >Tools, >Manuscript Templates.
OR In Word, from File, choose New & use the EndNote tab to see the templates.
Select a template from the list in the Manuscript Template dialog box. 
Open. (Enable Macros)
Enter information requested by the template wizard.

In Step 4, Sections, you may de-select sections you do not wish to include,
the checked items are required by the publisher of the selected journal.
Click Finish to complete and display new document.

The wizard places the information you supplied in the appropriate places in the document.
Depending on the publisher.

Follow steps above to insert citations, notes, images, files to your document and to format your bibliography.
Watch for character limits, are subheadings required, font and style information, etc.
 

Copyright © 2014-2016 The Regents of the University of California. All rights reserved. Except where otherwise noted, this work is subject to a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial 4.0 License.